Bench Accounting Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 278 of over 305 reviews

4.1
88%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Bench Accounting CEO 	Ian Crosby
Ian Crosby
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is also good flexibility to work from home or even work remote for small periods(in 26 reviews)

  • "I really enjoyed my time at Bench and I met some really great people(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "variability in work intensity (tax season)(in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours for certain departments, rapid changes (negative to some)(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place

      Jul 27, 2021 - Accounting Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, solid people

      Cons

      Pay is lower than it should be

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      exhausting

      Jul 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - fun culture, easy to get hired because people are constantly leaving

      Cons

      - disorganized leadership - severely underpaid, overworked - obsessive work culture (always have to be on) - promotions dont make sense - boring work - constant change is stressful - not 'default open', there is a lot of secrecy and politics in decision-making, they like to keep people in the dark and be dishonest to staff - very ingenuine dei work, promoting/hiring token minorities - the management drives away good talent and incompetent people stay, waiting to either get promoted or fired at any random moment - very busy busy culture because things are constantly falling apart

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Warm & Welcoming Environment, Fun Slack/Office Culture -- the demanding Start-Up Culture Isn't for Everyone

      Jul 2, 2021 - Onboarding Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Bench encourages you to be yourself and provides an accepting environment - Plenty of learning opportunities and each role provides a level of complexity that really allows for you to develop many helpful skills - Really awesome place to start your professional career!

      Cons

      - The Start-Up culture can be very difficult to grapple with. It's common to work through lunch or over time just to meet your targets. Having a work life balance can be a huge struggle and a number of Benchmates find themselves dealing with burnout. - If you want advancement opportunities you may need to over exert yourself (working unpaid overtime, taking on additional stress). If you would like a promotion or raise you may not be able to work toward it within the normal 40 hour work week. - There is high turn over which can make teams understaffed and at capacity quite frequently.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Data Processor

      Jun 18, 2021 - Data Processor in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Team leads who care about your well beings and have realistic expectations/goals for the team - Perfect job for introverts, artists, or people who have their own business but needs extra income. Most of our team members have side hustles/serious hobbies outside of work and the team leads are very understanding and supportive about it. - VERY flexible schedule - Health, flex days off on top of your vacations

      Cons

      - It can get repetitive since you are doing the same things over and over again everyday - This job is very independent and you work alone most of the time, so if you're not into that then it probably isn't a job for you. I would recommend checking out Account Associate position.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      Jun 12, 2021 - Accounting Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company Culture is very welcoming and inclusive, Lots of opportunities to grow within the company - executive leaders are accessible, great pay (recently reviewed compensation), flexible / work from home option

      Cons

      Not many career opportunities for non finance /non accounting roles, Start up culture is not for everyone - there are many moving pieces and changes so if you like a stable slow growing company it may not be a good fit

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Agile Company

      Jul 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, leadership is genuine on future vision of the company

      Cons

      Need to navigate career development on your own; not as much career development support

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good company

      Jul 20, 2021 - Accounting Associate in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun environment and friendly people, heading in exciting direction

      Cons

      culture is very in your face, which is not for everyone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company!

      Jun 13, 2021 - Senior Sales Representative in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing place to learn, grow, and get insights into how a big tech venture start up operates.

      Cons

      None, this place is great!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Career Development

      Apr 26, 2021 - Expert Accounting Associate in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I first joined Bench in November of 2019 I was frankly confused on what my career path would look like. I was excited about the industry. However, with the role as an Accounting Associate would I perform? Sometimes you let past situations show up possibly impacting your confidence. For me it was simply due to not performing well in accounting courses in university. I was understanding other courses but this subject was difficult. I was eager to give it another go. What I really appreciated from Bench’s perspective is its more about the person’s attitude vs judging on what happened in the past. Bench also provides a tremendous amount of support. When I navigated my way through Ops Academy, which is a two week program providing bookkeeping knowledge this was a game changer for me because the different way of teaching this subject finally was resonating with me. Transitioning from Ops Academy to a bookkeeping team it was very assuring to know that everyone truly cared about each other and was always willing to help. That certainly helped me grow even more. Going through my first tax season was great because it gave me the experience on how I could improve for the next tax season. It’s critical to reflect and understand how you can constantly get better. From there continuing to learn and grow was important from month to month. December 2020 came along when I was curious on what the next step could be for myself. I discussed with my Team Lead about becoming an Expert Accounting Associate. As such we developed a comprehensive plan. Everything was transparent on what I needed to do. By constantly checking into my progress I was certainly on track to get the promotion. Now, I am proud to say I have been promoted to Expert Accounting Associate. I wanted to share this story because it's an important lesson that just because you start in a new job that seems unfamiliar there is a massive opportunity. Opportunity to learn, grow and career advancement! Proud to support my clients Proud to be on a great team Proud to work for Bench Proud to be a Benchmate

      Cons

      Very fast paced but you have ongoing support

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Very people focused

      May 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bench does a really great job of conducting surveys for their employees. When there are negatives that people are concerned about, they genuinely do work to improving the experience for their staff

      Cons

      I honestly cannot think of any worth mentioning

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 278 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bench Accounting Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bench Accounting? Share Your Experiences

    Bench Accounting logo
    or