General Mills Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Mills Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
238 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a challenge in our digital age(in 97 reviews)

  • "Decision making tension between region & local markets hasn't been fully resolved yet(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture, pay and benefits

    Cons

    i have none at this time

    General Mills2018-02-03
  2. "Loved my first few years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people Great benefits Investment in training and development

    Cons

    Significant restructuring happening every year

    Advice to Management

    Return to the culture of caring about employees and their careers. All the restructuring has had a huge impact

    General Mills2019-11-07
  3. "medium work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Operator in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay weekly day day is every thursday

    Cons

    co workers can be pushie

    Advice to Management

    rotating shifts

    General Mills2019-10-30
  4. "Loving What I Do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ABM 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Autonomy, Strong Brand Equities

    Cons

    Not Fully Staffed, Draft Company, Process Driven (not quick to market)

    General Mills2019-07-20
  5. "Fairly decent position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of career growth and transition opportunities. Encountered many opportunities to interact with multiple departments and learn new processes. Management was always open to new ideas, and processes.

    Cons

    Work-Life balance was impossible to find. The world load and office vibe was legendary, in the sense that there was no motivation.

    Advice to Management

    Find a means to make the work-life balance more manageable and increase team building activities. T

    General Mills2019-07-29
  6. "Good Experience For Career Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Autonomy over your business -Opportunity to collaborate cross functional -Learn quickly about the business and products

    Cons

    -Could have used more training when I first started

    General Mills2019-06-24
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Line Operator 

    I have been working at General Mills part-time

    Pros

    The pay is good for the type of job. Overtime available

    Cons

    You may not get full shift. Night shift workers are sent home early sometimes. The work area can get cold sometimes

    General Mills2019-06-29
  8. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good environment with kind coworkers

    Cons

    slow change and sometimes politics like any place

    Advice to Management

    minimize changes

    General Mills2019-05-30
  9. "Great Place going through changing times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    People, collaboration, culture and support. General Mills works hard for the business and its people.

    Cons

    Change is inevitable and General Mills is working hard to stay ahead. With that comes growing pains that the organization is working through.

    General Mills2018-10-18
  10. "Account Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Has a good work environment with passionate co-workers Lots of opportunity to work in different roles

    Cons

    There has been a lot of re-structuring going on

    General Mills2018-08-15
Found 2130 reviews