Shell Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shell Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4203 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Shell CEO Ben van Beurden
Ben van Beurden
1282 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Shell cares!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary and bonus package, company cares about its people, company cares for the environment, my boss is flexible, pragmatic and honest, allows flexibility where the job permits (i.e. work from home), very strong ethics policy

    Cons

    can be slow to make decisions

    Shell2018-12-24
  2. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Working at Shell provides the opportunity to look and search for your skills, and then maximise on your capabilities and share it with others.

    Cons

    While working for a global organization has many benefits it also at times looses touch with human factor.

    Shell2019-01-24
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, excellent compensation , gym on site, community involvement

    Cons

    Opportunities are shrinking due to downsizing

    Shell2019-05-29
  4. "no what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technologist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    high salary, decent benefits, bonus.

    Cons

    poor work life balance, paid to take abuse, poor hr system

    Advice to Management

    get rid of the "yes man" supervisors they are killing the workforce. hence you now have a union, and people are leaving by the boatload.

    Shell2019-06-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Administration support specialist and analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Shell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great pay, respect of employee, work interesting

    Cons

    no job security available anymore

    Advice to Management

    bring back teams in their respectful countries to serve their people

    Shell2019-05-16
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice management, great co-workers and ot good work life balance

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities and not good pay

    Shell2019-05-13
  7. "For surviving only But not Career or fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gas Station Attendant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience and simple work for survival purpose only

    Cons

    -Franchise damaged a lot to Shell reputation, Each owner try to abuse the workers as much as they can while paying only min wages without any benefits or bonus or even word of appreciation.I was night shift so all hard work kept for night where no other shift attendant willing tp do anything(why should they care??) with a lot of crazy customers during night with very cold outside and we still have to do all the outdoor...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Franchise gas station doesnt come on the cost of employee otherwise no good one shall stay. -Benefits and rewards should be implemented. -Owners needs to be respectable and more ethical with employee

    Shell2019-05-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay but stressful work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Pay is very good. Good graduate program

    Cons

    The performance program is set to have employees compete against each other instead of helping each other to succeed

    Shell2019-05-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "professional people to work with, unstable situation in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great trainings, access to global resources

    Cons

    unsuitability and job security is a concern

    Shell2019-05-01
  10. "team lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell full-time

    Pros

    Excellent people and high standards for safety and respect

    Cons

    Normal issues with large companies, difficult to make decisions locally

    Shell2019-05-02
Found 4203 reviews