VMware Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
2,545 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There were no cons for the internship(in 111 reviews)

  • "middle management, mileage varies dramatically(in 104 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company that cares about people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at a lot of companies big and small and VMware is by far the best so far in it's commitment to the welfare of its people and the broader community with its emphasis on giving back.

    Cons

    Not all areas of the business are sufficiently resourced nor provided the best operating procedures and systems. You may find yourself doing a lot more admin and feeling less productive than you would in other companies.

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-05-19
  2. "Smart people and great engineering culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Engineering can make most of the decisions, TDD and pair programming - Smart and motivated engineers to work with, kind and humble - Weekly lunch and learn, daily fresh fruit

    Cons

    - some teams don't have the best project to work on, despite the tech stack and people are super nice - some re-org may happen after the acquisition

    VMware2020-04-28
  3. "Talent Acquisition"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reputable company, nice office, good culture.

    Cons

    Not a permanent employee.

    VMware2020-04-14
  4. "This is how good companies are run..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    I've been with the company a little over a year, and I want to say this is truly a company where I genuinely respect the management team (director and VP levels). Leadership truly invests in their employees, be it training, coaching, feedback.... Benefits are generous, rrsp matching, RSUs, stock options.... vacation time is plenty. Pay is definitely above market. Remote working and flex schedule. This company takes care of its employees and that's how they attract and retain top talent. I feel encouraged to work harder and aim higher. Proud to be a VMware employee.

    Cons

    Lack of admin, HR support in Canada Leadership team works extremely hard but is spread thin Remote team, not as much face time with the team

    VMware2019-12-20
  5. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Team to work with. Great Technology, and allow you a lot of freedom to work at your own schedule

    Cons

    Some jobs are understaffed and need more headcounts as it can get super busy

    VMware2019-10-23
  6. "Great Company...for the most part"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good compensation package ESPP plan is very good Work/Life Balance Culture

    Cons

    Some leaders could be much more effective Internal collaboration across different BU's is sometimes difficult

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-08-02
  7. "Technical Instructor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Great Learning, Amazing Colleagues, Good Pay

    Cons

    Brutal Working schedule. Leaves need to be planned well in advance.

    VMware2019-05-30
  8. "Great Leader, Tough Environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great CEO, driving the right partnerships and acquisitions. Good products, making the shift to subscription offerings.

    Cons

    Very business unit driven and product focused. Internal tools and processes are a mess. Competing silos are everywhere causing duplication of effort. Promotions only really available if you are willing to move to Palo Alto.

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-05-08
  9. "Great Company!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn and grow. Lots of great perks. Always someone to help you out.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    VMware2019-04-22
  10. "Inside Sales Rep"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Great benefit plan, stock units

    Cons

    moved inside sales to another country

    VMware2019-03-21
Found 4775 reviews