RBC Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6,966 of over 8,595 reviews

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
RBC President/CEO David I. McKay
David I. McKay
2,588 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of flexibility, work life balance(in 427 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, Great team(in 417 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours, lots of competition(in 151 reviews)

  • "Poor work life balance sometimes(in 131 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Safe place to work

      Jul 28, 2021 - Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job security is somewhat guaranteed for doing your work well

      Cons

      The salary range for mid and lower level employees is horrendous

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great or TERRIBLE based on manager

      Jun 26, 2021 - Financial Advisor in Renfrew, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rbc is a phenomenal organization that truly cares about its clients, has a great training program and overall across the organization the culture is good.

      Cons

      However, managers have every power in the world to torment/harass employees. My branch manager did it to 3 people - one until she left, then started on me, now onto someone else. Upper management enables it and it has been brought to their attention on multiple occasions. Those speaking out are flagged as troublemakers. I always slayed my stats etc, and I made a few mistakes and suddenly I’m having 10 meetings over the same problem that I fixed immediately after the first meeting thereby making it impossible for me to meet my stats. Many branch managers are uncaring and have a god complex. Be prepared to leave if your manager is awful. My first one was absolutely amazing and at that time I was so happy working for rbc. You will also work a fair amount of unpaid overtime scrambling to keep them happy. Stats are otherwise unattainable, and programs glitch and crash and then you’re in trouble for not using them enough.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Reliable

      Jul 27, 2021 - Banking Advisor in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Looks after employees very well.

      Cons

      Pay could be lower than rival banks.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not a good workplace

      Jun 15, 2021 - Banking Advisor in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most branches have diversity of their employees, so people respect each other.

      Cons

      Poor set training. Close to zero proper mentoring. You have to learn everything by yourself. People are made too busy chasing numbers to learn. Lucky if you got a supportive manager, or you can be placed in a place wasting your time. Not a good environment to speak up. Poor team building. People are worrying about being caught making mistakes. Fewer and fewer monetary incentives. Managers too busy dealing with their managers. People are made too sensitive being criticized but still finger pointing commomly used. Heavy politics from top down. Not transparent when it comes to incentives as rules are made with high level of complexity (or no clear set rules).

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Jul 23, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent culture and communication. The company is transparent from the top down, authentic, and inclusive.

      Cons

      Like any large organization, many moving parts. It takes some time to familiarize yourself with that, but everyone is open to help you along.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great workplace

      Jul 27, 2021 - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong training programs in place and good guidance

      Cons

      Focus on #s over quality

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Jul 27, 2021 - Licensed Insurance Advisor in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I find it quite and cool

      Cons

      Bit of stress but thats oky

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Jul 26, 2021 - Financial Advisor in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to work in

      Cons

      No cons satisfied with my job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very good company good culture

      Jul 25, 2021 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good company, good culture, cutting edge

      Cons

      still a little bit old school, most of the time solving communication problem

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good if you work hard and are natural with sales

      Jul 14, 2021 - Banking Advisor in Waterloo, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun culture (depending on branch). Good oppurtunity to get promoted if you can play the game right . Great benefits and rsp matching with rbc shares

      Cons

      Grindy work, calling Pay is low for the amount of work you have to do. Constant battling with tech Managers dont seem to understand sales roles very well, managers dont seem to have financial advising experience at rbc (outside hires)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,966 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with RBC Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at RBC? Share Your Experiences

    RBC logo
    or