Nielsen Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Nielsen CEO David Kenny (no image)
David Kenny
299 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long working hours, time is trivial and hard to predict the daily schedule(in 206 reviews)

  • "Employees are encouraged/forced to work beyond working hours(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Couldn't be happier!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Research Manager in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Importance on work/life balance and flexibility Plenty of leadership and continuing education opportunities Options to transfer within the organization Supportive leadership

    Cons

    Head office outside of the downtown core

    Nielsen2020-01-23

    Nielsen Response

    January 24, 2020Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re happy to hear that you’re having a great Nielsen experience so far!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Life at Nielsen"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nielsen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and causal clothing

    Cons

    No training for new starters. There used to be a amazing training program, it's all online and very weak. Horrible physical conditions in the office. Very old. very outdated and even no cafeteria. All budget focused and no client/employee or business fundamentals are priority. No support and no room to personal development. Very weak managers, less good leaders.

    Nielsen2020-05-18
  3. "good training ground"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    worklife balance, nice people, great training available

    Cons

    slow moving company with super outdated office not much opportunity for senior level positions too many long time Nielsen employees still there, need to hire more people from the industry

    Nielsen2020-04-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing and friendly place to work

    Cons

    Even if you do best of work, if you are not able to show or make a big deal of your work you will not get promoted.

    Continue reading
    Nielsen2020-03-24

    Nielsen Response

    March 24, 2020Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, both positive and constructive. Career growth and development are important to us, and we encourage you to share your desired path with your HR Business Partner. He or she should be able to provide guidance.

  5. "Great place to learn and grow"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nielsen full-time

    Pros

    Teamwork, great clients, exposure to best in class data and analytic approaches

    Cons

    Senior leadership disconnected from millennial workforce

    Nielsen2020-03-03
  6. "Good people, bad management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company culture is great; people are great; there is some flexibility in the office in terms of working from home, etc.; work-life balance is good depending on which area you are in

    Cons

    The company is very top-heavy (too many directors, VPs, etc.); the salaries are not as competitive as other large companies of similar size; benefits are just ok when compared to other similar organizations; promotions and raises are not based solely on performance and recognition from the direct manager, but instead there is a lot of picking favorites from senior leadership

    Continue reading
    Nielsen2020-02-28

    Nielsen Response

    February 28, 2020Marketing and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, both positive and constructive. Continual employee feedback only helps our organization get stronger and become an even better place to work. We hope that you address your concerns directly with your manager and/or your HR Business Partner, if you haven’t already.

  7. "NA"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Committee Clerk in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Feel Better Work life balance

    Cons

    I feel salary is average

    Nielsen2020-02-02
  8. "Finance"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Finance 

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Team Great Environment

    Cons

    None at all , am happy here

    Nielsen2020-01-20
  9. "Worked within operations"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nielsen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good worklife balance - Good cafe

    Cons

    -no growth -management picks and chooses favorites -salary is below average

    Nielsen2020-01-20
  10. "Fast Growth, Salary can be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nielsen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are nice, and a lot of teamwork

    Cons

    Sometimes you are working a lot of overtime

    Nielsen2020-01-31
Found 4642 reviews