iCIMS Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 513 of over 554 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
iCIMS CEO Steve Lucas
Steve Lucas
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everything was so organized throughout the interview process(in 41 reviews)

  • "Good work-life balance and nice people(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of any company that is expanding this rapidly(in 22 reviews)

  • "Let’s start by clarifying that the majority of high ratings on here are coming from new hires who are required to post a review after onboarding(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Interview Process, I felt Appreciate and Valued. I really like my team.

      May 12, 2021 - Senior Social Media Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The marketing dept. is quite honestly the most collaborative and hard-working team I've ever worked with. I feel like everyone is rooting for my success and wants to help me succeed. I was really nervous to join the team because I worked under a vista company in the past and succumbed to a lot of tiring changes when my company was acquired. When I joined this team my ideas were heard, my voice was valued, and my time was appreciated. I'm several weeks in and still feel this way. I'm truly blown away by the team dynamic of my department.

      Cons

      I wish my onboarding process dove deeper into what our company can offer to our customers. I want to learn more about what I stand behind!! Our outlook cals are all marked as busy, but we don't have any insight as to who is doing what and when. People disregard the blocks people have, so dozens of meetings just get thrown on calls without regard for availability. It's a time suck that these things aren't transparent. I'll honestly say that I had to be nitpicky here. I left a big company with great benefits to come here and I DO NOT look back on a SINGLE day and regret it. iCIMS has amazing benefits, is respectful of work-life balance, and is just truly a place where I feel valued, supported, and honestly want t ostay long term.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Working Here Traumatized Me

      Jun 2, 2021 - Customer Service 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bagels on Fridays Summer Fridays Decent Benefits Great Office Building

      Cons

      Working here, especially in the customer service department was absolutely traumatizing. Every other week the department shifted gears and we had to switch our client accounts over to a different CSM and had to have so many painful and uncomfortable conversations with our customers explaining why they were getting a new CSM for the third or fourth time in 6 months. The company had several values and one big one that they used constantly and as a crutch was adaptability. It was such an overused competency, which considering how many changes they made on a weekly basis they needed us to comply with these changes so they threw in that adaptability word in every meeting. They also got a new CEO and then a few weeks later he cleaned house and let go of a bunch of people. They weren't even furloughed, they told them if their position opened back up they can apply and interview again. Now you can see most of their customer service positions are being outsourced to Colorado....salary must not be as competitive out there or something. Also dont believe the positive reviews, in your first 90 days they make all the new hires write something positive about their experience there so far. If you dont believe me, just go on LinkedIn and try to connect the dots on why so many of their employees resigned over the past year. Almost everyday on LinkedIn I see someone on my feed resigning from iCIMS, it's insane how high the turnover rate is. It's such a shame too because I genuinely believe in what this software has to offer but poor management and employee relation skills is whats going to bring this company down.

      12 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic Company

      Jun 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I came from the transportation industry and it has truly been amazing to work for iCIMS. The managers are top notch, the director is there when you need him, and the entire sales team wants to see you succeed. Everyone on the SDR team is there when you need them and extremely helpful. The amount of technology and tools you have at your disposal is truly next to none! If you are looking to jump in the SaaS world, iCIMS is a fantastic place to start your career!

      Cons

      None that I know of yet.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Company is spiraling out of control

      Jun 1, 2021 - Account Manager in Holmdel, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid Benefits, work from home is available, liberal atmosphere

      Cons

      All of the positive reviews are from employees that are TOLD to give the glassdoor rating 5 stars while they are being onboarded in their first week. This company was THE place to work 5 years ago. Best software company in NJ hands down. Unfortunately, since vista equity bought the company and pushed all of the good managers out, all that's left is a strangely political environment with majorly clashing plans for how the company should run. I am an account manager and am currently looking for a new gig. The hours are impossible, the amount of stress and pressure put on the sales organization are unrealistic, and the growth goals are crippling the company. Several of the newer acquisitions have been completely mismanaged, and all of your coworkers will change on a weekly basis. The company tells us to promise features that never come or get pushed back into the next quarterly release. When we lose customer data, we are told to lie to the customer.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Jun 23, 2021 - Integrations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cares about employees Good Benefits Great people

      Cons

      None other than slightly underpaid (however benefits package helps compensate)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A sad situation.

      Jun 22, 2021 - Technical Support Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health benefits, unlimited PTO, office/lifestyle reimbursement (although you will pay tax out of your paycheck on it). There are a few good leaders left out there, but they're the exceptions and not the rule.

      Cons

      A complete crash in culture and work-life balance. When I began at iCIMS, I was ecstatic. A "NJ best place to work" that valued its employees in a beautiful workplace setting. I walked in the door with every intention of making iCIMS my career. I was greeted by an incredible onboarding and training team and continued my love story; I left one of those required sparkly reviews at the 90-day mark like all those you see here. Not long after onboarding, however, we found out that our CEO and Founder, Colin Day, would be leaving. In his stead was a new energetic CEO, Steve Lucas, who had previously ran and sold another SaaS company for our parent investor, Vista. Steve started in February 2020, Covid came March 2020, and everything fell apart from there. Nearly the entire C-level suite left shortly after his arrival, and were quickly replaced by his friends, many from SAP. A large "reduction in force" or "layoff" came in April 2020. Covid was blamed, but it's become clear this would have happened anyway and instead the pandemic was a convenient excuse. The cuts were too deep, made in order to make the company look more profitable in an attempt to sell us; unfortunately, no one ever bought. The remaining staff quickly encountered a clientele that were needier than ever -- receiving more applications from applicants than ever before due to high unemployment, and needing changes to their existing protocols and procedures on a short timeline. Services/Support especially found themselves bearing the brunt: Sales began overpromising the software to close desperately needed deals, only for clients to hit implementation and find out we weren't what was promised. Implementation provided minimal training, releasing major clients into a "live" environment with minimal to no understanding of the system. A new SVP was assigned to the division, coming from SAP like so many of the new c-levels, but came from a whole different culture of call centers and seemed to give little regard to our already crashing work-life balance. First came the offer of a "pizza party" to work 5 extra hours on Saturday -- $25 whole dollars on Doordash! When virtually no one accepted, 5 mandatory unpaid hours of overtime were instituted per week for every TSE instead. Eventually that was rolled back, replaced instead by the forced assignment of more cases than could be handled during work hours, forcing you to either stay late or drown. Huge extra case dumps were assigned to you before you were allowed to take holidays. The time allowed off the phones to focus on those force assigned cases and your existing workload had already been "temporarily" rolled back from 2 hours a day, to 1.5 hours, eventually to 1 hour a day. You were expected to be on the phone the other 7 hours actively taking new cases via phone. Wait times for client calls began to creep up. Higher level/tenured resources across the company began to leave, seeing the writing on the wall. The CEO began giving the entire company extra "recharge" PTO days to "avoid burnout" which helped many departments, but no one in Support were allowed to take the extra days. (We were paid extra, but this does little to cure burnout.) Wait times reached sometimes up to 5-6 hours for clients to reach someone via phone. There was always someone on hold. Clients were waiting up to 4 weeks for a first response to email cases, prioritized by how much they pay. The mantra was if it was urgent, they would call in, so these weren't a priority. iForm work was outsourced to a team in India, rather than hire or train here, and leadership talked about how eventually they would start taking basic cases and calls as well. Some managers went weeks without speaking to their reports at all, while one new manager went full micromanagement on the entire department, questioning the length of bathroom breaks and after-call work. Team meetings were canceled repeatedly due to volume, leaving everyone feeling like they were just floating alone out at sea. Tenured managers began to quit. No training was provided before each release, leaving support to react to client issues in real time with new products and changes they had never experienced before. No learning, no growth. When complained about, the response was to create a mandatory 5-hour training session on a Sunday in June, in addition to your existing work schedule. If you took time off using your generous 'unlimited pto', the work just piled up. I took a week off, no one monitored the cases, and clients waited over a week for a reply. I had to wade through the 9-11 new email cases I was force assigned per day on return, the clients who needed replies for the entire week, plus 7 hours of phone volume a day. Some colleagues would take a PTO day then work anyway just to catch up. Almost the entire tenured TSE staff left for new higher-paying jobs with less stress, causing a monumental knowledge drain. This wasn't just the case in Support -- Integrations lost 70% of their tenured staff from what I heard. AMs, TAMs, and CSMs leaving weekly. Big clients having no idea who their point of contact even was anymore. And we tried to speak up, tried to say what was happening, and nothing changed. Now it's too late. The iCIMS that once was is no longer.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Once was great but now lost touch of culture and customers

      Jun 17, 2021 - Client Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of internal mobility if you want to stay but change your role

      Cons

      company has lost touch of employees and how they feel and prioritises it's own product development and not what customers are asking for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love it

      Jun 17, 2021 - Sales Development Representative in Holmdel, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hybrid work at home and in office

      Cons

      Quarterly commission can be frustrating

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good Company to start

      Jun 15, 2021 - Technical Product Manager in Holmdel, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to start your career

      Cons

      The salary expectation are not that competitive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent Job

      Jun 10, 2021 - Software Engineer in Holmdel, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive teammates Great work-life balance Friendly and inclusive environment Flexible schedule

      Cons

      Not learning much Too much churn in organizational structure is having a negative impact on company culture

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 513 Reviews

    Popular Careers with iCIMS Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at iCIMS? Share Your Experiences

    iCIMS logo
    or