Wave Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wave Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Wave CEO Kirk Simpson
Kirk Simpson
92 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very fast-paced (which I loved, but isn't for everyone(in 7 reviews)

  • "There has been tremendous growth which has led to some growing pains(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Wave is honestly the best place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture (yes, everyone claims this on Glassdoor, but it's actually true at Wave) - Good (not great) benefits - Excellent support systems - Great work environment - Engaging projects - Phenomenal colleagues - Amazing CEO - Ability to work from home as needed

    Cons

    - Very limited vacation and sick days (which, in all honesty, aren't really enough for folks with chronic pain or illness) - Very fast-paced (which I loved, but isn't for everyone!)

    Continue reading
    Wave2019-08-16

    Wave Response

    September 9, 2019VP, Organizational Effectiveness

    Hey Waver! We agree, our colleagues are pretty phenomenal and we appreciate them (and our alumni) for all the amazing work which they do. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts!

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing culture, great room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is great, everyone is super friendly. Free snacks/food/drinks anytime. Great room for advancement and there is always support for career progression. Management is extremely supportive and does not micromanage. Everyone's ideas are appreciated no matter their position in the company.

    Cons

    None so far, everything has been great.

    Continue reading
    Wave2020-01-12
  3. "Nice place, but were do we go from here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great peers. No jerks! You get to work with relatively modern tech. There are some chunks of legacy code, but people are always working to improve it, and hone their craft. HR are great people and have always had my back when I've needed their support. Lots of very positive feedback from happy customers, which feels great. Middle management is kind and communicative, and upper management isn't bad.

    Cons

    The company suggests people submit GlassDoor reviews immediately after they start, before they've had enough time to really judge the workplace, so take all reviews here with a grain of salt. I find this extremely dishonest. No compensation for being on-call, which has been standard elsewhere I've worked. The CEO sold us employees a vision of where we could go as an independent company, but then sold the company to a boring foreign giant with different goals and questionable ethics. (You can research and decide how much you care about their issues yourself, but they bother me.) Lots of people left after the acquisition, and the company doesn't seem to be trying very hard to replace them, but is pouring a lot of money into marketing. Not a good sign. Unclear how much room for internal advancement there will be going forward.

    Continue reading
    Wave2020-01-21
  4. "A truly special place where diversity matters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wave is truly a special place to work. Yes, there are all the general perks of any tech company (free snacks, more coffee choices you can ever imagine, free beer, on-site massage therapists, games room, yoga room etc ) but it is the people that make this place feel like a family. Everyone genuine cares about each other as human beings and this tone is set from the top. Kirk is a one-of-a-kind CEO and is honestly one of the most humble, caring and passionate leaders I have had the pleasure of working with over my 13 year career across multiple organization. The organization doesn’t pretend to be perfect and the level of transparency that they strive for is refreshing, honest and real. I couldn’t ask for anything more from an organization.

    Cons

    As with any start up, longer term benefits are not as strong as more established organizations (no RRSPs, top ups for supported leaves). Level of autonomy and control over one’s role is very high and isn’t for everyone. No one is going to tell you what to do or how to do it. If you’re not a self starter and relish the opportunity to be a problem solver, then this isn’t the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Wave2019-12-21
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are uber friendly and respectful.

    Cons

    Way to many initiatives and migrations running at the same time.

    Wave2019-12-11
  6. "Finally found the one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Frontend Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best bunch of people I've worked with in my long career, great benefits and dogs!

    Cons

    Personally the commute for me from west side to east side, but worth it.

    Wave2019-12-11
  7. "Great Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounting Associate in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working culture, wonderful people, various opportunities to learn new skills, and motivation for continual growth.

    Cons

    The working culture, people and environment is so great that there isn't any from my personal perspective here at Wave

    Wave2019-12-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and Mission, strong and empathetic managament"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wave full-time

    Pros

    The employee experience here is very purposeful and positive

    Cons

    Hypergrowth means some product corners need to be cut.

    Continue reading
    Wave2019-11-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive compensation (for Toronto) - Good work life balance - Good culture - Nice and smart people to work with

    Cons

    - Not too many I can think of, but benefits like catered lunch and parental leave top-up would be nice

    Continue reading
    Wave2019-11-02

    Wave Response

    December 11, 2019Manager, People & Culture

    Hey Waver, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts! We choose our benefits very carefully to reflect the needs of our team, and your input helps us know what's important to you. As always, if you think of any other feedback you'd like to share, we'd love to hear it! Reach out to P&C any time or leave your thoughts here. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  10. "Outstanding people and vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Ops 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is easy to be proud of working at Wave. You are surrounded by amazing people, who work really hard and care about the product. -Welcoming environment -Smart people -Interesting and fulfilling work -Leadership is approachable -Lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    -Not your typical 9-5, sometime the hours will be long -Some growing pains

    Wave2019-10-23

    Wave Response

    October 28, 2019VP, Organizational Effectiveness

    Hey Waver! Thanks for sharing your views and providing some insight into life at Wave. We are happy to hear you appreciate the environment and people as much as we do, and I'm confident that with brilliant Wavers like you, we'll have no problem working through those growing pains! Thanks again!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 105 reviews
</>Embed