Wave Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 147 of over 168 reviews

4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Wave CEO Kirk Simpson
Kirk Simpson
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice and smart people to work with(in 12 reviews)

  • "a company purpose that involves empowering small business owners, especially during a time when small businesses are more important than ever(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The usual growing pains of fast growing tech with different products(in 9 reviews)

  • "It's a stressful job and very fast paced(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Jul 26, 2021 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best group of engineers that I have had the chance to work with. Wave knows how to pick people, and know how to build a great sense of team.

      Cons

      Pay is great, but not the most competitive.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Engaging, inclusive, down-to-earth culture

      Jul 10, 2021 - Customer Support Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything from management to culture to benefits. When they say you work 9 to 5 Monday to Friday, they mean it! Once the office fully reopens, I'll look forward seeing everyone, utilizing the Arcade Room and having those awesome patio get togethers

      Cons

      None so far! Maybe the possibility to rethink, if an employee is physically disabled, how will they perform their daily duties going into the office unless its on the ground floor. Aside from having them work from home permanently because I'm sure they would love to work in such an awesome office space with awesome people in an awesome company with an awesome cultural environment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wave Response

      VP, Organizational Effectiveness

      Hey Waver - Thank you for the stellar feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to post! Although our headquarters has some classic charm, we know accessibility can be issue. That being said, we'll work together (and with our landlord) to make sure that any Waver who wants to enjoy our space, certainly can. Looking forward to seeing all the amazing things you're going to do here! ~ Wave

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Modern Fintech Company

      Jul 12, 2021 - Accounting Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture and co-workers, upper management seems to be pretty transparent with changes and why. Metrics are always clear and showcased periodically.

      Cons

      Can't think of a con other than the location, specifically how deep into downtown it is. Unless you live in downtown, expect a pretty lengthy commute.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wave Response

      VP, Organizational Effectiveness

      Hey Waver! Thanks for the review and we're so happy to hear you're enjoying your peers and our culture! Unfortunately, it's impossible to find a physical location which is close to everyone, but know you always have the option to work from beautiful Wave HQ as frequently (or infrequently) as you like! We believe in flexibility for our incredible Wavers! ~ Wave

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing people work here. Great work culture. Good work/life balance.

      May 27, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A product and engineering driven company. One of the few companies that I have worked for that is not sales driven, it's very refreshing. We build for the actual users. No such thing as the perfect company but Wave does a good job at striving to be one. The leaders are aware of areas that need to change and address them with good ideas and honesty. Amazing people work here. Great work culture. Good work/life balance. Kirk is a solid CEO.

      Cons

      Comp is decent but could improve. Covid has been hard since we don't have that same sense of community but I guess that will change once we are back in the office.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dream gig.

      Mar 30, 2021 - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working here. I had working at Wave on my vision board, and it has not disappointed in the slightest. My coworkers are some of the kindest, smartest, hardest-working but boundary-respecting people I’ve ever worked with. The learning curve is steep, and I love that. If you are uncomfortable with a high degree of ambiguity, this might not be the place for you. If you aren’t, there’s lots to build and you can make an impact very quickly. The company is made up of many amazing humans from many diverse backgrounds and that diversity is not simply tolerated, it is celebrated. As a Black woman in the traditionally white male-dominated tech space, I feel very much seen, heard, supported and cared for. This is not a thing I take for granted.

      Cons

      Imposter syndrome is real here, possibly because of how much smarter than you everyone seems to be. However, the People team seems to be keenly aware of this and have rolled out programs to help deal. If you’re in a support function, it can be a little hard to feel connected to the company’s mission since it feels like you don’t have direct impact on its customers Great benefits overall, but vision coverage leaves a lot to be desired.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Wave Response

      VP, Organizational Effectiveness

      Hey Waver - Thank you for such a thoughtful review. We appreciate you, your feedback, and the time it takes to share your thoughts here with potential future Wavers! We're so honoured that we made it onto your vision board, and happy to hear that life within Wave has lived up to those expectations. Just so you know, your annual Education & Wellness flex fund can be put towards Vision! We're super happy that you feel seen, but we're also committed to ensuring you can see! ;) Wishing you a spectacular continuation to your career journey at Wave! ~ Wave

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Beautiful experience.

      Jun 16, 2021 - Customer Success Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Interview process was super easy and exciting. I was given sufficient information during my phone interview which helped me prepare for my zoom interview. I did not have to wait for ages to hear back from them, it took about 3 days to get a feedback, and within those 3 days I received a follow up email about the status of my interview.

      Cons

      I do not have any to share

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Absolute best company to work for!

      Jun 22, 2021 - Staff Accountant in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with who are extremely talented, mission-driven and supportive. The P&C (HR) team really go above and beyond for the employees. Fantastic company culture. #ProudWaver

      Cons

      Fast-paced (I don't consider that a con myself but do not join if you don't like to challenge yourself)

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wave Response

      VP, Organizational Effectiveness

      Hey Waver! Thank you for the stellar feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to post! Love the #ProudWaver! :) The pace is indeed fast, but we know you're up for it! Excited to see all the incredible things you'll do here at Wave. ~ Wave

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A great place to develop your career

      Nov 10, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked at Wave for several years now and in that time Wave has acquired a company, and been acquired by H&R Block, and there's been a lot of growth and change. Wave clearly cares about their Employees, and it's obvious in the way people are treated! The other companies I've worked for in the past don't even come close. The COVID-19 response was particularly impressive, and nobody was laid off which was a relief in such a hard time. I also really like that they've kept the office available to people instead of just making everyone work from home, because I like having the choice to go in. There's a lot of autonomy and you need to be ambitious and self-driven because no one is going to be watching over your shoulder and telling you what to do. There are so many learning and growth opportunities, and you get to be the one to take them. People are supportive, friendly, and really smart. I'm better at my job having worked at Wave, and the relationships I've built with my team are ones that will last for a long time.

      Cons

      If you're the kind of person who needs a lot of direction or guidance, or coming from a big corporate environment, it's going to take you some time to adjust and you should be clear on what you're in for. Something we've had to get better at over the years is keeping our focus, and we've gotten better at that in 2020. I miss being in the office! But that's not Wave's fault, they've actually kept it available for people who want to go in, which is nice!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wave Response

      VP, Organizational Effectiveness

      Hey Waver! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're so happy to hear that you've had a great experience and we're excited to keep providing one for you! It's thanks to Wavers like you that we can do what we do!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Jun 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Each employee is treated like part of the Wave family. Management is fantastic and open to new ideas.

      Cons

      Since this is a growing company, training could have a bit more structure, however management is open to any new ideas.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wave Response

      VP, Organizational Effectiveness

      Hey Waver! Thank you for the stellar feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to post! We hear you on the structure around training. You'll actually see us roll out a new Learning Management System soon to help address this very issue! ~ Wave

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great mission, even better people

      Mar 5, 2021 - Product Research Lead in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - First and foremost, Wave is full of kind, driven, clever people all moving toward the same goals. Ideas were shared freely, feedback given and received without ego or injury, and decisions made through evidence and collaboration. - The company mission - to help small businesses thrive through efficient and easy-to-use business management tools - has never been more important. - The office layout, amenities, and location are all great (though of course I haven't been able to enjoy them for the past year!). - Numerous channels and opportunities for personal and professional development and career growth. Shout-out to the People and Culture team for the incredible work they do!

      Cons

      Very few cons to speak of! The only thing that comes to mind is the shuffling of teams that's happened a few times over my tenure with the company. This has generally been intended to improve how we work as an org, but it's hard to say what changes in process actually occurred as a result of these reorganizations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wave Response

      VP, Organizational Effectiveness

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share this amazing feedback. We're so happy to hear that you had a great experience at Wave. Wishing you all the best in whatever challenge you tackle next! ~ Wave

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 147 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Wave Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Wave? Share Your Experiences

    Wave logo
    or