Wave Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wave Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Wave CEO Kirk Simpson
Kirk Simpson
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 10 reviews)

  • "Fast paced customer first company culture(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The fast paced environment is not for everyone(in 6 reviews)

  • "Thus, the work/life balance is a hard one to keep whilst your brain drowns in happy thoughts about your work(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "People who care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone has great energy, all are unified in mission and purpose i.e. strong culture Remuneration Solid e-team Smart people, there's lots to learn Eager people Working with latest tech, diverse problem set

    Cons

    The usual growing pains of fast growing tech with different products Stress

    Wave2019-06-02
  2. "Challenging but empowering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunities to take ownership - Smart and compassionate people to learn from - Solving challenging problems, both technical and organizational

    Cons

    - Communication needs to improve at all levels - Performance review is not structured or effective - Located far away from downtown core

    Advice to Management

    Nothing specific - lots of growing pains but we are figuring things out.

    Wave2019-05-11
  3. "Customer Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great job, people actually care

    Cons

    Pay is low, pay increases are also low

    Wave2019-04-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Product Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everybody just gets everything done. There's no quarter by quarter planning, teams are pretty autonomous and just get the work done. CEO is fantastic, the best I've worked with.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons to be honest.

    Wave2019-04-08
  5. "Amazing Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time

    Pros

    Wave is a super exciting place to be. The culture is outstanding. I've worked for multiple start-ups as well as large corporations and I've never been a part of something like this. The team is full of genuinely kind, thoughtful and supremely intelligent people. There are lots of opportunities to grow and develop leadership skills as well as formal ways to seek mentorship.

    Cons

    You'll never find a perfect work place, but Wave sets the bar high.

    Advice to Management

    Great work & superior on-boarding experience. Let's pick up the pace and keep moving!

    Wave2019-04-02
  6. "So close to something big"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is starting to evolve in very exciting ways. The company's been in an in-between kind of stage for the past year, and starting to come out of that to build momentum again. Lots of exciting things on the horizon. I'm more excited to be here now than I was the day I joined. If you know how to navigate a high-performing team environment, you'll do well here. Lots and lots of opportunity.

    Cons

    There's been a lot of change, which isn't for everyone. And for some teams there hasn't been enough change for a while, which isn't for everyone. The place is still figuring out how to figure itself out with everything that's ahead of us.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your foot on the gas. You got us all excited for what's ahead of us, now start driving towards that. You had us all chomping at the bit, don't lose that impulse.

    Wave2019-03-31
  7. "Best place I've worked in the past 10 years of my career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wave is constantly evolving and growing. Coming from a corporate environment, it was a huge breath of fresh air where you could see the impact of your line of work almost instantaneously. Being only 3 months along in my time at Wave, I have never looked back to my past jobs. I am so excited and invested in my job because the sky is the limit when it comes to learning opportunities and growth potential.

    Cons

    Wave is a fast paced work environment that changes constantly. You really have to get excited and keep your drive up to be prepared for going to work everyday!

    Wave2019-03-31
  8. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Finance in Leslieville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunities and the pace of change. Opportunity to make a difference while learning something new Work environment. Company Culture. Leadership competency and transpearancy

    Cons

    limited parking nearby nor access to GO

    Wave2019-03-24
  9. "Truly unique, positive, empathetic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time

    Pros

    People are great - welcoming, smart, fun, empathetic to others and to customers. It's a positive and healthy environment, as focused on the well being of its employees as it is on its customers. Solid product with a clear value and heavy impact to S&M business owners.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of right now, but as the organization is growing quickly, it will be key to keep your standards high and not compromise on the type of people you bring onboard in order to continue this positive and unique environment.

    Wave2019-02-22

    Wave Response

    March 12, 2019Director, People and Culture

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad you are enjoying Wave and we look forward to having you along for the ride while we grow. Don't be shy about continuing to share your feedback with us.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people The culture The amazing product The office space

    Cons

    Not many, really. If you're not used to the fast-paced start-up pace, then it may not be for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being amazing and transparent!

    Wave2019-01-31

    Wave Response

    March 12, 2019Director, People and Culture

    Thanks for the review, even your "con" is a pro in our books. We will be sure to follow through on your advice :)

Found 91 reviews