General Mills Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
281 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture, pay and benefits

    Cons

    i have none at this time

    General Mills2018-02-03
  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Development Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and culture of giving back to the community.

    Cons

    Very lean organization, not a lot of room for development/growth

    General Mills2020-02-17
  3. "Good Company Needs to Reset"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Family oriented culture type culture.

    Cons

    Performance of the overall company.

    General Mills2020-01-10
  4. "Good Company in US"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture if working with the corporate headquarters

    Cons

    Very difficult to move internally, politics beats experience

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-12-06
  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, great culture, strong brands and heritage. Good work-life balance. Average/competitive pay for this segment.

    Cons

    Slow decision speed, slow to react to/predict market changes. Limited roles for development in Canadian office due to size of team.

    General Mills2019-11-20
  6. "Loved my first few years"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people Great benefits Investment in training and development

    Cons

    Significant restructuring happening every year

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-11-07
  7. "medium work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Operator in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay weekly day day is every thursday

    Cons

    co workers can be pushie

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-10-30
  8. "Loving What I Do"

    4.0
    Current Employee - ABM 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Autonomy, Strong Brand Equities

    Cons

    Not Fully Staffed, Draft Company, Process Driven (not quick to market)

    General Mills2019-07-20
  9. "Fairly decent position"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of career growth and transition opportunities. Encountered many opportunities to interact with multiple departments and learn new processes. Management was always open to new ideas, and processes.

    Cons

    Work-Life balance was impossible to find. The world load and office vibe was legendary, in the sense that there was no motivation.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-07-29
  10. "Good Experience For Career Development"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Autonomy over your business -Opportunity to collaborate cross functional -Learn quickly about the business and products

    Cons

    -Could have used more training when I first started

    General Mills2019-06-24
Found 1948 reviews