Wave Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wave Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Wave CEO Kirk Simpson
Kirk Simpson
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of really great, smart people(in 11 reviews)

  • "(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very fast-paced (which I loved, but isn't for everyone(in 7 reviews)

  • "There has been tremendous growth which has led to some growing pains(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "People who care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone has great energy, all are unified in mission and purpose i.e. strong culture Remuneration Solid e-team Smart people, there's lots to learn Eager people Working with latest tech, diverse problem set

    Cons

    The usual growing pains of fast growing tech with different products Stress

    Wave2019-06-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and Mission, strong and empathetic managament"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wave full-time

    Pros

    The employee experience here is very purposeful and positive

    Cons

    Hypergrowth means some product corners need to be cut.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Wave2019-11-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive compensation (for Toronto) - Good work life balance - Good culture - Nice and smart people to work with

    Cons

    - Not too many I can think of, but benefits like catered lunch and parental leave top-up would be nice

    Advice to Management

    - Keep doing what you are doing!

    Wave2019-11-02
  4. "Outstanding people and vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Ops 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is easy to be proud of working at Wave. You are surrounded by amazing people, who work really hard and care about the product. -Welcoming environment -Smart people -Interesting and fulfilling work -Leadership is approachable -Lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    -Not your typical 9-5, sometime the hours will be long -Some growing pains

    Wave2019-10-23
  5. "This place is truly special..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - V P in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Super bright people who are also incredibly empathetic and welcoming - Awesome facility in a fun & developing area of the city - Mission driven team who really cares about the work they do and the customers they serve - Opportunity to actually make an impact. No micro-managing. Leaders truly empower folks to do what they were brought in to do - All of the goodies you'd expect from a growing tech company... (food, drink, outings, amenities...plus a huge patio with an incredible view of Toronto

    Show More

    Cons

    - Fast pace and requirement to be accountable aren't for everyone - Org is still evolving, so career planning isn't always crystal clear (can also be a pro for people who like shaping their own journey)

    Advice to Management

    You've built something very special here. Stay authentic, stay honest, and really be thoughtful about how you scale such a unique and inspired culture.

    Wave2019-09-20
  6. "Wave is honestly the best place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture (yes, everyone claims this on Glassdoor, but it's actually true at Wave) - Good (not great) benefits - Excellent support systems - Great work environment - Engaging projects - Phenomenal colleagues - Amazing CEO - Ability to work from home as needed

    Cons

    - Very limited vacation and sick days (which, in all honesty, aren't really enough for folks with chronic pain or illness) - Very fast-paced (which I loved, but isn't for everyone!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work. This company is one to be incredibly proud of. I can't wait to see Wave take over the world!

    Wave2019-08-16
  7. "Dreamy... awesome company, really great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of really great, smart people Approachable directors and managers Learning allowance Great group insurance package

    Cons

    Can be difficult to get critical feedback for growth

    Wave2019-08-13
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunity to gain new experiences - Great support and feedback from managers - Good communication - Excellent events provided by employer

    Cons

    - High growth can be stressful

    Wave2019-06-25
  9. "Challenging but empowering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunities to take ownership - Smart and compassionate people to learn from - Solving challenging problems, both technical and organizational

    Cons

    - Communication needs to improve at all levels - Performance review is not structured or effective - Located far away from downtown core

    Advice to Management

    Nothing specific - lots of growing pains but we are figuring things out.

    Wave2019-05-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great job, people actually care

    Cons

    Pay is low, pay increases are also low

    Wave2019-04-17
Found 98 reviews
</>Embed