iCIMS Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

iCIMS Reviews

Updated 23 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
83%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
iCIMS CEO Colin Day
Colin Day
273 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interview process (5 steps) was coordinated well and flexible to my needs(in 28 reviews)

  • "Interviewers were competent and demonstrated a great company culture(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "I honestly have no cons to share at this time(in 30 reviews)

  • "Can see some growing pains in technologies/processes(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (16)

    "I love this company but things need to change or the remaining talent will also leave!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Holmdel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at iCIMS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * The central Jersey location is great, historic building with fantastic amenities * Lots of employee perks * Some of the smartest, most passionate, and talented people I've ever worked with * A culture that was incredibly inviting, supportive, and inclusive...at least for a while

    Cons

    * Employees are required to learn and do things vastly different from their job description or roles they were hired for * Roles in Customer Service and Sales department are constantly being redefined by management * Mid-level manager don't do a great job of recognizing the hardest working or most dedicated employees * Honest feedback is ignored or discounted by management * Employees are over-worked, over-stressed, and under-payed * The company culture has suffered after the acquisition. We have fewer employee mixers, team outings, and gatherings to recognize individual contributors * Blame for poor performance in sales and retention is being shifted to the wrong part of the business

    Continue reading
    iCIMS2019-11-12
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Whosoever reads this review, if they be worthy, shall have a great day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lexington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at iCIMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive co-workers PTO Fantastic health benefits Small cultures within each department are a saving grace. Building meaningful partnerships with your peers will be easy. Plenty of tenured staff remain that remember the better days of icims and share that vision with us.

    Cons

    Accountability applies to employees, not the director or the C-Suite levels. At the employee level expect to be held accountable for your actions and performance. If you're in the above two groups you'll be fine and will get promoted quickly. All departments have leaders at the Director level or above that are unqualified. This is where poor decision making and immaturity lies. They are directly responsible for what you're seeing on this Glassdoor page. They establish gossipy and clique-like groups with their peers. Expect that some will try to gossip about you with your own peers. They spread rumor and negativitiy to use for their own survival. When it's time to accept accountability for their actions they will remind everyone of how little tenure they have at iCIMS and were never given feedback about their behavior. This gives them a free pass since apparently it's ok for these qualities to exist in their level of leadership. The few experienced leaders left try their best to keep things together but are outnumbered by the clique. And their concerns are dismissed as drama.

    Continue reading
    iCIMS2019-11-23
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCIMS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Focuses on personal development and growth. The company thrives on helping its employees succeed.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons at this time.

    Continue reading
    iCIMS2019-11-19
  4. Helpful (33)

    "It's Lost it's Luster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Manager in Holmdel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at iCIMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location in cool local historic building, fresh grind coffee machines, sparkling water machines, bagel Fridays

    Cons

    This place has gone downhill. The positive reviews titled "3 months" and "90 days" are written before employees realize what's happening here. iCIMS is losing customers due to the product and mismanagement after the company was sold to an equity firm. Competitors have caught up with way better user-friendly interfaces, and standard features iCIMS still doesn't offer despite engineering hiring every person who lives in NJ with a development degree. But if you go to a company meeting where they say they are "transparent" not a single person will mention how the product is failing. Instead, all you will hear is the equity firms best practice is to never say No to the customer. Only the execs are allowed to say No. So don't you dare to it. Do whatever it takes to say yes which include lying about what the product can do. Stop taking too long to implement and stop nickel and diming. Look around! There is a reason so many veteran people have left. Pretty soon, this place will be a ghost town full of empty desks in this huge building that you are building new floors in for nothing. Then will you wake up and be honest its the product, not the people, when all your staff has gone to companies with superior leadership, products, and better pay?

    Continue reading
    iCIMS2019-10-19
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Poised for Growth, Poisoned by Management?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at iCIMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    iCIMS is poised for long-term growth. iCIMS has very smart employees and exceptional leaders spread throughout the organization and across the country. You'll work in a beautiful building and receive good medical benefits. Nearly every week after you start, you (and your social network) will receive well-crafted propaganda that says iCIMS is a great place to work. And you'll like receiving iCIMS propaganda because it reminds you of the great choice you made. It won't take long before you'll wonder why anyone would ever think about leaving such a great place with an excellent culture.

    Cons

    iCIMS is poised for growth, but achieving sustainable growth won't be easy due to: ==> High Turnover, High Turnover, High Turnover ==> Toxic Culture - no accountability, diverse but not inclusive, hostile work environment, bullying/intimidation, siloes, finger pointing ==> Stifle Innovation - Legacy Technology, Bureaucracy, No Leadership, Minimal Tools/Support ==> Ubiquitous Managerial Incompetence/"The Peter Principle", Some Departments Promote Like Fraternities & Sororities ==> Bonus/Stock Option is not available to all employees (depending job title, your contributions could be valued like a 2nd class citizen, but you could possibly drive $20,000 to $100,000 in free soft drinks if you commit to it)

    Continue reading
    iCIMS2019-11-22
  6. Helpful (13)

    "A 'DREAM' DIMINISHED Two Decades of Success and the Ending of an Era"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iCIMS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well intentioned employees Salary Building & Amenities Proven Market Fit; best-in-class software Marketing & Messaging

    Cons

    Market Competition Obsessed/fearful Formulaic & Myopic Lack of Innovation Lack of Talent Nurturing Massive Price Hikes (subscription costs) No Profit Sharing/Equity

    iCIMS2019-10-29
  7. Helpful (16)

    "For Ike"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Holmdel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at iCIMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice building, lots of free drinks and Mezza Luna

    Cons

    After reading another recent review, that is definitely being noticed, I'm starting to think this is the only way to force change at iCIMS. I encourage anyone who is left at iCIMS and who's still passionate about what we've built, to post their review here. I salute my co-worker in Services for helping me get to "YES" and not saying "NO" with my decision to post this. Indoctrination, intimidation and meetings...... meetings about meetings which lead to follow up meetings to plan the next meeting. I'm truly convinced the name of the game is to keep your calendar full of meetings and nod your head vigorously in the front row of these meetings. When I joined iCIMS, all we talked about was helping clients win the war for talent. We would do this by building a great product and delivering a customer experience that was second to none. And with that we hit every milestone, simply because we were driven with that in mind. The focus has shifted in recent months from being a part of building something great, to being a part of the race to the next huge financial milestone. As the first slide of every large meeting tells you now, we're on the road to doubling our annual. As someone that comes from a family with roots in Sales, I get it. But iCIMS was never about just making that money, it was about creating something great.

    Continue reading
    iCIMS2019-10-30
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Holmdel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iCIMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good for entry level engineers to get workplace experience

    Cons

    - Make new hires write glassdoor review within 90 days of hire (its "optional") which inevitably inflates their ratings - Salary is low. Even central jersey companies offer way more money - Got bought out by a private equity firm and the culture is on the decline ever since - Core product is riddled with defects and uses legacy technologies - Releases were brutal since half a sprint would just be spent manually verifying things especially since the automation was unreliable. And they would have all the teams re-test every time there was a major defect which in turn made it hard to be productive

    iCIMS2019-11-01
  9. "Interaction as a candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCIMS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the pros during my interaction with the team/company as a candidate include responsiveness, effectiveness, attitude and culture of colleagues

    Cons

    I do not have any cons at this point. My interaction and experiences have been positive.

    Continue reading
    iCIMS2019-10-22
  10. "90 Days in and going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCIMS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, great coworkers, awesome benefits, lots of small perks (i.e. free food & drinks, events, etc.)

    Cons

    6pm end of day can be rough when you have a long commute ahead of you; almost continuous organization change with minimal employee updates can lead to some confusion & uncertainty

    Continue reading
    iCIMS2019-10-28
Found 344 reviews