PCL Construction Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
PCL Construction President and CEO Dave Filipchuk
Dave Filipchuk
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Options to buy in to company shares (employee owned)(in 52 reviews)

  • "Employee ownership program is considered one of the best in the construction industry(in 30 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "I India and gulf experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Driver in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working in safety good work

    Cons

    My hard working my dream

    Continue reading

    PCL Construction Response

    March 25, 2020Vice President, Human Resources and Professional Development

    Thank you for your post.

  2. "Fair company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Communications Specialist in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Share offers, work/ life balance

    Cons

    middle management is disconnected to staff

    Continue reading

    PCL Construction Response

    July 7, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your review! If you have any suggestions on how our management team can improve, please feel free to send them to glassdoor@pcl.com. All the best!


  3. "Ideal for hardworkers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCL Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big challenges, high performance = high rewards

    Cons

    No downsides what so ever. Construction business is stressful.

    PCL Construction Response

    June 9, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    We appreciate your review! Construction is so challenging, but also so rewarding for us and for our communities. Thank you for all you do to make our projects a success!

  4. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free lunches, opportunity for growth , great team mates

    Cons

    salary is lower than industry standard

    PCL Construction Response

    June 2, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your review! We look forward to having team events again once it's safe to do so. All the best!

  5. COVID-19

    "Good company culture, many processes"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PCL Construction full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive, friendly company culture - Work/life balance was good until COVID-19 hit - Work-from-home available during COVID-19 since April/2020

    Cons

    - Big company = more processes before any major change can be implemented - Not enough notice/communication during COVID-19 department restructuring, so there is little-to-no training available to cover responsibilities of other employees who have been let go - E-Learn training modules are conducted on 2 different LMS systems with inaccurate tracking behaviour

    Continue reading

    PCL Construction Response

    May 29, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thank you for your review. The COVID-19 pandemic has brought a lot of change and uncertainty into our lives and in the workplace. We appreciate your patience and understanding while we continuously learn how to navigate through these unprecedented challenges. Please consider sharing this feedback with your supervisor and district HRPD team to help us further improve.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review of Company"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Senior Estimator in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at PCL Construction full-time

    Pros

    Employee owned, good dividend payouts, well known and respected

    Cons

    Takes a long time to get promotion regardless of performance, salary is below market rates

    PCL Construction Response

    June 9, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your review! PCL is committed to the development of our employees and has several resources to assist you with taking your career to the next level. These include the Career Management program, Career Toolkits, the College of Construction and mentoring programs, and our internal job board and mobility program that connect employees to promotion opportunities in other districts. If you would like more information on these programs, we encourage you to speak with your supervisor or district HRPD manager.

  7. "Good company to work for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at PCL Construction full-time

    Pros

    Employee ownership model is good

    Cons

    Big company means a lot of processes

    PCL Construction Response

    May 19, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your review! Please continue to share your feedback with us through your supervisor, HRPD team, and our Glint employee surveys.

  8. "Fantastic company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Estimator in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCL Construction full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employee owned (private share ownership)

    Cons

    Some of the usual cons of a large company: can get lost, feel like a number sometimes

    PCL Construction Response

    May 7, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your honest review! Please continue to share your feedback with us through our employee surveys or with your supervisor or district HRPD team.

  9. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Building Systems Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Large company, a lot of opportunity for growth. - The ability to work on variety of projects ranging in scope - Managers often give you a lot of independence

    Cons

    - Little training - Long hours - High stress

    PCL Construction Response

    April 21, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thanks for your review! We're glad that you were given the opportunity to work on many projects during your time here. In addition to hands-on experience, our in-house College of Construction provides our employees with professional and personal learning opportunities through classroom training, online, e-learning, webinars and a variety of leadership programs. We invite you to share your feedback on how we can make these resources more accessible by contacting us at glassdoor@pcl.com.

  10. "Excellent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Writer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCL Construction full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    I was kicked to the curb

    PCL Construction Response

    April 20, 2020HR Specialist, North American Headquarters (Canada)

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We wish you all the best.

Found 498 reviews