Hilton "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hilton Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hilton CEO Christopher Nassetta
Christopher Nassetta
2,056 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. ""Good Company to Work For""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bellman in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    "Good company great benefits compensation" "great work environment, great benefits, great people" "Great company lots of benefits free lunch very cultured"

    Cons

    "Sometimes a hard Work/Life balance"

    Continue reading
    Hilton2019-11-11
  2. "Accounting Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hilton full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Work life balance Employee benefits

    Cons

    Salary High turnover Lots of work during year end/ month end Lack of communications

    Hilton2019-04-18

    Hilton Response

    April 19, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide some feedback. Your comments have been shared with leadership. We appreciate you exemplifying our values and sharing our vision of hospitality in everything you do.

    Continue reading
  3. "working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hilton full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are good for stats and dining

    Cons

    No work life balance at Hilton

    Hilton2019-02-21

    Hilton Response

    February 25, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us this feedback as we respect and acknowledge that you have responsibilities outside of Hilton. We launched Thrive@Hilton to address the total well-being of our Team Members. As leaders, we try to do what we can to help our Team Members Thrive in Body, Mind and Spirit in order to maintain a work-life balance. We want to help all Team Members accomplish their goals and successfully meet multiple demands. We encourage you to speak with your manager or HR team to discuss your concerns.

    Continue reading
  4. "Manager on Duty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time

    Pros

    Mobility within the company and brand highlighted as great perks. Difficult to enact though. Great brand recognition for resume building.

    Cons

    Pay is below expectations. Hourly employees with tips routinely out earn management staff in the short term. More focus on work life balance needed .

    Continue reading
    Hilton2018-03-06

    Hilton Response

    March 9, 2018Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review and offering feedback as we value your honesty. We are disappointed to hear that you did not experience the working dynamic as you had hoped and one that we strive to promote. We wish you well with all your future endeavors and appreciate you sharing our hospitality and vision.

    Continue reading
  5. "Concierge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton

    Pros

    You can supplement you're income with various tips and commissions that other hotel positions may not

    Cons

    the nature of hotels is that work life balance is not great. shift work - demanding.

    Continue reading
    Hilton2017-05-15

    Hilton Response

    May 24, 2017Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to give us this review and feedback. We acknowledge that Team Members have responsibilities outside of work and we strive to help our Team Members manage these multiple demands. It is disappointing that you did not feel you had good work life balance. Feedback is such a significant part of our culture and values, we will be sure to share your comments with leadership.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Culture and Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic CEO and work culture that motivates you to be the best you can be. The company cares for its team members and is focused on ongoing training, development and providing work-life balance.

    Cons

    Needs to empower junior team members more.

    Hilton2019-11-11
  7. "Great work life balance and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hilton full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Can be a little more structured

    Hilton2019-11-21
  8. "great place to work and a great team members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotel Operations and Management in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hilton Actually operates number different brands.so I interest to work on Hilton

    Cons

    Hilton Encourage team members to thrive right work life balance

    Continue reading
    Hilton2019-10-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed fantastic travel benefits, health benefits, and after one year of continuous employment had the option to take 12 paid weeks of maternity leave. Great management structure and communication from corporate. Felt valued and respected.

    Cons

    Individual managers spoke down to people, top executives wanted things done with very little notice/ made last-minute changes that caused stress. Poor work/life balance working in HR.

    Continue reading
    Hilton2019-10-14

    Hilton Response

    October 15, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    We very much appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your overall work experience. With regard to Team Member discounts and benefits we are glad you were able to use them as we strive every day to leverage our expertise in the hospitality industry to provide our Team Members the best rates and discounts possible. Thank you for your service to Hilton.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "What is work life balance?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work environment and opportunities. 2 days work from home after 6 months in role (~9 months from start). decent health care coverage options. The Colonnade is a great office space.

    Cons

    Inconsistencies between Hilton Corporate and RMCC cultures and values. The biggest frustration was the consistent praise about the work life balance, but in reality most people work over 45 hours a week and working overtime is encouraged by management and clients.

    Continue reading
    Hilton2019-10-25

    Hilton Response

    October 28, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and provide feedback for us. We appreciate your comments. We wish you the best of luck in all your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
Found 280 reviews