Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hays Reviews

Updated 12 December, 2017
1,542 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
865 Ratings

1,542 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • The recruitment industry is long hours (in 343 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Income and career have no ceiling at Hays. Work hard and you'll want for nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I started working here about 5 years ago and have been promoted 5 times. If you work hard, you get rewarded - simple as that. The earning potential is limitless and the opportunities for career advancement are endless. I've never seen someone who put the work in, and didn't enjoy it. Fact is that if you work hard, you'll make 6 figures in your second year. There aren't many companies who can offer you that in your second year out of college.

    Cons

    It's a tough job. Not because it is is Hays specifically, but the industry itself is incredibly competitive. Hays has cracked the code to success and its very much a case of 'follow our lead to succeed'. I've seen loads of people over the years think their way is better and inevitably they miss their targets and end up on glassdoor talking about what a bad place to work it was!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. The negative feedback on here is certainly from consultants who just couldnt cut it......and how dare you suggest it was their fault!!! ;)


  2. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Good people, good training, can be financially rewarding.

    Cons

    Large corporate, decisions made at a PSL level have a knock on effect on staff/morale.


  3. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Toronto, ON
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They promote everyone, it's based on targets achieved. Club trips twice a year for top performers. Leave early Fridays if you meet the billing requirements. Very laid back, everyone swears which is not really a pro but that's how it is. Salary is a joke as is the commission.

    Cons

    Very senior management including president Vice President and President are obviously of basic education which means they hire people with little to no experience. No one is this company has any business degree or background which shows in behaviour and lack of professionalism. They put people in PIPS and leave them to fail.

    Advice to Management

    Be professional, it's obvious that you lack basic business principles. The top people shouldn't swear nor should they gossip. You will not get professional employees because you are not professional and an English accent doesn't mean that you are.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "career consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    competitive, merit based. work hard earn more.

    Cons

    toooooo competitive. managers are on your neck despite our anything

    Hays Response

    20 Nov, 2017

    Thanks for your review


  6. "Fulltime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good work environment for employees

    Cons

    provides Low Salary and benefits

    Hays Response

    15 Oct, 2017

    Thanks for your review


  7. "Senior Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Hays supplies many tools to be successful such as great training and a great marketing department. It is one of the most sophisticated recruitment companies in the industry.

    Cons

    The management style in general involves micro-managing.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employee feedback.

    Hays Response

    20 Aug, 2017

    Thanks for your review

    Management is very hands on - we feel it's important for new people to be supported but as you progress and prove yourself you become more autonomous

    Thanks for your... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Each individual specializes - become expert in your area
    Vibrant culture - young and young at heart
    Approachable senior managers

    Cons

    Too transactional... in a relational business
    Short term thinking leads to candidates feeling abandoned
    Too much reliance on cold calling for business development
    International transfers are given more promotional opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Provide equal opportunity to locally educated employees when it comes to promotions, etc.
    Put more emphasis on marketing to gather leads vs. cold calling.... it is hurting your market image.

    Hays Response

    28 Jun, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Appreciate your comments and your review has been sent to the Canada business to respond to. Thank you and good luck in your future career.


  9. "okay to start your career - personal, not factual impression of the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Talent Broker in Montreal, QC
    Former Employee - IT Talent Broker in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good training.
    stable-ish environement (your account managers can lose their job leaving recruiters confused, recruiters can be switched to departments without their consent)
    party athmosphere

    Cons

    - talent brokers have to modify the cvs themselvs (no marketing departement to do it for you)
    - talent broker has to create the contract themselvs and focus on the administrative tasks (no hr department that does it)
    - very low pay for what you are doing, but like i said, a great door to start your recruitment career.
    - cult like mentality (they have a slogan saying they are the best recruitment company in the world etc etc)
    - You have certain benchmarks to attain each month not related to placements
    (a certain number of in person interviews or phone calls)
    - Their database isn't that efficient (it takes 4-24h to enter a CV found from linkedin in their system. Must send representation forum for the candidate through the system : therefore you are forced to work `rogue`(find your own solutions) or accept a max 24/h delay with your candidate for the recruitment process

    Advice to Management

    bi-anually pay raises would be advized / raises based on trimester productivity ?

    Hays Response

    9 Jul, 2017

    Thanks for your review.

    I'm not sure how long ago you worked for Hays but our tools and technology are the best in the recruitment industry and have been designed to make our consultants' jobs easy... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter - Typical Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Contract team has competitive salary
    If you're in the right line of business, good money to be made

    Cons

    Some backstabbing personalities
    Perm team pay isn't competitive
    Very high school type issues

    Advice to Management

    Not much. Fairly standard for agency.

    Hays Response

    23 May, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Could I ask for us to have a more detailed conversation about your comments and experience? You can reach me on 0203 465 0202.


  11. "A job life, for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    A true meritocracy. Work hard and you will be rewarded. If you need help, Hays offers continuous learning right from trainee up to the President level. An opportunity to forge your own career path with clear targets and achievements at each level. Hays also offered me, and many other people I know in the company the chance to work overseas. A very collaborative team who are always looking out for each other.

    Cons

    Definitely not the right environment for someone who isn't interested in a highly competitive and target driven environment. Its a skill short market in Canada so there's a constant battle to find the best talent for our clients. You have to be prepared to work hard to get the results for your clients and candidates

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Hays Response

    25 Apr, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review - your perception of working on our business is balanced and (in my opinion) on point. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, the review has... More


Showing 1,542 of 1,680 reviews
Reset Filters