iSoftStone Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

iSoftStone Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
72%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
iSoftStone CEO Tianwen (T. W.) Liu
Tianwen (T. W.) Liu
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No career path, no career growth(in 5 reviews)

  • "Green card after 5 years of full time(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at iSoftStone

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Nothing to say about cons

    iSoftStone2019-02-12
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Unfair practices; incompetent staff/project managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iSoftStone

    Pros

    I do not have anything positive to say about working with this company.

    Cons

    I would discourage freelancers from working with this company due to my recent experience on one of their projects. Having followed the (poorly written English) instructions sent to me, I completed the work as described, and then was sent a series of emails asking me to add more content to my file, for a 10$ bonus. I was later told the content I had provided was not satisfactory. This was due to the unclear... instructions provided by the agent initially, which this agent then tried to add to and explain after the fact. When I complained about this modification of the initial offer, once the work had already been submitted (meaning I would have to do twice as much work to get paid for the original work), I was assured I would be paid for my initial contribution. Weeks later I received an email stating that my submission had been rejected. I wrote back to the company, and got only argumentative replies from the agent concerned, and a weak 'thank you for your understanding' from another agent. As it stands, I will not be paid by this company for the four+ hours of work I did for them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay people for work they do. Hire competent people who can communicate effectively in the required language. Investigate complaints from freelancers rather than insisting that the freelancer is in the wrong.

    iSoftStone2016-12-14
  3. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I worked at iSoftStone

    Pros

    salary high, flexible time for work

    Cons

    they always have to work over time without payment

    iSoftStone2015-07-07
  4. "Flexible and Understanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iSoftStone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and freedom in working hours and conditions.

    Cons

    No set holidays or off-work time may not suit some.

    iSoftStone2019-12-04
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager 

    I have been working at iSoftStone full-time

    Pros

    nice people, close to home, good pay

    Cons

    Microsoft centric, not enough projects

    iSoftStone2019-11-29
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at iSoftStone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Office, with wonderful view. Everyone is super, super nice.

    Cons

    Had to move location. Some HR and other support people left.

    iSoftStone2019-11-21
  7. "Fairly Typical Big Co"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Content Writer in Kirkland, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at iSoftStone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very focused on growing... increasing top line income

    Cons

    Somewhat short on internal EQ-sensitivity in the company culture

    iSoftStone2019-12-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "iSoftStone abandons you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Search Engine Evaluator 

    I have been working at iSoftStone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good, although pay is only once a month. Work was not too difficult and there were few times where work was low or no work at all.

    Cons

    iSoftstone started off as a good company to work for but something has changed recently. Work began to slow down more than usual. Then I was banned from my work account without any warning or reason why. Emails to the project manager has gone unanswered. Not sure if I have been let go or if it is a technical issue. Before all of this happened, my project manager would keep in touch often when I would reach out and... he would even let the team know when work was slow. I have heard about other workers who have been "ghosted" by iSoftstone, whether it was not hearing back from them after passing their qualification tests or like in my case, getting banned from the work platform and not getting an explanation or ever hearing from them again. I just hope I get my last paycheck if it looks like I no longer work for them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your communication skills are horrible. It is not right to leave your workers hanging when issues arise or giving them false promises about starting work with you, then disappearing. If a project has ended or if there are issues that will affect your workers, let us know. Some people depend on this job for sole income or additional income so treat them the way you would want to be treated. Show empathy and get back... in touch with people who work for you and keep you in business. Or have a better way of getting in touch when issues arise besides just through email only.

    Show More
    iSoftStone2019-11-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good job to have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber in Berlin
    Recommends

    I have been working at iSoftStone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and good management

    Cons

    Maybe the information is not the best

    Advice to Management

    Be better at information

    iSoftStone2019-09-24
  10. "BSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst 

    I have been working at iSoftStone full-time

    Pros

    Different Clients, and Company constantly has new emerging projects to align.

    Cons

    Terrible Management, and no clear opportunity for growth

    iSoftStone2019-09-08
Found 127 reviews