Top Hat Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Top Hat Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Top Hat Founder & CEO Mike Silagadze
Mike Silagadze
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch is provided and there is always enough for everyone(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and perks including catered lunch every day(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "products not closely aligned with market demand, over a month each year spent on data entry, high turnover at every level incl(in 14 reviews)

  • "Company is growing and there is that potential to become corporate rather than start up environment(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (14)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is by far my favourite company I've worked at. I enjoy going to work every day and genuinely enjoy all the time I spend here. The people here are fantastic and talented. The people I work with are all people I want to spend time with outside of work; and do! I've made plenty of good friends while working here. The work is fulfilling, as we are actually building something of significance. You can go on classroom visits to see our product in action! The company invests in its employees by spending money on courses, management training, and building private relaxation rooms. The work life balance is good. I have never felt stressed out or had to work late. There's also lots of company fun to be had, with lots of social events! The company is also putting a big focus on diversity and employee well being this year. The office is incredible, with a massive lunch space, beautiful meeting rooms, a quiet library, relaxation rooms, a meditation/yoga room, a breastfeeding room, a ping pong table, and a foosball table. The company is at the perfect size (350 people). It's big enough that there's structure, stability, and a plan. It's small enough that you know most people and can make a big impact.

    Cons

    The product team sometimes has difficulty seeing a feature through to full completion because they want to focus on the next big thing. This can be frustrating to watch.

    Continue reading
    Top Hat2019-02-15

    Top Hat Response

    April 11, 2019Director, Talent

    Thank you for your thoughtful and honest review. We love to see that our team members are genuinely happy working here. We appreciate your constructive feedback and advice. Please feel free to drop us a line anytime you have feedback :)

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Absolutely brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, great training, supportive and nurturing atmosphere, exciting vertical, great travel opportunities, free breakfast and lunch, transparent communication from management, great location, plenty of social events and most importantly a product that is helping to fix the broken education system. Super fun to work there too

    Cons

    If you don't like calling people a sales career here isn't for you. There's not enough hours in the day to do the job.

    Continue reading
    Top Hat2019-10-05
  3. "Enjoyed it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and lots of opportunity for growth. Treat employees well.

    Cons

    Realized sales wasn’t for me. Otherwise it was great and I got to travel.

    Top Hat2019-12-04
  4. "Good Culture, but work can Repetetive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch. Great community and some really like minded people. Work can be rewarding, because very challenging quotas. Really good training, especially with the product getting more difficult to sell.

    Cons

    Work can get repetitive. When you have been there for a decent amount of time you see the entire office leave. Also limited jobs available for promotions

    Top Hat2019-12-02
  5. "Great place to start your Sales career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time

    Pros

    The people, the culture, the hustle

    Cons

    The misalignment, transparency in the entire company, high attrition

    Top Hat2019-11-12
  6. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Onboarding Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Top Hat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - startup culture - very smart people

    Cons

    - no work life balance

    Continue reading
    Top Hat2019-11-15
  7. "Great place to collaborate and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am consistently awed by the talented, collaborative, genuine, and passionate group of people I get to work with everyday. With the support of my team I've been able to grow and scale at a pace I've never experienced in past roles.

    Cons

    Top Hat has an expectation of high performance. It is the kind of workplace that will push you to grow so if you aren't comfortable being challenged it may not be the place for you.

    Top Hat2019-09-25
  8. "Fast-paced environment, great for growth if you work hard enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Boss Very collaborative environment

    Cons

    Wish our base salary had been higher

    Top Hat2019-09-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture, Not good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are smart and fun to work with. Free Lunches Company is trying our best to disrupt the traditional education space and overall cares about students - Learnt a lot

    Cons

    - Compensation is awful, AE's making very low bases and OTE is not attainable at all causing very good reps to leave - Turnover is high - Companies in the space are catching up to the product and making it more difficult to sell - Culture isn't as good as it used to be because of unattainable goals and OTE

    Continue reading
    Top Hat2019-10-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Food, people, culture the company really sets you up for success

    Cons

    Nothing really, the salary can be better if they want to retain top talent.

    Continue reading
    Top Hat2019-08-19
Found 236 reviews