Picis Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Picis Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Picis Executive Vice President Marcus Perez
Marcus Perez
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Light at the end of the tunnel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Picis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff to work with - very motivated and smart. Clear vision by Management for next 12 - 18 months. Investing in new initiatives says to me that there is growth and opportunity at the company. New upward opportunities for growth at Picis and other Harris companies.

    Cons

    Change is always hard, and we've had a lot over the past 5 years. We've been bought by Optum, bought by Harris and then split into two business. I hope that this will be the last of this kind of change for the foreseeable future. Harris doesn't appear to re-sell companies so I am hopeful. Some staff seem resistant to the new leadership style which can make the working environment difficult. If you see a problem, we can no longer just identify it - we need to come up with real solutions and then implement them.

    Continue reading
    Picis2016-09-23
  2. "Great company to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Picis

    Pros

    Privatr Life balance. Good salaries.

    Cons

    There is not tech innovation. Build old apps as the same way as 10 years ago.

    Continue reading
    Picis2019-04-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Before Sellout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Picis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was a great place to work with dedicated and motivated colleagues.

    Cons

    Company sold to Harris. Penny pinchers cut veteran workers to save money.

    Continue reading
    Picis2017-12-04

    Picis Response

    December 6, 2017Executive Vice-President

    Since the acquisition of Picis by Harris was over 2 years ago your information is 2 years old. As I’ve stated in other responses Picis was very profitable when Harris acquired it. The tough decision about doing reductions had everything to do with getting the right positions to grow Picis and nothing to do with profit. In fact, there are more employees at Picis now then when it was acquired by Harris. We still have plenty of long time Picis employees. Many over 20 years of being part of the Picis family. Another important note is Picis is due to grow in 2017 for the first time in 7 years and continues to be profitable.

    Continue reading
  4. "Focus...at last"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support/Deployment 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Picis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    After a rather turbulent period with Optum / UHG, Harris has brought a much needed focus to Picis. Good things: -We are still called Picis...good call from Harris as that was about to change -Everyone is given sight of company goals and strategy -Prof. service charges etc. have been increased so the client may feel that, but these are in line with standard practices and are realistic. Should have been done ages ago...this will help Picis deliver better solutions for our clients. -Harris business model is strong -Close relationships with clients is encouraged which can only be good. -Drive to develop new products which is quite exciting. -Picis is recruiting

    Cons

    -Still taking a long time to bring existing products up to date, it is happening though. -Some of the staff let go by Harris initially were good people with good skills and sometimes there is a hole when those skills are required.

    Continue reading
    Picis2017-06-08
  5. "Best Acquisition for ED PulseCheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Picis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Since the acquisition of ED PulseCheck to Harris we are on a roll. Everything about Harris Computer Systems screams " build your business unit to the highest" Take control and watch it grow. Executive Management within Harris is the best I have ever worked with in my time here which is ALOT of years. I have been through every acquisition for Picis and this is the first time in years that I feel content and the ability to grow within the organization. They listen they promote from within and educate top notch.

    Cons

    Cant really think of one yet...... and that's the truth.

    Continue reading
    Picis2017-04-03
  6. "Things are looking bright for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wakefield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Picis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Things are very exciting at Picis. Lots of progress in re-aligning Picis to current market needs. Attention given to many troubled areas under Optum. New products and initiatives are being introduced and many new employees. The new employees are bringing a fresh perspective and when combined with the many long term employees is making for some great ideas.

    Cons

    Time to focus on the future even more. Picis needs to solve the problem with the core products not selling. Perhaps the idea of introducing new products is to make sure their is some options if the core products don't start selling.

    Continue reading
    Picis2017-03-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "People make the company great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Picis full-time

    Pros

    The company has gone through many changes in the last 18 months and the future has a positive outlook. The people at the company are what make it awesome. The new space is nice.

    Cons

    The company has gone through many changes over the last 18 months and sometimes it has been difficult to navigate. People have decided to leave so it puts a lot of pressure on those staying until they can be replaced.

    Picis2016-12-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great compny goign down very quickly.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior SQA Engineer in Wakefield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Picis full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Location right Near Lake so you can walk every day and enjoy surroundings. Very close to 93 and 95 .Medic al applications that was used by many great hospitals.

    Cons

    Not going to complain about low level managers because it is not worth it.. They are doing good for last 8 and half year showing top management how great everything and got rid of talent that were actually talent so they will not be challenged. No innovative product is launched, customers are dropping product and replacing with competitors. This company has been sold to many companies and each company who bought them change the skin so they can quickly sell it to some one . Great product 20 plus year ago but due to lack of vision still using same technology and hence not able to compete. I was there for more than 8 years and once great product gone south and has not changed. Nothing to learn. Low level mangers doing great job showing new top management how great everything is and are very good at it.

    Continue reading
    Picis2016-12-20

    Picis Response

    March 31, 2017Executive Vice-President

    Picis has been doing very well actually! Our software is installed in over 500 hospitals worldwide, and counting. We are also introducing new products. Streamlined operations over the past 18 months. We are profitable and the business will grow in 2017 for the first time in 7 years. We are currently re-writing the core products to .NET, executing on several popular initiatives and we are hiring. Our total employee count is higher than when it was acquired from Optum in 2015. We have changed the culture of Picis, we have an open environment with all employees encouraged to share their ideas and concerns with anyone all the way to the top. Executives directly deal with these ideas and concerns and take action. We have fantastic managers and leaders at Picis who share these ideals and values. The spelling and grammer of your review makes it hard to believe this is from a legitimate employee given you were apparently a "SQA Engineer" but I chose to respond anyway.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Team but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Picis full-time

    Pros

    Lots of great people to work with - most people are helpful and friendly

    Cons

    Company was recently sold and there are a lot of cuts and the environment is now a lot more stressful

    Picis2016-09-20

    Picis Response

    March 31, 2017Executive Vice-President

    Harris acquired Picis from Optum June 2015. Over 15 months before this review was written. Our employee count has surpassed the total number of employees when we acquired Picis and it's growing. Lots of exciting things are happening. New products, updating of existing products and Picis will grow organically for the first time in 7 years in 2017. Harris acquires companies for the long haul and never sells businesess. Picis is a good company, great people and fantastic products.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Making strides for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Picis

    Pros

    Since Harris bought Picis a year ago, leadership has been very transparent with regards to company health. In the past year the company has stopped the downward trend we were on and right now we're back to trending upwards. Sales are increasing, we're developing new products and I believe that now is a great time to be a Picis employee because of the growth we're experiencing and the leadership that's making it all come together.

    Cons

    The stock purchase plan is in the Canadian Stock Exchange which I think is a bit of a pain but otherwise great benefits.

    Picis2016-08-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews