Uberflip Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Uberflip Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Uberflip Co-founder and CEO Yoav Schwartz
Yoav Schwartz
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "I don't play ping pong or drink beer or any of the other things that people in startups do(in 14 reviews)

  • "We also know how to have fun with our ping pong tables, foosball and hanging out in the club district in our office on Fridays(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "A work from home policy (1 day a week) but it doesn't seem like its encouraged(in 8 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance: Working from 9-5 will not happen(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people, open culture, good communication, beautiful office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uberflip full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots of fun, hard-working, and motivated people - Open & inclusive culture - Company was continuously expanding, which provided a great learning experience, career growth, and opportunities to try new things - Generally strong leadership & good communication - Stunning office space with lots of natural lighting - Innovative environment, open to new ideas

    Cons

    - Expansion lead to some growing pains - Too many priorities could lead to employees being overworked

    Advice to Management

    Direction could be idealistic & impractical at times, creating unnecessary priorities that overlooked what worked. Overall, keep hiring great people, get better at using data in your go-to-market, and focus on the right priorities (and less flashy ones) that matter.

    Uberflip2019-12-13
  2. "Exciting environment to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uberflip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is by far one of the best jobs I've ever had. As a software developer, one of the most important elements that contributes to my happiness is working on a valuable product. I really like our product, there's lots of work to keep me busy, and we're constantly adding new features and improvements. Working with the Product and Managers has been easy, I feel like they have good focus and direction, they're good at... prioritizing what is important, and overall have done a good job setting realistic timelines and keeping a manageable workload for the engineering team. Our engineering team works well together, it's a positive & kind group of engineers and technical experts, and in my short time working here we've been able to deploy a lot of valuable features and improvements. We have daily deployments, learning workshops, team lunches, awesome events/parties, and overall it's been a welcoming environment for me to come everyday to solve, build, learn, grow and be challenged.

    Show More

    Cons

    The location is slightly on the outskirts of downtown Toronto, not the most ideal for commuters coming from the suburbs. But it's a breathtaking 30,000 sqft facility with 16 foot ceilings that is unlike any other. Comfortable private washroom stalls, large kitchen with snacks and coffee/tea/carbonated water, fitness room, weekly yoga/meditation, and if you need a rush of addrenalin, game options include ping pong,... foosball, billiards, bubble hockey, and darts.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on the vision and don't get sidetracked trying to please those who can't be pleased.

    Uberflip2019-10-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best place to work ..!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Business Applications in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uberflip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people with full of energy. One of the best startup companies in Toronto.

    Cons

    I haven't found any cons so far!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Uberflip2019-08-28
  4. Helpful (8)

    "RUNNN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uberflip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some good people here and there

    Cons

    Long story short its possibly the worst enviroment you will ever work in. Do yourself a favour and meet up with someone who works there before accepting an offer. MGMT is trying to portray a positive image of how amazing it is to work there. Its LIE. Just meetup with someone and don't trust online reviews.

    Uberflip2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great team, great product, cautious when hiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uberflip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone seems capable, customers love the core product, awesome growth, very open and communicative exec team.

    Cons

    Lot's of customer wants and needs leads to tough choices in terms of priorities. Might be slow to grow dev team due to focus on quality candidates.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to taking chances on Junior hires that show lots of future potential.

    Uberflip2019-08-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uberflip full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture, work life balance, and meritocratic attitudes.

    Cons

    Low salary, some growing pains with new investors

    Advice to Management

    Keep your culture-first approach alive.

    Uberflip2019-08-04
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Don't believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uberflip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great looking office environment with fun toys and snacks - Fun team building parties and events - Some good people at the lower levels that really do want to mak a difference in the company.

    Cons

    - Constant turnover with a senior leadership team that is constantly blaming the other side. - Since taking on funding they have not been able to live up to the promises that were made to the investors. - Serious lack of experience on the Executive team, none of them have experience in scaling a company like Uberflip, but like to pretend they do. - Employees will not challenge any ideas the leadership team has... out of fear of being terminated like many others that didn't "align with their strategy".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Truely live up to those "values" and be transparent with your employees, stop trying to fit the square peg in the round hole and admit when you've make a mistake in the analysis of your business. Also go hire an executive team that has a proven track record of scaling a MarTech companies like Uberflip (and that means a new CMO too). Just because you "wrote" a book doesn't mean you know how to run a company.

    Uberflip2019-08-22
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Sesame street comes to Toronto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uberflip full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Popcorn, beers, easy going work environment, great work life balance

    Cons

    Founders don't like to take ownership for the sub par product they are selling and pass blame to everyone underneath them when something goes wrong

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging in areas of the business where you have no expertise, let the people you hire do their jobs. You may want to consider improving the product

    Uberflip2019-06-27
  9. Helpful (6)

    "To those who endured the bloodbath..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDR in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uberflip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were some of the most fun, friendly and talented people I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    Drank the coolaid right away. First few month's were great, then they brought in new managers (awwwwffuuuul), kept moving the goalposts while hiring dozens of reps. You spent 3 hours of your day just finding accounts to work. Some of the new reps were paired with AEs who had all the best accounts, and would be propped up as "rockstars" -ha. Got more and more culty while the job started to suck more and more. They... ended up PiPPing like half the team, and even though most hit performance metrics the "day of recknoning" came where they mass fired a bunch of people in 10-12 minute increments. It was a bloodbath. Seemed to be largely a political / "fit" decision as some of the lowest performing reps kept their jobs. Was actually sweet, sweet relief though. Apparently it's marginally better now and so if you are new to sales, and want to hone your skills do it. It's also funny to note that they were rated Toronto's best employer while they were axing half their sales team, and having people quit left right and center.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep "hustling". Maybe shell out some of that VC dough to those who those who were able to stay with you.

    Uberflip2019-07-04
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great Culture, Amazing People, Caring Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Parkdale, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uberflip full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is truly an amazing company with great people. Here are just a few of the points that I can think on top of my head. - Everyone is extremely talented and friendly - Every level of the organization treats each other with respect and value - Very defined culture, goals and aspirations (which they are driving home more often in town halls) - Lots of perks including team outings, events, food, snacks, ping... pong table, pool table, foosball and much more! - Amazing opportunity for people to try many different hats as your role will grow and evolve during your time here - The leadership here is top-notch as they are very transparent about a majority of their decisions and I feel like they care for many of their employees. Additionally, they have charisma and are great inspirational speakers. - The office design is very slick and invites collaboration between peers

    Show More

    Cons

    This would be a perfect score but I couldn't give it at the current moment due to the following issues. - As it is a startup, it is expected that everyday is different and there are tons of work and technologies you use that will go beyond the scope of your initial role. However, over time, I am spending less time doing the work that I signed up to do but instead is supporting other tasks that are sometimes... tedious and not that challenging. - Sometimes, my questions and concerns that are brought up are not addressed until several follow-ups later. - I understand that equipment is expensive but some of the machines that are provided could be upgraded to increase the effectiveness and efficiency of work. - The office is a bit on the outskirts of downtown Toronto. - High turnover, which they are addressing this coming year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing and striving for success. You have an entire team of dedicated and talented people. However, it would be great to stop at times and evaluate if the work assigned to employees is a good fit for their passion.

    Uberflip2018-12-13
Found 57 reviews