Picis Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 35 reviews

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Picis Executive Vice President Marcus Perez
Marcus Perez
1 Rating
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Light at the end of the tunnel

    Sep 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff to work with - very motivated and smart. Clear vision by Management for next 12 - 18 months. Investing in new initiatives says to me that there is growth and opportunity at the company. New upward opportunities for growth at Picis and other Harris companies.

    Cons

    Change is always hard, and we've had a lot over the past 5 years. We've been bought by Optum, bought by Harris and then split into two business. I hope that this will be the last of this kind of change for the foreseeable future. Harris doesn't appear to re-sell companies so I am hopeful. Some staff seem resistant to the new leadership style which can make the working environment difficult. If you see a problem, we can no longer just identify it - we need to come up with real solutions and then implement them.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company to work for

    Apr 22, 2021 - Documentation Manager in Bristol, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having worked in this company for a significant number of years I can thoroughly recommend it, especially the Barcelona office. Everyone gets on well, the work is interesting and upper management is very emphathetic regarding the family/work balance.

    Cons

    Projects sometimes get cancelled after lots of effort has been put into them (when it looks like they are not as sellable as the company thought). This can be disheartening but also reflects the company's ability to be flexible according to the market.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Picis Review

    Mar 2, 2020 - Clinical Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The salary was very good but was most likely why I was laid off.

    Cons

    Unbelievable backstabbing. Gossipy managers. Very old product. No new sales.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to work.

    Apr 10, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Privatr Life balance. Good salaries.

    Cons

    There is not tech innovation. Build old apps as the same way as 10 years ago.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    ED side a lot better now

    Aug 27, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A new EVP, non Harris hire, is running the ED PulseCheck business unit the way it should be run. Harris was smart to split off ED from TPA since the two cultures have always been drastically different. Very smart decision. Some very well respected long time ibexers have been promoted up to run some departments and this is paying dividends for employee moral and retention. Focus is back on the product and customers and the next couple years will see growth and innovation for the PulseCheck product which is long overdue. The PulseCheck product and business will continue to deliver and now has the right executive team to make a difference.

    Cons

    Right now there really isn't any since the PulseCheck division has essentially turned things around. The same couldn't have been said about a year ago.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great compny goign down very quickly..

    Dec 20, 2016 - Senior SQA Engineer in Wakefield, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Location right Near Lake so you can walk every day and enjoy surroundings. Very close to 93 and 95 .Medic al applications that was used by many great hospitals.

    Cons

    Not going to complain about low level managers because it is not worth it.. They are doing good for last 8 and half year showing top management how great everything and got rid of talent that were actually talent so they will not be challenged. No innovative product is launched, customers are dropping product and replacing with competitors. This company has been sold to many companies and each company who bought them change the skin so they can quickly sell it to some one . Great product 20 plus year ago but due to lack of vision still using same technology and hence not able to compete. I was there for more than 8 years and once great product gone south and has not changed. Nothing to learn. Low level mangers doing great job showing new top management how great everything is and are very good at it.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Picis Response

    Executive Vice-President

    Picis has been doing very well actually! Our software is installed in over 500 hospitals worldwide, and counting. We are also introducing new products. Streamlined operations over the past 18 months. We are profitable and the business will grow in 2017 for the first time in 7 years. We are currently re-writing the core products to .NET, executing on several popular initiatives and we are hiring. Our total employee count is higher than when it was acquired from Optum in 2015. We have changed the culture of Picis, we have an open environment with all employees encouraged to share their ideas and concerns with anyone all the way to the top. Executives directly deal with these ideas and concerns and take action. We have fantastic managers and leaders at Picis who share these ideals and values. The spelling and grammer of your review makes it hard to believe this is from a legitimate employee given you were apparently a "SQA Engineer" but I chose to respond anyway.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Focus...at last

    Jun 8, 2017 - Technical Support/Deployment 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After a rather turbulent period with Optum / UHG, Harris has brought a much needed focus to Picis. Good things: -We are still called Picis...good call from Harris as that was about to change -Everyone is given sight of company goals and strategy -Prof. service charges etc. have been increased so the client may feel that, but these are in line with standard practices and are realistic. Should have been done ages ago...this will help Picis deliver better solutions for our clients. -Harris business model is strong -Close relationships with clients is encouraged which can only be good. -Drive to develop new products which is quite exciting. -Picis is recruiting

    Cons

    -Still taking a long time to bring existing products up to date, it is happening though. -Some of the staff let go by Harris initially were good people with good skills and sometimes there is a hole when those skills are required.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Best Acquisition for ED PulseCheck

    Apr 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since the acquisition of ED PulseCheck to Harris we are on a roll. Everything about Harris Computer Systems screams " build your business unit to the highest" Take control and watch it grow. Executive Management within Harris is the best I have ever worked with in my time here which is ALOT of years. I have been through every acquisition for Picis and this is the first time in years that I feel content and the ability to grow within the organization. They listen they promote from within and educate top notch.

    Cons

    Cant really think of one yet...... and that's the truth.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Above Average Medical Software Company

    Oct 22, 2008 - CSA in Wakefield, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at Picis for sometime now and overall it is a good place to work. The people are very good to work with for the most part. Senior and upper management have a good grasp and understanding of the market and direction Picis needs.

    Cons

    There is a ton of knowledge at Picis in all areas of the company from Service, Development, Learning Services, Professional Services. Unfortunately there are some barriers to direct communication at the issue resolution level and and also on a more global team scale. The work load is acceptable to good now, previously it was a mess, but management and organizational initiatives have transformed this.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Things are looking bright for the future

    Mar 31, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Wakefield, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Things are very exciting at Picis. Lots of progress in re-aligning Picis to current market needs. Attention given to many troubled areas under Optum. New products and initiatives are being introduced and many new employees. The new employees are bringing a fresh perspective and when combined with the many long term employees is making for some great ideas.

    Cons

    Time to focus on the future even more. Picis needs to solve the problem with the core products not selling. Perhaps the idea of introducing new products is to make sure their is some options if the core products don't start selling.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Work at Picis? Share Your Experiences

Picis logo
or