Intercity Technology Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Intercity Technology CEO Andrew Jackson (no image)
Andrew Jackson
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Intercity are a family owned progressive growing business with a great and inclusive culture driving success(in 23 reviews)

  • "Intercity is a great place to work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "stops people thinking about working at Intercity longer term(in 12 reviews)

  • "Lots of moaning about the leadership of the sales team but there’s a new Sales Director(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer Trainee in mottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All employees are friendly and willing to help out with your workload You never feel left out at Intercity, as my managers frequently call me and contact me to check my progress and to ensure I don't feel alone/isolated

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Intercity Technology2020-04-29
  2. "Its Dreadful Here .....This Place Makes Me So Sad"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Canteen Is Nice , Thats It !

    Cons

    Fear of being made redundant - Instability isn't a good thing for anyone. Poor pay structure imbalance - people don't want 'perks' but a decent base salary. There's a reason jobs are posted without salaries on and when they are accidentally, emails are immediately retracted. No pay rises unless you move within company or leave and come back.. stops people thinking about working at Intercity longer term. Far too many junior staff and service desk employees who have no clue what they're doing, through no fault of their own. Technical change process that you spend more time following than actually doing any 'useful' work. The people who manage this have no clue what they're doing aside from following orders on things they've never worked on before. Some customers are bent over backwards for whilst anything other than similar 'bigger' customers are put to one side. This gives the company a bad reputation compared to others.

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2020-03-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The A Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intercity are a family owned progressive growing business with a great and inclusive culture driving success. Among my almost 200 colleagues are some real superstars driving change and evolution creating a fully converged IT and Comms business supported by managed services. Our customers love Intercity and the service they receive which has driven the NPS off the chart to 43+. We're always hiring people who can add to the culture, and put customers first. If you're looking for a new career - take a look.

    Cons

    Traffic in Birmingham - but that's not Intercity's fault!

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2020-03-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Breath of fresh air."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Great place to work * Everyone is friendly * Flexibility

    Cons

    There are not any cons.

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2020-03-10
  5. "Good place to learn, uncompetitive pay."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere. Friendly & supportive staff. Decent opportunity for progression.

    Cons

    Poor pay in comparison to similar jobs. Bonus scheme is company wide, so if Sales staff don't cut the mustard nobody gets a bonus.

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2020-01-06
  6. "5 stars if you are back office, 1 star if you are customer facing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Intercity Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really struggling here.........yep, really struggling...............nope, nothing.

    Cons

    If you are a back office worker and want to work 9:01 to 4:59 this could be for you. If you have anything to do with sales or sales support you will struggle. They are a small business trying to complete against the big players with little marketing, little training, little pedigree and little capability. If you are in sales be prepared to sacrifice your back book as there will be no quality leads and little investment in to marketing. You will have some solutions to sell but will struggle with references not to mention most solutions are proprietary so you will struggle when a buyer knows anything about the market. If you are a potential customer and want to protect your business I would recommend that you compare the claims of pedigree and capability to the current workforce on LinkedIn.

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2020-01-14
  7. "HR-what a joke"

    1.0
     

    I have been working at Intercity Technology

    Pros

    None at all apart from being paid

    Cons

    Bullies, if your face doesn’t fit they will bully you out. Management who don’t want to listen and will pretend to be on your side but will throw you under the bus.

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2020-01-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Intercity Technology, a great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network and Security Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at Intercity for 2 years now and feel the Company has a great culture and is invested in the employees, they always seek to "Do the right thing" by the employees and the customers alike. They have a good range of products and the specialists to run the service well.

    Cons

    Not much to say, I've had a great 2 years here.

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-12-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great, fun place to work!

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons, the company is always improving!

    Intercity Technology2019-12-05
  10. "A great SMB business, trying to be too corporate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Birmingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intercity Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some great people Central location Good commercials on mobile and connectivity Smart UC product Good earning potential (if you work for it)

    Cons

    A new management team was brought it (who are no longer there) who changed a lot for the good but also a lot for the bad. Q-What is the quickest way to take motivation away from a salesperson? A- Mess around with their hard earned commission. Can you believe that they introduced a churn structure that would take away commission for Churning accounts! Yes, I get it drives the right behaviour to a certain extent, but when people in customer service are not penalised for the service they deliver and the sales person is as they are head of the account, that it sure to ruffle some feathers. Many occasions I was deducted large amounts for issues out of my control. The business also needs to look at an on-site telephony solution (if not already done) as not all business’s want to bolt onto the back of someone else’s solution that they will never own. Certain people there (not in sales) think they own the business and simply think they have a high horse. It’s a real shame, because this business would be much bigger and much more successful if they listened to their people

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-12-09
Found 94 reviews