MD Financial Management Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MD Financial Management Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MD Financial Management President and CEO Daniel Labonte
Daniel Labonte
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "The team cares about work-life balance(in 28 reviews)

  • "Great flex work environment- trust from leadership that you will get your work done without being micromanaged(in 18 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and work life balance

    Cons

    No cons to working at MD

    MD Financial Management2020-01-27
  2. "Great culture; poor resource management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly and willing to help

    Cons

    Technology is not very good. Management seems to be confused about their goals.

    Continue reading
    MD Financial Management2020-02-08
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MD Financial Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some variety in the work (not only speaking to clients, but other tasks as well), - Good teamwork, colleagues often would help each other out, - Colleagues in other departments were friendly and willing to help, - Management treated you fairly, - Cafeteria in the building, subsidized lunches, free coffee, - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Some clients can be difficult to deal with, - Call-out campaigns, - Lots of turnover in Trade Centre (people moving to different departments, usually), - After the sale of the company to Scotiabank, difficult to predict changes that will take place in the future

    Continue reading
    MD Financial Management2019-12-11
  4. "Regional Administration Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time

    Pros

    Nothing... buyer beware keep looking , admin is not a valued person. Advisor first admin underneath and disposable, RM said to a group you (admin ) are here (lower arm) FC’s are here.. But we are trying to change that... well I call BS. From experience ...

    Cons

    Too many to list.... look elsewhere. Little fish-looking be a big fish... don’t have a clue!!! No management with any training or experience, come up through the ranks and get the job.,., Don t expect support or expertise... god forbid there is a conflict!!! Ostrich bury the head Bottom line easier to replace admin than an advisor

    MD Financial Management2020-01-09

    MD Financial Management Response

    January 13, 2020Talent Strategy

    We appreciate you taking time to provide us feedback, and we are sorry to hear your experience is not meeting your expectations. Engagement of our employees and their professional and personal development is instrumental in MD offering an unparalleled client experience. We encourage you to speak with your direct manager or your HR Generalist to discuss your concerns. You might also consider requesting an MD coach who can help you identify and implement tools and techniques to effectively manage your career.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MD Financial Management full-time

    Pros

    Takes great care of their employees. Excellent culture

    Cons

    Company will be changing shortly

    MD Financial Management2019-09-17

    MD Financial Management Response

    September 24, 2019AVP Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on the excellent culture MD strives to maintain for employees. While change is a constant in business and in life, MD works to provide employees with tools and resources to help them navigate and succeed.

    Continue reading
  6. "Going through change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee and client focused. Caring organization.

    Cons

    A lot of change occurring, communication of vision lacking

    MD Financial Management2019-09-09

    MD Financial Management Response

    September 11, 2019AVP Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate the time you took to leave your insights to working at MD. As an organization focused on the overall success of Canadian physicians and their families, client focus is paramount. We are glad you have highlighted MD’s focus on the employee as well – we pride ourselves on the diverse array of employee focused offerings and culture that make MD a great place to work. Change can certainly be challenging and MD strives to ensure consideration and communication of any change and its impact is well thought out. Our continued focus is to ensure a positive client and employee experience in our rapidly evolving industry. We believe in a culture of open communication and encourage you to ask questions if you are unclear as to the vision of your team or the organization as a whole.

    Continue reading
  7. "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance; Competitive salary; Excellent perks and benefits; Work-from-home options for many positions or other flexible work arrangements; good leadership

    Cons

    None I can think of

    MD Financial Management2019-09-07

    MD Financial Management Response

    September 9, 2019AVP Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive outlook on working at MD. Company culture is an important pillar of the employee experience and we work consistently to nurture this at MD. Our focus on pro-active leadership development, overall employee benefits/perks and flexibility in the work environment are just some items that showcase the culture that we are so proud of.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance is encouraged. Priorities are always changing.

    Cons

    With all of the changes there needs to be more transparency

    MD Financial Management2019-08-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I won the Job Lottery when I joined MD!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Culture - Open, Accepting, Encouraging where you truly feel valued Extraordinary Leaders and Supportive Colleagues Continuous Learning and Opportunity to Challenge yourself

    Cons

    I wish I had found this company earlier in my career!

    Continue reading
    MD Financial Management2019-07-23

    MD Financial Management Response

    July 30, 2019Talent Strategy

    We are ever so grateful for your review! Your words of encouragement make us deeply proud of what we are doing! Our common goal is to constantly strive to deliver the very best experience. Your review is valuable to us as we continue to shape our employment strategy and useful to other community members trying to decide if we are a good fit for them. We recognize you are busy and are beyond thankful for your willingness to spend time giving us feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "Good place, was great but still good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits and internal opportunities.

    Cons

    A lot of change, not always with direction.

    Continue reading
    MD Financial Management2019-07-26

    MD Financial Management Response

    July 29, 2019AVP Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience working at MD. We were thrilled to hear that you appreciate MD’s employee benefits. Our commitment to the satisfaction and wellbeing of our people has always been a high priority, and your feedback is extremely valuable. We were sorry to hear that you feel that currently there is a lot of change, and that MD’s vision isn’t always clearly communicated. Our leadership team places immense value on openness, transparency and communication, and we aim to ensure that our people know what is happening every step of the way; whether it be via internal communication, town halls, or department-specific events. Should you have any specific questions about MD’s vision, please do not hesitate to reach out to your leader or the broader HR team. We are always here to help and clear up any concerns that you may have.

    Continue reading
Found 141 reviews