Hilton Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hilton Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4294 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hilton CEO Christopher Nassetta
Christopher Nassetta
1,885 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cook 

    I worked at Hilton part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The working environment is very friendly.

    Cons

    The pay is decent to start with.

    Hilton2019-08-11
  2. "Food Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Food Server 

    I have been working at Hilton part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can reward employees for having pleasent experiences with guest by giving gift cards

    Cons

    Keeps trying to save money and giving us less to work with to our detriment.

    Hilton2019-09-19
  3. "Great environment for networking and meeting new talents."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Porter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great humor-filled staff in all departments. Food is great and decent in price.

    Cons

    The swimming pool wasn't heated. All else was great.

    Advice to Management

    Better perks for staff once in a while. Thanks.

    Hilton2019-09-04
  4. "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comprehensive, positive, trainer are very experienced

    Cons

    there is no cons for the training process

    Hilton2019-08-05
  5. "Hilton Toronto is a Poisoned Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Member in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The International Corporation provides some travel discounts, and some basic industry related online training.

    Cons

    1. The human resource department encourages and supports employee mistreatment, and are involved in targeting and abusing their workforce. 2. Some of the managers and supervisors hired are under qualified and lack the knowledge to direct work in a safe and positive way. 3. Undue pressure to complete work in some departments has many staff members working for free on a daily bases after their shift is done in... order to complete the overweening amount of assigned work. Many of the workers often forgo their lunches and breaks to try and keep up. 4. A very large number of workers experience injury at this workplace due to the overwhelming pressure, and targeting that occurs if an employee does not complete task. 5. Management roam in and out of the cafeteria to monitor and provide visual pressure when workers try to take their breaks. 6. Employees who raise a matter with H.R. are harassed and scrutinized by H.R. and Management, and are marked for the duration of their employment. Those workers are also bypassed for any future opportunities, or any recognition for their performance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Currently Hilton corporate only gets its feed back from its work force via an annual survey, which is uncomfortable for a largely immigrant workforce who have little if any concept of workers rights and employer responsibility for maintaining a positive and encouraging work environment. This has created a huge divide between what type of employer Hilton International claims to be and the reality the workers at... Hilton live through daily. Nothing is more effective than “boots on the ground”, come down to talk directly to the staff one on one, go through the files and notes that management keeps out of the personal files. Don’t expect to be trusted over night, stick around so you can really see what’s happening, not just what management and HR want you to see. Hilton, be to the employee the company you publicly claim to be to your guests.

    Show More
    Hilton2019-09-04
  6. "awsome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Room Attendant in Niagara, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is very good for career growth

    Cons

    but there are limited job opportunities

    Hilton2019-07-16

    Hilton Response

    July 17, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and this review. Your comments are appreciated and valued. Hilton works diligently to promote a positive work environment and a culture that embraces all of our values. We are glad this is the case for you!

  7. "Receptionnist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionnist in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Hilton part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guest service hability, interacting with differents kinds of people

    Cons

    handling pressure and resolve problem quickly

    Hilton2019-07-10

    Hilton Response

    July 11, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and this review. Your comments are appreciated and valued.

  8. "Front Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Office Manager 

    I have been working at Hilton full-time

    Pros

    Staff and clients are amazing

    Cons

    work load can be excessive

    Hilton2019-06-21

    Hilton Response

    June 25, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide some feedback. We appreciate you exemplifying our values and sharing our vision of hospitality in everything you do. Keep up the great work!

  9. "Treated Well and Great Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun coworkers at a large 500 room suite hotel. I had great experience learning to deal with corporate clients and on weekends with wedding and social clients. Free meal in the cafeteria for lunch. Great travel benefits through Hilton for full and part time staff. Free parking for staff too.

    Cons

    Large hotel so very busy and must be prepared to be busy. TTC route is north of Steels so considered 2 zones.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the family closeness. Even through a large hotel it feels like a small family, don't lose that.

    Hilton2019-05-23

    Hilton Response

    May 30, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and this review. Your comments are appreciated and valued. Hilton works diligently to promote a positive work environment and a culture that embraces all of our values. We are glad this is the case for you!

  10. "Security guard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Hilton

    Pros

    This is Good one and best

    Cons

    There is no cons for this company

    Hilton2019-04-25

    Hilton Response

    May 30, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review!

Found 4294 reviews