Softchoice Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Softchoice Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits(in 60 reviews)

  • "monthy beer cart and pizza lunch(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "struggle with work life balance, expected to perform 2 peoples jobs for the low salary of one due to small team size(in 34 reviews)

  • "This is a common problem in the Toronto office but is not the case in their other locations(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sharepoint Developer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance and very friendly

    Cons

    Commute that it is a bit far from East

    Softchoice2019-10-11
  2. "Fun company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, relaxed office environment, lots of employee activities going on, plenty of opportunity to socialize with other coworkers.

    Cons

    Very high turn over, especially in sales. managers seem to care more about your stats than any concerns employees have. They advertise "work from home" but its at the managers discretion.

    Softchoice2019-10-18
  3. "great stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time

    Pros

    options for training available, relaxed office atmosphere, dog friendly

    Cons

    struggle with work life balance, expected to perform 2 peoples jobs for the low salary of one due to small team size

    Softchoice2019-10-16
  4. "Monitoring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place learn IT work.

    Cons

    Poor management and dont trust the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Manage your people that they will feel secured within the job.

    Softchoice2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible company, and horrific on boarding process."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros at all, terrible company

    Cons

    Terrible on-boarding team. My trainer just started at the company 5 months prior to my training session. My trainer was not honest and lied to me. Got fired after three weeks of working there.

    Advice to Management

    When you hire someone it shouldn’t be a sports tryout, when you hire someone you should feel trust in there knowledge and train them to become successful not to fire them after two weeks of getting hired.

    Softchoice2019-10-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The Sales review for Softchoice ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, the leadership trusts hardworking people and have one to one recognition

    Cons

    Not much to share all is good

    Advice to Management

    Better pay structure would help retain talent

    Softchoice2019-08-20
  7. "Great company for starting in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits

    Cons

    Base pay kind of low

    Softchoice2019-08-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "They think very highly of themselves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty office with coffee and fancy flavoured water.

    Cons

    Senior team won’t respond to a hello or good morning if they don’t think your rank is high enough. Some people will actually look the other way when you greet them. That speaks volumes about the real company culture. People who think too highly of themselves and who don’t really care about anyone other than themselves. Do you think that a culture like that will lead to good results in the long run? Don’t be misled... by the pretty pictures on their website. Everyone smiles for the camera and quickly returns to their self-absorbed cubicles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care about all your employees, not just your leadership team. And for crying out loud, don’t pretend you didn’t hear a “hello” and turn your face. Makes you look bad. Makes the company look really bad.

    Softchoice2019-08-29
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, dog friendly, good life - work - balance environment

    Cons

    Lack of documentation, not many career opportunities, discrimination

    Softchoice2019-08-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ive worked at softchoice for over 3 years and made some of the best friends of my life. Lots of free events, trips, prizes promos, Easy to get promoted(been promoted 4 times since being here), dont listen to the negative reviews about salaries it is very easy to overachieve your targets and make more money then OTE says.

    Cons

    sometimes a little more freedom in TSD would be helpful!

    Softchoice2019-07-09
Found 588 reviews