VMware Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

VMware Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
2,440 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "This is how good companies are run..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    I've been with the company a little over a year, and I want to say this is truly a company where I genuinely respect the management team (director and VP levels). Leadership truly invests in their employees, be it training, coaching, feedback.... Benefits are generous, rrsp matching, RSUs, stock options.... vacation time is plenty. Pay is definitely above market. Remote working and flex schedule. This company takes care of its employees and that's how they attract and retain top talent. I feel encouraged to work harder and aim higher. Proud to be a VMware employee.

    Cons

    Lack of admin, HR support in Canada Leadership team works extremely hard but is spread thin Remote team, not as much face time with the team

    VMware2019-12-20
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Team to work with. Great Technology, and allow you a lot of freedom to work at your own schedule

    Cons

    Some jobs are understaffed and need more headcounts as it can get super busy

    VMware2019-10-23
  3. "Great Company...for the most part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good compensation package ESPP plan is very good Work/Life Balance Culture

    Cons

    Some leaders could be much more effective Internal collaboration across different BU's is sometimes difficult

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-08-02
  4. "Technical Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Great Learning, Amazing Colleagues, Good Pay

    Cons

    Brutal Working schedule. Leaves need to be planned well in advance.

    VMware2019-05-30
  5. "Great Leader, Tough Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great CEO, driving the right partnerships and acquisitions. Good products, making the shift to subscription offerings.

    Cons

    Very business unit driven and product focused. Internal tools and processes are a mess. Competing silos are everywhere causing duplication of effort. Promotions only really available if you are willing to move to Palo Alto.

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-05-08
  6. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn and grow. Lots of great perks. Always someone to help you out.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    VMware2019-04-22
  7. "Inside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Great benefit plan, stock units

    Cons

    moved inside sales to another country

    VMware2019-03-21
  8. "Great company with a vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good perks, Flexible hours, Unlimited Vacation, Work from home

    Cons

    Pay low outside of US, Work is demanding, Extensive travel

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-01-24
  9. "Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Design 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging projects Smart and creative people Great pay, health benefits, stock options, bonuses Flexible hours

    Cons

    Seasonal restructuring mass layoffs

    VMware2018-11-28
  10. "VMware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    - Collaborative environment - Strong focus on enabling employees - Empowered with resources and responsibility to get work done - Great compensation & benefits

    Cons

    - Sometimes so collaborative that it takes a long time for decisions to be made - Can feel disconnected when not in Palo Alto HQ

    VMware2018-11-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4640 reviews