Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hays Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,272 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends(in 141 reviews)

  • "Career progression are very transparent(in 139 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at Hays Toronto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In my opinion one of the best if not the best agency to work for. Working for Hays, will expose you to the best training / educational program out there. The training never stops no matter what level you reach at Hays. It is a meritocratic environment. You will earn your own advancement. You are given the tools and the rest is in you to try. The career path is clear. Every company has something to improve upon. Overall, it is a culture that doesn’t leave you in the dark about your performance and you are always given different directions and advice to be able to reach your best.

    Cons

    This is an environment where you are your own boss. It is like running a business within a business. That being said, it’s on you to put the extra time to learn a new task, to reach new markets and reach the success that you should aim for given that you have applied to be part of an agency. It takes extra few hours some weeks and some other weeks it doesn’t. You run your own desk and business.

    Hays2019-12-15
  2. "Not for the lazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was not brand new to the industry; I came in with roughly six years of past recruitment experience, and in fact, targeted Hays specifically as a place I was interested in working at. I interviewed at Adecco, Kelly Services and a few privately owned businesses, and Hays won by a landslide- in fact, it's one of the best decisions I've ever made in my career. I started with nearly no business development experience and for the first time in SIX years, received formal training during onboarding, and the training has continued throughout my two years here. I was given every opportunity to succeed, regularly asked for my feedback, and hit my promotion target after just one year on the job. This came with a significant increase to both my base salary and commission plan, though I was already thrilled with my first year's earnings. I could go on and on about the "perks" of working for Hays; uncapped commission, two annual trips if your billings hit a certain target (California and Colorado last year), a FABULOUS maternity "top up" that will give you 75% of your previous year's earnings, four weeks of vacation for everyone when they first start, RRSP... all of that is amazing, but what stands out to me is the freedom to essentially run your own business within the company. Of course, there is the "Hays way" of doing things, but that's designed to streamline the process and increase efficiency (and in general, means you'll end up making more money).

    Cons

    Bottom line, recruitment is not for everyone. We're not talking about an easy job; people seem to forget this a sales-driven business. Not to mention, people are unpredictable and people are our business which can be very frustrating for sensitive people or those that can't bounce back easily and keep it moving. Those that fail, frankly, aren't prepared to put in the work necessary to be successful, in my opinion. Resilience, tenacity and persistence are ESSENTIAL to your success in sales, particularly recruitment. Is this company perfect? No- it's metric-driven, because it's a business! Even our metrics are designed to deliver a gold standard of service to our clients and candidates. If you're struggling, the company tries to help you. If you're embarrassed about your numbers, DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT; stay late, pick up the phone, ask your colleagues etc. etc. No one who has ever consistently put in the work has been fired, and I've never been surprised when I've learned that someone has been let go.

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-12-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Find your recruitment experience elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    4 weeks vacation Disability through benefits plan Free booze all the time

    Cons

    Free booze all the time... sometimes even in the mornings at meetings. If you go on disability, understand that your manager will tell the entire office the confidential reason why, and bad mouth you when (if) you return. Managers are trained specifically to create fear in their teams. They think fear = productivity. It does not. Fear = burn out, excessive stress, strain on mental health and a toxic culture. Management is a joke. The most senior manager in the office frequently made inappropriate and sexual jokes openly, creating a very uncomfortable environment to attempt to be professional in. No work/life balance. Hours are 8-5 but if you don't work 7-6 you'll get a talking to.

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-12-05

    Hays Response

    December 13, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is my personal priority as President, Hays Canada and the goal of all Hays leadership to foster a positive employee experience in an inclusive and respectful work environment. In my 11 years leading the Canadian business, we have always maintained office hours of 8.30am-5pm and put a lot of effort into training, celebrating team wins and developing and supporting our people. We also aim to foster an environment of openness where our staff can feel comfortable discussing on-the-job challenges with either management or our People & Culture team. I am very unhappy to read these comments and am keen to discuss the specifics with you. I would encourage you to email me at rowan.ogrady@hays.com to set up a time to discuss. Thank you Rowan O'Grady President, Hays Canada

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good welcomers, nice and convenient location, clean office

    Cons

    I was contacted with one of Hays recruiters to get hired by Hays itself telling me they are increasing their workforce for customer service because of extra workload. I accepted their offer although I had some other offers at that time as well. Everything went well but all of a sudden and after only 2 weeks of working there, one of its managers called me and one other customer service reps in their office telling us oh we do not need this role any more as the business is going down and as simple as that they made my life hard and I am currently jobless which causes me having a lot of financial stress and pressure.This is so disorganized and unprofessional to hire people

    Hays2019-11-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away: Low pay, no recognition, blatant biases, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Accounts Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people at the company - fun to work with. Good to get the initial recruitment experience and nothing else. 4 weeks of vacation.

    Cons

    For a sales job that pays commission, the commission amount is embarrassingly low (5% or so). There is very little financial incentive to hit/exceed targets. Not to mention no one knows how commission is actually calculated. The base salary is also very low, and the benefits (health/dental etc.) are not good. There is no flex time and no remote/work from home options. The managers are micro-managers and will lie to your face about what you can achieve. The managers are the ones raking in the big dollars while the work is done by others. KPIs are their sole focus. Prepare to be micromanaged. You won't be recognized for any sort of accomplishment unless you happen to luck out and inherit some clients. There is very little loyalty shown to employees. The moment any KPI or whatever it may be dips a little, they show no loyalty and thus there is a culture of fear prevalent where anyone can get fired. They will kick you out and forget all about you. Shockingly poor empathy. There are clear biases within some teams. Tenure or whatever does not matter if the manager does not like you, they will give the opportunity to someone else. The VPs in the office have no real qualifications to speak of other than the fact they've been at the company a long time. They don't secure big deals, they don't do work with large established companies because those companies use other recruitment agencies. They conduct meetings in a way a sales person with a year of experience can do, there is nothing special about the leadership and thus don't expect any opportunities or support from them to grow the business.

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-11-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Organized Training -Friendly staff -Office is in a good location

    Cons

    -Poor management - Pay structure - Team leads are somewhat unqualified to manage

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-06-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "not again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    they tried to be always nice and helpful

    Cons

    the company is very unorganized

    Hays2019-05-12
  8. "Best recruitment firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great career growth opportunities Global mobility High earning potential

    Cons

    The job can be very monotonous at times

    Hays2019-04-01
  9. "The Wolf of Wallstreet, PG-13"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Training program In-house tools 4 weeks' vacation

    Cons

    Management KPI vs result-driven business Benefits package is mediocre Company culture

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-03-21
  10. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Hours can be flexible. Lots of vacation time and can be very rewarding if you work hard. Large company but feels like a family owned business. Your concerns and thoughts are always listened to!

    Cons

    Low base salaries as well as some city markets can be tough and can relate back to your success depending on what city you are in

    Hays2019-02-23
Found 2449 reviews
</>Embed