MD Financial Management Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MD Financial Management Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
MD Financial Management President and CEO Daniel Labonte
Daniel Labonte
0 Rating
Pros
  • "The team cares about work-life balance(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great flex work environment- trust from leadership that you will get your work done without being micromanaged(in 18 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MD Financial Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some variety in the work (not only speaking to clients, but other tasks as well), - Good teamwork, colleagues often would help each other out, - Colleagues in other departments were friendly and willing to help, - Management treated you fairly, - Cafeteria in the building, subsidized lunches, free coffee, - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Some clients can be difficult to deal with, - Call-out campaigns, - Lots of turnover in Trade Centre (people moving to different departments, usually), - After the sale of the company to Scotiabank, difficult to predict changes that will take place in the future

    Advice to Management

    Overall doing a good job, continue listening to employees to ensure they're happy. After the sale to Scotiabank, work to make sure that MD's company culture does not change.

    MD Financial Management2019-12-11
  2. "Regional Administration Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time

    Pros

    Nothing... buyer beware keep looking , admin is not a valued person. Advisor first admin underneath and disposable, RM said to a group you (admin ) are here (lower arm) FC’s are here.. But we are trying to change that... well I call BS. From experience ...

    Cons

    Too many to list.... look elsewhere. Little fish-looking be a big fish... don’t have a clue!!! No management with any training or experience, come up through the ranks and get the job.,., Don t expect support or expertise... god forbid there is a conflict!!! Ostrich bury the head Bottom line easier to replace admin than an advisor

    MD Financial Management2020-01-09
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Quality Assurance Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flex hours, Work from home, Pension

    Cons

    Got acquired by big bank. Ongoing cultural change. Executives leaving like flies.

    MD Financial Management2019-10-06
  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MD Financial Management full-time

    Pros

    Takes great care of their employees. Excellent culture

    Cons

    Company will be changing shortly

    MD Financial Management2019-09-17
  5. "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance; Competitive salary; Excellent perks and benefits; Work-from-home options for many positions or other flexible work arrangements; good leadership

    Cons

    None I can think of

    MD Financial Management2019-09-07
  6. "Going through change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee and client focused. Caring organization.

    Cons

    A lot of change occurring, communication of vision lacking

    MD Financial Management2019-09-09
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance is encouraged. Priorities are always changing.

    Cons

    With all of the changes there needs to be more transparency

    MD Financial Management2019-08-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I won the Job Lottery when I joined MD!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Culture - Open, Accepting, Encouraging where you truly feel valued Extraordinary Leaders and Supportive Colleagues Continuous Learning and Opportunity to Challenge yourself

    Cons

    I wish I had found this company earlier in my career!

    Advice to Management

    You have built a company that others want to emulate. Continue to set us apart from our competitors not only in terms of our sincere dedication to our clients but also our commitment to the employee experience.

    MD Financial Management2019-07-23
  9. "Good place, was great but still good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits and internal opportunities.

    Cons

    A lot of change, not always with direction.

    Advice to Management

    Try to give a vision of where things are going.

    MD Financial Management2019-07-26
  10. "MD Financial Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership, great work life balance

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities, hard to move within

    MD Financial Management2019-07-24
Found 142 reviews