Hays "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hays Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,434 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Developing a successful career as an agency Recruiter does require long hours at times(in 456 reviews)

  • "long working hours, set targets(in 129 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Hays for sometime now and absolutely love the people I work with and the job I get to do. It is a challenging faced paced environment with a lot of support from the senior management team. They have a great on boarding and training program to help you succeed. You will get constant check ins and one on ones to help you achieve goals. The work life balance was a challenge at first but once you get a handle on the role and the urgency required to succeed it becomes much better. I would recommend Hays Calgary to anyone looking for an opportunity to grow their career and be challenged everyday. I cannot say enough good things about the culture and environment I work in, and the people I get to work with!

    Cons

    Not really a con, you need to be self driven and motived to succeed but if you are, you’ll love it at Hays!

    Continue reading
    Hays2020-01-22
  2. "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Experience Sales Driven Work Life Balance Great Team Lots of diversity No Micromanagement

    Cons

    None at the moment still new

    Continue reading
    Hays2018-03-06

    Hays Response

    May 1, 2018

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work. Strong, supportive and approachable management team. Great work life balance

    Cons

    Can be intense at times. Work hard Play hard environment

    Hays2020-03-24
  4. "it was a very great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Lyon

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life/balance salary and comissions

    Cons

    nothing to say it was nice

    Hays2020-02-03
  5. "Amazing place to start a career in recruitment if you're willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Sourcing Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    The social side of the office is fantastic, there's always charity events going on, nights out being planned and after work drinks, and the Christmas party was amazing. As soon as I walked in on my first day in the office I was invited to join the 5 a side football team by about 5 different people, told about the next few nights out that were planned and introduced to everyone on my team. After just a couple of weeks I pretty much knew everyone in the office. The company really focuses on training in your first 6 months, both from your manager, in classroom based week-long sessions with other colleagues from different offices at a similar level to you, and through online training modules. Although the hours are long, (42.5 hrs a week is standard), I'd disagree with people saying that work-life-balance is a con of working at Hays - they've introduced flexi time (although this is at your managers discretion and needs to be pre-arranged), there's the ability to purchase extra holiday days, and there is no expectation to take your work home - your weekends are completely yours and so are your evenings, often you cannot even access your emails outside of work. Hard work is always rewarded, from 'Star of the Week' awards as voted by other members of your team, lunches and after work drinks on your director if you hit targets, bonuses, and eventually promotions. Higher billers also get the opportunity to be entered into a company holiday competition, period end afternoons off for a lunch and drinks. Management are also incredibly supportive of both personal life and career progression, and will give up their time to have one-to-one meetings with staff to offer advice and help. I've often seen my director having meetings with junior staff giving them career advice, and also being very understanding of other staff members when they've had issues in their personal lives. This is something that I know a lot of the staff really appreciate. Every 4th Friday (period end) we all have beers/prosecco together towards the end of the day, and the whole office gets together to celebrate the achievements from the past 4 weeks, give out some company updates, congratulate people on promotions and have a laugh at some of the embarrassing things people have done in the past week. Usually everyone goes to the pub after, and then the younger members of staff tend to stay out quite a bit later. There's loads of benefits, but for me the best one, and the one I've utilised the most, is the online GP appointment service. You can literally book an appointment and have a video call with a GP on your phone for free within half an hour where they can diagnose symptoms and email a digital prescription for you to go and pick up on the same day. If you do need to go to an appointment face-to-face, management will allow you to flexi-time your work around it. I have to stress this is based on my experience in my team in my office, I think different people in different offices will have had different experiences compared with me.

    Cons

    KPI targets are set as standard, and don't always reflect the difficulty of the desk that you have. Some KPIs are unrealistic and unattainable. It's a very large company so (especially in compliance-heavy sectors) there's a lot of red tape and it's hard to be innovative. Some desks are very competitive, but that's the nature of recruitment. As an intern, doing the exact same job as other members of staff, it can be frustrating when you pay is substantially lower. The rate of pay was something that really put me off applying for this internship, but in the end I'm glad I did.

    Continue reading
    Hays2020-01-31
  6. "Great culture and co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Plantation, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance. You reap the benefits of your efforts.

    Cons

    It takes patience and consistency build those relationships that will bring you steady business

    Hays2020-01-22

    Hays Response

    January 27, 2020Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Wishing you all the best.

    Continue reading
  7. "Amazing opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Internship in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    A very conducive environment with a very well structured training programme. Regular bonding activites such as wake boarding, rock climbing, laser tag, month end dinners etc. Work life balance is encourage! Work hard play hard!

    Cons

    You get the most out of it if you have a CEI!

    Hays2020-01-16
  8. "Global company that cares about each employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Office Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, work/life balance, awesome co-workers

    Cons

    need more flexibility to work remote

    Hays2019-12-16

    Hays Response

    December 16, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  9. "Work life balance for internal roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays

    Pros

    Friendly and diversified environment work-life balance

    Cons

    Not so appealing salary for beginners

    Hays2019-08-16
  10. "Commercially driven and Human"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dynamic structure that allows commercially driven employees to grow. Good culture, excellent work life balance and solid bonus system to reward overachievement.

    Cons

    Despite great results and profit margin, "lean and mean" approach to spending.

    Hays2019-08-12
Found 42 reviews
</>Embed