Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hays Reviews

Updated 19 October, 2017
1,494 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
851 Ratings

1,494 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • The recruitment industry is long hours (in 333 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 90 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A job life, for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    A true meritocracy. Work hard and you will be rewarded. If you need help, Hays offers continuous learning right from trainee up to the President level. An opportunity to forge your own career path with clear targets and achievements at each level. Hays also offered me, and many other people I know in the company the chance to work overseas. A very collaborative team who are always looking out for each other.

    Cons

    Definitely not the right environment for someone who isn't interested in a highly competitive and target driven environment. Its a skill short market in Canada so there's a constant battle to find the best talent for our clients. You have to be prepared to work hard to get the results for your clients and candidates

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Hays Response

    25 Apr, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review - your perception of working on our business is balanced and (in my opinion) on point. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, the review has... More


  2. "Fulltime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good work environment for employees

    Cons

    provides Low Salary and benefits

    Hays Response

    15 Oct, 2017

    Thanks for your review


  3. "Senior Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Hays supplies many tools to be successful such as great training and a great marketing department. It is one of the most sophisticated recruitment companies in the industry.

    Cons

    The management style in general involves micro-managing.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employee feedback.

    Hays Response

    20 Aug, 2017

    Thanks for your review

    Management is very hands on - we feel it's important for new people to be supported but as you progress and prove yourself you become more autonomous

    Thanks for your... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Each individual specializes - become expert in your area
    Vibrant culture - young and young at heart
    Approachable senior managers

    Cons

    Too transactional... in a relational business
    Short term thinking leads to candidates feeling abandoned
    Too much reliance on cold calling for business development
    International transfers are given more promotional opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Provide equal opportunity to locally educated employees when it comes to promotions, etc.
    Put more emphasis on marketing to gather leads vs. cold calling.... it is hurting your market image.

    Hays Response

    28 Jun, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Appreciate your comments and your review has been sent to the Canada business to respond to. Thank you and good luck in your future career.


  6. "okay to start your career - personal, not factual impression of the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Talent Broker in Montreal, QC
    Former Employee - IT Talent Broker in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good training.
    stable-ish environement (your account managers can lose their job leaving recruiters confused, recruiters can be switched to departments without their consent)
    party athmosphere

    Cons

    - talent brokers have to modify the cvs themselvs (no marketing departement to do it for you)
    - talent broker has to create the contract themselvs and focus on the administrative tasks (no hr department that does it)
    - very low pay for what you are doing, but like i said, a great door to start your recruitment career.
    - cult like mentality (they have a slogan saying they are the best recruitment company in the world etc etc)
    - You have certain benchmarks to attain each month not related to placements
    (a certain number of in person interviews or phone calls)
    - Their database isn't that efficient (it takes 4-24h to enter a CV found from linkedin in their system. Must send representation forum for the candidate through the system : therefore you are forced to work `rogue`(find your own solutions) or accept a max 24/h delay with your candidate for the recruitment process

    Advice to Management

    bi-anually pay raises would be advized / raises based on trimester productivity ?

    Hays Response

    9 Jul, 2017

    Thanks for your review.

    I'm not sure how long ago you worked for Hays but our tools and technology are the best in the recruitment industry and have been designed to make our consultants' jobs easy... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter - Typical Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Contract team has competitive salary
    If you're in the right line of business, good money to be made

    Cons

    Some backstabbing personalities
    Perm team pay isn't competitive
    Very high school type issues

    Advice to Management

    Not much. Fairly standard for agency.

    Hays Response

    23 May, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Could I ask for us to have a more detailed conversation about your comments and experience? You can reach me on 0203 465 0202.


  8. "Sr Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fun, energetic environment. Investment in training. Many incentives. A great employer!

    Cons

    Few growth opportunities, at times management would make seemingly random promotion decisions. A good seller does not make a good manager.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Big on training, supportive of success.

    Cons

    Micromanagement, 100% KPI driven, highly competitive, party atmosphere. Great for a new grad right out of school, not an experienced professional. Recruitment grindhouse.

    Advice to Management

    Tone down the micromanagement

    Hays Response

    15 Mar, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Great place to learn but you don't recommend working at Hays and have given us a one out of 5 star rating? Can you please clarify?


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company But..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Former Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Amazing training, they know what their doing and they're good at what they do, amazing location, young team.

    Cons

    Prepare to be micro-managed, had a dog eat dog feel when I worked there, they team in Vancouver needs proper managers.

    Advice to Management

    Life work balance is key, if you're going to give a full time employee a tiny base but expect them to work extra hours, you have to be flexible.

    Hays Response

    6 Mar, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I am disappointed to read your review and have passed it onto the management team in Vancouver to comment.


  11. "Senior Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hays provides excellent training (formal and informal) to new employees, especially those without prior recruitment experience. Hays has an organizational culture that promotes a strong work ethic, but also allows for humour and fun in the office including a variety of events and other celebrations. Hays is truly a global organization and therefore global mobility is encouraged and promoted internally. Lastly, Hays has a solid reputation and second-to-none sales/marketing initiatives.

    Cons

    Hays' model is more geared towards a human relations organization vs a high-involvement organization. However, this has a lot to do with the recruitment industry itself.

    Advice to Management

    Consider more flexible work options for employees

    Hays Response

    2 Nov, 2016 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing your career with Hays. I have passed your review to the Director of PACT to consider.


Showing 1,494 of 1,626 reviews
Reset Filters