Minto Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Minto Group Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Minto Group CEO Michael Waters (no image)
Michael Waters
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-Life Balance (nobody expects you to work on weekends, although you may have to in certain circumstances which is fine)(in 4 reviews)

  • "Lots of training, meetings to improve(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too few workers for the amount of homes being built(in 4 reviews)

  • "Staff stealing from tenants accounts and(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Committed to living the values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Minto Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong employee development focus, good internal communication, good perks

    Cons

    Maternity Leave Benefits less competitive

    Minto Group2019-10-02
  2. "Valuable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Estimator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Minto Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Knowledgeable colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Lack of consideration and growth opportunities

    Minto Group2019-09-20
  3. "It was not as advertised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minto Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big company to grow with.

    Cons

    Unprofesional ways to execute all activities. The worst work atmosphere I have ever been.

    Minto Group2019-07-06

    Minto Group Response

    August 1, 2019Director, Human Resources & Talent Acquisition Lead

    Thank-you for your feedback. We take our values very seriously and they encompass all areas of our work, and so it is unfortunate, but also surprising, to hear that you had a different experience. Please feel free to reach out to our HR department if you wish to discuss your concerns further, so that we can address.

    Show Less
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Minto Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked as an overnight concierge. The pay was real good. I loved it. Worked on my own schedule

    Cons

    Nothing to add here

    Minto Group2019-05-21

    Minto Group Response

    July 31, 2019Sr. HR Business Partner

    Thank-you for your review, and so very glad you enjoyed your time with us!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Minto Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training, meetings to improve.

    Cons

    All solutions to the problems ,, all the meeting, training. They will not implement it. Advise to all employees . Your human not a machine, once you injured your done, stress creates lot of health issue, thinks now. You make this company rich not you.

    Advice to Management

    When I’m reading all the reviews mostly negative they said where looking on to it but still the same, they already have the survey for employees to know the issue.lies lies.

    Minto Group2019-05-12

    Minto Group Response

    July 31, 2019Sr. HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear that your experience with Minto has not been a positive one. Please know that the health and safety of our employees is important to us and we have a number of programs in place to financially assist with injuries and illnesses, and to help modify work where needed - this is an area on which we receive positive feedback. Please reach out to your HR Business Partner to further discuss your concerns - we will be pleased to listen and help.

    Show Less
  6. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minto Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, managers, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Tenants are very rude.

    Minto Group2019-04-03

    Minto Group Response

    July 31, 2019Sr. HR Business Partner

    Thank-you for your kind feedback about your experience at Minto - great to hear that you enjoyed so much about your role. Customer-facing roles can be especially difficult, and we have worked and will continue working with our Learning group to provide offerings that assist those in similar roles (and their managers) with addressing customer service concerns.

    Show Less
  7. "Treat tenants with respect and non discriminating manner."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minto Group full-time

    Pros

    Accounting is pretty nice. Cleaning staff is nice to tenants

    Cons

    Staff stealing from tenants accounts and tenants have to pay it back. Transparency sucks between tenants and management in the building Not family oriented when it comes to low income or special needs families

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie to tenants about renovating their apartment to get them out, but really aren't renovating it.

    Minto Group2019-03-02

    Minto Group Response

    July 31, 2019Sr. HR Business Partner

    We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Minto was not a positive one. Theft and dishonesty are not tolerated, and we have mechanisms and processes in place to address issues in these areas if they are brought to the attention of Human Resources or a senior manager in your group.

    Show Less
  8. "Great place to work depending on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Minto Group full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities, job security, good culture

    Cons

    Certain employees create drama and play politics

    Minto Group2019-02-08

    Minto Group Response

    July 31, 2019Sr. HR Business Partner

    Development, growth and opportunity continue to be our areas of focus, and we very glad to see your positive feedback in those areas. We encourage you to discuss any concerns with your manager or a senior manager in your group so that they can be addressed.

  9. "leasing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Minto Group full-time

    Pros

    good people in big company

    Cons

    facing angry customers sometimes

    Minto Group2018-11-02

    Minto Group Response

    July 31, 2019Sr. HR Business Partner

    Thank-you for your kind feedback about your experience at Minto - great to hear that you enjoy so much about your role. Customer-facing roles can be especially difficult, and we have worked and will continue working with our Learning group to provide offerings that assist those in similar roles (and their managers) with addressing customer service concerns when emotions are heightened.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Minto Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -MLC program -Benefits -Pay -Vacation time -Colleagues

    Cons

    -Employees treated poorly -Staff constantly lied to -Minto’s back door deals and laying off many employees -Once laid off they say they would provide assistance into new roles..... LIES

    Advice to Management

    FIRE THE CEO and bring in someone that was true to their words like the Greenberg’s who actually took care of their employees

    Minto Group2018-11-08

    Minto Group Response

    July 31, 2019Sr. HR Business Partner

    We are very sorry to hear of your experience at Minto. At times, business decisions have to be made that impact employees, and we strive to provide them other opportunities within Minto wherever possible, as well as outplacement counselling to prepare them for their next role in the event we cannot do so.

    Show Less
Found 70 reviews