American Income Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Income Life Reviews

Updated 25 May, 2018
1,818 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
American Income Life Chief Executive Officer, AIL Agency Division Steven K. Greer
Steven K. Greer
37 Ratings

1,818 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Agents have the opportunity to make a lot of money and go very far in the company (in 82 reviews)

  • A lot of opportunity to make a lot of money (in 69 reviews)

Cons
  • long hours don't work for everyone (in 202 reviews)

  • Bait and switch to obtain an appointments under false pretenses (in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Incredible Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Calgary, AB
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Income Life full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people. Incredible Support. excellent training

    Cons

    Challenging at times but the people are really supportive


  2. "Misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Burnaby, BC
    Former Employee - Management in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Income Life part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    non i found may be good for some people

    Cons

    misleading job Advertising for attack people

    Advice to Management

    too much pressure

    American Income Life Response

    18 May, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry your expectations weren't met during your time at AIL.

  3. "not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Income Life full-time

    Pros

    a lot potential to earn

    Cons

    not for everyone. if you love to chat, willing to travel and drive all the time, maybe it is right for you

    Advice to Management

    not enough training. I have always been fuzzy about the products

    American Income Life Response

    9 May, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your review. We’re continually trying to improve the path to success for our agents so we welcome feedback. Good luck to you in the future.


  4. "Blunt Truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Income Life full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment. Whenever I needed help learning new things, or any work related advice in the office there was always someone there to guide the way. Training was very hands on and efficient. Before American Income Life Canada, I have never worked at a place where everyone- no matter the job title, was considered equal. If you set yourself a goal, management would help you reach it.

    Cons

    If unwilling to reach new goals or actually work, you won't get anywhere with any company. I only saw this twice while working at American Income Life Canada. If you work hard you get rewarded and acknowledged which myself and previous co-workers really appreciated!

    Advice to Management

    Ignore the negative comments, you guys were fantastic! Only reason I left was to return to school, you may see me apply again in the future.

    American Income Life Response

    1 May, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your kind words. We strive to have a great work environment and to provide the best training possible. Thank you for being part of our AIL team and we hope to see you again in the... More


  5. "Truly Opportunity Unlimited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in St. John's, NL
    Current Employee - Agent in St. John's, NL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Growth potential that never ends. Listening to mentors and attending training classes will ensure you are successful in this company. Unlimited resources. Positive work environment. Never ending earning potential. If you get the opportunity to have the chance to work with this company I suggest you give it a chance.

    Cons

    Long hours but worth the hours. Work always is enjoyable and never negative so the long days are an amazing experience.

    Advice to Management

    Never stop leading by example. Probably the best management team in any career opportunity

    American Income Life Response

    1 May, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your positive feedback regarding AIL. We are so happy you joined our team and know with your positive attitude the sky is the limit for you. We continually try to lead by example and... More


  6. "AIL Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great compensation.
     Weekly bonuses.
    Allows you to step out of your comfort zone and definitely improves your communication skills.
    Friendly co-workers.
    Great benefits.
    Pick your own hours.

    Cons

    So many bad reviews from disgruntled former employees; makes it very difficult to sell.
    This job isn’t for everyone and it can be very frustrating when you’re not making any sells. However, putting false information about the company online is not an appropriate response. The fact of the matter is that this is a very legitimate company and it has helped millions of people afford those final expenses which would otherwise cripple the family financially.

    American Income Life Response

    1 May, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your insightful feedback. We are fortunate to have you as a member of our team and look forward to being a partner is your future success. Hard work is a huge factor in the success of... More


  7. "Recriuting Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time

    Pros

    Easy and really flexible to work at

    Cons

    No i dont think there were any cons

    American Income Life Response

    1 May, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We're happy to have you on our team and look forward to your future success and growth with AIL.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Waste of Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Income Life full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Creates a work environment with plenty of tasks to attend to

    Cons

    Management is brand new, always promoted quickly from within. Pyramid scheme - the only way to make real money is to recruit people. Not a real job

    Advice to Management

    Quit the brainwashing and just be real, but then no one would work for you

    American Income Life Response

    16 Mar, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry your American Income Life career was less than you expected. While recruiting is apart of a successful agency (and any company for that matter), we are in... More


  9. "Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Burnaby, BC
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Burnaby, BC

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Fantastic money
    - Great environment & people
    - You can move up quickly in the company
    - Lots of travel opportunities
    -Make your own schedule

    Cons

    - Commission based (only a con if you're not making sales)
    - Hard work


  10. "Terrible. Terrible. Terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Income Life part-time

    Pros

    They make you feel like the job is professional just because you come into work wearing something other than jeans.

    Cons

    I was looking to change jobs and got a call for an interview from a place I don't remember applying to. Somehow AIL was able to find me without having a resume posted anywhere online. This interview took over FOUR hours to complete and at the end of the interview, this "boss" decided to hire me. A month later I had missed more shifts than I'm proud of at my actual paying job because I had to be at meetings that just included watching videos of the higher ups going on vacations. This so-called boss was also very perverted and it was noted in the number of females hired. He would ask me to come in at night to "work" and finally I realized how unprofessional this company could be. I got out of that contract as quick as I could. Would not recommend working here. There are plenty of other companies doing what AIL does and they do it so much better.

    Advice to Management

    Watch who you hire and focus on selling the product more than recruiting. You may not be a pyramid scheme, but you act like one.


Showing 1,818 of 2,151 reviews
Reset Filters