Ontario Power Generation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ontario Power Generation Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 172 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ontario Power Generation CEO Ken Hartwick
Ken Hartwick
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance and compensation(in 29 reviews)

  • "Professional, safe, engaging, respectful with great pay(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working for a huge company like OPG might limit what you're able/allowed to do(in 13 reviews)

  • "No cons or negative aspects of working there(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ontario Power Generation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and pension plan

    Cons

    Lots of uncertainty with decreasing market share

    Ontario Power Generation2019-07-04
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ontario Power Generation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment to work in. Excellent learning opportunity for internship.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Ontario Power Generation2019-06-28
  3. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Specialist 

    I have been working at Ontario Power Generation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good pay and benefits, structured

    Cons

    little flexibility in work hours

    Ontario Power Generation2019-07-05
  4. "Great Place to Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Pickering, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ontario Power Generation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to engage in multiple projects

    Cons

    Very limited opportunities to perform technical work

    Ontario Power Generation2019-07-02
  5. "Positions in the Power Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Business Partner 

    I worked at Ontario Power Generation full-time

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits, Pension, Opportunity for Advancement, Continuous Learning/Education

    Cons

    Could improve work/life balance through alternate work arrangements such as compressed work weeks, work from home options, shifting of hours of work.

    Ontario Power Generation2019-06-25
  6. "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Mechanical Technician/Technologist 

      I have been working at Ontario Power Generation full-time

      Pros

      Money and benefits are good

      Cons

      Not a lot of sense of accomplishment

      Advice to Management

      None

      Ontario Power Generation2019-06-17
    • "Leadership, Engineering, Safety, Businesses Proficiency, Technology"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ontario Power Generation full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Highly Skilled and Professional Work Environment

      Cons

      Complexity, Information Technology, Adaptability, Agility

      Advice to Management

      Positive Engagement and Leverage of People Skills

      Ontario Power Generation2019-05-25
    • "Good Comp, Not Great Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ontario Power Generation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Salaries, job security, sometimes interesting work

      Cons

      Culture is regressive, passive aggressive, male dominated. If you are wanting to sit tight and leave at 5pm, great. If you want to improve things and grow your skillset, look elsewhere.

      Ontario Power Generation2019-06-03
    • "Best place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ontario Power Generation full-time

      Pros

      I love the focus on safety and quality

      Cons

      None. I love my job.

      Advice to Management

      focus on continuous improvement every year

      Ontario Power Generation2019-04-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "counsel"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ontario Power Generation full-time

      Pros

      interesting varied work spanning the province with the opportunity to pursue areas of particular interest from contracts to IP, labour and employment

      Cons

      restrictions on salaries, failure to recognize and promote talent within the organization; on-going government intervention in company operations and priorities

      Advice to Management

      keep a low profile with the government to avoid becoming a lightning rod for public discourse and further government intervention

      Ontario Power Generation2019-05-03
    Found 172 reviews