Top Hat Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Top Hat Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 233 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Top Hat CEO Mike Silagadze
Mike Silagadze
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch is provided and there is always enough for everyone(in 32 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and perks including catered lunch every day(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "products not closely aligned with market demand, over a month each year spent on data entry, high turnover at every level incl(in 14 reviews)

  • "Company is growing and there is that potential to become corporate rather than start up environment(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (14)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is by far my favourite company I've worked at. I enjoy going to work every day and genuinely enjoy all the time I spend here. The people here are fantastic and talented. The people I work with are all people I want to spend time with outside of work; and do! I've made plenty of good friends while working here. The work is fulfilling, as we are actually building something of significance. You can go on... classroom visits to see our product in action! The company invests in its employees by spending money on courses, management training, and building private relaxation rooms. The work life balance is good. I have never felt stressed out or had to work late. There's also lots of company fun to be had, with lots of social events! The company is also putting a big focus on diversity and employee well being this year. The office is incredible, with a massive lunch space, beautiful meeting rooms, a quiet library, relaxation rooms, a meditation/yoga room, a breastfeeding room, a ping pong table, and a foosball table. The company is at the perfect size (350 people). It's big enough that there's structure, stability, and a plan. It's small enough that you know most people and can make a big impact.

    Show More

    Cons

    The product team sometimes has difficulty seeing a feature through to full completion because they want to focus on the next big thing. This can be frustrating to watch.

    Advice to Management

    See new features through to completion! It's better to have 5 amazing products/features than 20 half-finished features!

    Top Hat2019-02-15

    Top Hat Response

    April 11, 2019Director, Talent

    Thank you for your thoughtful and honest review. We love to see that our team members are genuinely happy working here. We appreciate your constructive feedback and advice. Please feel free to drop us a line anytime you have feedback :)

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Absolutely brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, great training, supportive and nurturing atmosphere, exciting vertical, great travel opportunities, free breakfast and lunch, transparent communication from management, great location, plenty of social events and most importantly a product that is helping to fix the broken education system. Super fun to work there too

    Cons

    If you don't like calling people a sales career here isn't for you. There's not enough hours in the day to do the job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, morale seems high

    Top Hat2019-10-05
  3. "Great place to collaborate and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am consistently awed by the talented, collaborative, genuine, and passionate group of people I get to work with everyday. With the support of my team I've been able to grow and scale at a pace I've never experienced in past roles.

    Cons

    Top Hat has an expectation of high performance. It is the kind of workplace that will push you to grow so if you aren't comfortable being challenged it may not be the place for you.

    Top Hat2019-09-25
  4. "Fast-paced environment, great for growth if you work hard enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Boss Very collaborative environment

    Cons

    Wish our base salary had been higher

    Top Hat2019-09-26
  5. "Great Culture, Not good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are smart and fun to work with. Free Lunches Company is trying our best to disrupt the traditional education space and overall cares about students - Learnt a lot

    Cons

    - Compensation is awful, AE's making very low bases and OTE is not attainable at all causing very good reps to leave - Turnover is high - Companies in the space are catching up to the product and making it more difficult to sell - Culture isn't as good as it used to be because of unattainable goals and OTE

    Advice to Management

    - Listen to your sales people before they all start to leave

    Top Hat2019-10-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Food, people, culture the company really sets you up for success

    Cons

    Nothing really, the salary can be better if they want to retain top talent.

    Advice to Management

    Keep rocking!

    Top Hat2019-08-19
  7. "Great company culture and met some great friends for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great people -Great culture -Really good incentives and activities -Free lunch with insane options

    Cons

    -Very fast paced, not necessarily a bad thing but be ready to have a lot going on

    Top Hat2019-08-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A fantastic workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Personally touched by the product and the amazing culture that is entirely employee driven and very organic - People who work here are second to none - the best asset to the company - Management is stellar; open communication is the key and it starts from the top down - Great Colleagues - Inclusive environment - Lots of potential for development/growth - There is no shortage to do interesting work, excellent... compensation, bonuses and benefits - Generally a lovely place to come into everyday

    Show More

    Cons

    No downsides of working for Top Hat

    Top Hat2019-08-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fun place to work and grow for engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Top Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People in Top Hat are fun, smart and very friendly. The managers do care about the employees and actively help them grow in their career paths. - There are a lot of opportunities to learn latest tech, development processes and best practices across the engineering department. The engineering weeks happening a few times per year is especially fun to participate and helpful for sharping the tools. They also give... new developers a lot of chances to lead new projects. - The exec team are mostly open and give clear communications to the rest of the company. - Good lunch and snack options.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Team Orgs change a bit frequently in past years so it may be a bit hard to adapt sometimes. - There are times where employees are confused by the exec's or other departments' messages during communications. I appreciate colleagues's efforts to raise the questions and I hope the exec can always give clear answers on such occasions.

    Top Hat2019-07-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "No room for growth, bro culture, high volume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Top Hat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - free lunches - travel to cool places

    Cons

    - management would rather you make 100 calls/100 emails/ day instead of actually being strategic in outreach - not true b2b sales, you're selling to professors who ultimately aren't the ones who buy the product - no room for growth - enterprise sales there is selling partnerships, not the kind of experience that you need to accel your career - inexperienced management - music blasting throughout the sales... floor - cliquish environment, especially in management - the industry is flooded with competition now doing the same thing, but better - the product itself doesn't work half the time, which makes it hard to demo, renew professors and expand accounts

    Show More
    Top Hat2019-07-30
Found 233 reviews