SAIC Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SAIC Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2200 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management completely disorganized and aloof(in 54 reviews)

  • "If you are a military retiree and don’t need its medical or dental plans(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "what does this mean?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Administrator in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    clean office, good location, some staff friendly

    Cons

    very long hours including most weekends

    Advice to Management

    Follow labour laws

    SAIC2019-06-12
  2. "A big company with many different divisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A big company, does lots of design and contracts for governments and industries. You get many different chances. It usually have a good balance between work and life.

    Cons

    Each division is different. The environment and culture are specific to each division. Lots of time, employees didn't have a big picture of whole company.

    Advice to Management

    It could have been changed since I left it several years ago. But I hope the management can be more transparent on things going on.

    SAIC2014-03-04
  3. "Great place to get experience at out of College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Regina, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Get great experience in areas normally not available to Jr. positions Management willing to listen Education website available for CBTs Good pay for market Group RRSP Great benefits

    Cons

    Management not always willing to work on fixing issues Lack of contracts (Canada only) Seem to be complacent when employees bring up a need to find another client to work for

    SAIC2012-08-31
  4. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tier I Analyst 

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of positions to grow your career

    Cons

    Usually hire people as contractors for 6 months

    SAIC2019-08-13
  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and ability to grow at the company

    Cons

    Need to provide more PTO benefits

    SAIC2019-08-12
  6. "Solid company with solid benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large size of company means pretty nice benefits. There pay is usually pretty good as well.

    Cons

    Size of company makes you just another number. Have come and gone with SAIC twice now and each time I wasn't treated very well on my exit. They are sometimes scared to stand up for their employees when a customer treats them badly (as SAIC employees are most often contractors to other companies).

    Advice to Management

    Hire more raw coding talent. College does not mean much for coding these days.

    SAIC2019-08-09
  7. "Huge company, employees are just another number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    some great people working there

    Cons

    nonsensical corporate bureaucracy is enough to make anybody crazy!

    Advice to Management

    remember that employees are people, not commodities.

    SAIC2019-08-16
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SAIC part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment .location near my house.

    Cons

    Nothing is bad ,most important I am good person so everything is good.

    Advice to Management

    Good

    SAIC2019-07-31
  9. "Good leadership and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is very much a company where the experience you'll have working there depends on who your immediate colleagues are: much of the company's work is projectized so your experience as an employee will depend on the project team you're working with. Overall the corporate leadership is open, communicates frequently, and manages a large company fairly well (a bit bureaucratic but not for its size.)

    Cons

    Same as the pro of working here: your employee experience depends largely on who your immediate colleagues are and what project you're working with.

    SAIC2019-07-29
  10. "Iv&v"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IV&V 

    I worked at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Small contract to work since it was a sub

    SAIC2019-07-26
Found 2200 reviews