American Income Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Income Life Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
American Income Life CEO Steven K. Greer
Steven K. Greer
442 Ratings
Pros
  • "Most importantly (for me)the ability to make a LOT of money(in 99 reviews)

  • "You can make a lot of money fast(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "Occasional long hours but is explained as necessary to grow experience(in 258 reviews)

  • "There is no base pay 100% commission(in 103 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing culture and leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Agent in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Protecting working families and awesome culture

    Cons

    Long hours, but worth it

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do!

    American Income Life2019-10-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for AIL is great! I have been here for 2 years now. I love the fact that i get to meet new people every day and my days are not always the same. I have grown as a individual in areas i wouldn't have if i was not working here. The pay structure is amazing & we have full benefits Most importantly is management. They are there to support you and help you every step away. If i did not have... there help i wouldn't be where i am today.

    Show More

    Cons

    No pay for vaca thats it!

    Advice to Management

    Doing great job on making the work place comfortable

    American Income Life2019-09-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Greatest Opportunity when you want to win and change lives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Agent in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited growth an income potential. You have the opportunity to write your paycheck every week

    Cons

    I wouldnt say there are any cons. You do have to work full time 40 hours a week

    American Income Life2019-09-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity to make unlimited income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Agent in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing training and mentorship from top 5% income earners. You get paid what you're worth. Very friendly team and environment.

    Cons

    Absolutely cannot be lazy. Always need to have a entrepreneurial mindset and not an employee mindset.

    American Income Life2019-09-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Entrepreneurial mindset sets you on track for success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Agent in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Positivity all round, highly motivating work environment - Solid hands-on training - Opportunity to grow with the company and build your own business - Frequent fun team events - Make your own schedule - A very real feeling of satisfaction when helping families that need the product - Management is keen to invest time and effort into your growth

    Cons

    - Not a place for people who are lazy, procrastinate or lack vision. - If you're not a people's person, this isn't a place for you.

    Advice to Management

    if it aint broke dont fix it :)

    American Income Life2019-09-25
  6. "Hard work pays off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Burnaby, BC

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best place to work at, fun and competitive culture Flexible schedule Great pay $tructure Great training Lots of room to advance

    Cons

    Takes time to learn, depends on how hard u work Not for everyone

    American Income Life2019-09-25
  7. "Opportunity Unlimitted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Here is a workplace in which either you will stay and become an expert person by overcoming the hardships and increasing your time and stress management, or leave. I chose to stay and I feel like I'm confident enough to become successful at whatever jobs I decide to enter. - Awesome training courses and you see a lot of successful examples - right philosophy of protecting families not just making money, and you... have to follow it to maintain your retention ratio high - every day is different, fun, and not rutin - funny events and bonuses - income is not comparable to the other jobs - lots of places to get promoted

    Show More

    Cons

    - you need to have a personality of being self-manager - needs hardworking and commitment to get the results

    American Income Life2019-09-19
  8. "get paid what your worth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RGA in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - self employeed make your own schedule - leads provided as a base to help you grow in sales - opportunity for growth getting to recruit people you enjoy to work with rather then being recruited for your contacts -fun trips and great vibes

    Cons

    this is performance based so if your lazy this career is difficult

    American Income Life2019-09-16
  9. "Best Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Agent in Burnaby, BC

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, good culture, fun work environment, incentive trips, leadership conferences, conventions, weekly training, major growth opportunities. I applied for the sales position online one year ago and was definitely sceptical when I was first offered the job. But now, one year later, I can happily say that accepting this job was the best decision I’ve ever made. I am now building myself a CAREER, not just a job.... I was able to move into a management position in under 6 months. The compensation is performance based - so the harder you work the more you get paid. I am so proud to work in a commission-based position... I love being able to write my own payckeck every single week. The management team is also incredible. The most supportive group of people I have ever met. It’s pretty hard to come across leaders and mentors that care about your success as much as these people do.

    Show More

    Cons

    None - if you are willing to work hard.

    American Income Life2019-09-11
  10. "Life changer !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Agent in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Income Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, uncapped salary and bonuses, make your own schedule, great support team, opportunity to relocate, tax write offs, full unionized and great extended health benefits.

    Cons

    Agents that are not serious about the job, lazy and want to do their own thing. Ends up not working out for them and they leave bad remarks !

    Advice to Management

    Let all first year agents go to convention, if they write 50k ALP.

    American Income Life2019-08-13
Found 2428 reviews