General Mills Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Mills Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2072 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
213 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No Work life balance due to work shifts(in 93 reviews)

  • "Decision making tension between region & local markets hasn't been fully resolved yet(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    Solid culture, amazing people, independent of US headquarters, and innovative work

    Cons

    Declining categories, slow moving, too many meetings

    General Mills2014-10-21
  2. "Loving What I Do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ABM 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Autonomy, Strong Brand Equities

    Cons

    Not Fully Staffed, Draft Company, Process Driven (not quick to market)

    General Mills2019-07-20
  3. "Fairly decent position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of career growth and transition opportunities. Encountered many opportunities to interact with multiple departments and learn new processes. Management was always open to new ideas, and processes.

    Cons

    Work-Life balance was impossible to find. The world load and office vibe was legendary, in the sense that there was no motivation.

    Advice to Management

    Find a means to make the work-life balance more manageable and increase team building activities. T

    General Mills2019-07-29
  4. "Good Experience For Career Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Autonomy over your business -Opportunity to collaborate cross functional -Learn quickly about the business and products

    Cons

    -Could have used more training when I first started

    General Mills2019-06-24
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Line Operator 

    I have been working at General Mills part-time

    Pros

    The pay is good for the type of job. Overtime available

    Cons

    You may not get full shift. Night shift workers are sent home early sometimes. The work area can get cold sometimes

    General Mills2019-06-29
  6. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good environment with kind coworkers

    Cons

    slow change and sometimes politics like any place

    Advice to Management

    minimize changes

    General Mills2019-05-30
  7. "Great Place going through changing times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    People, collaboration, culture and support. General Mills works hard for the business and its people.

    Cons

    Change is inevitable and General Mills is working hard to stay ahead. With that comes growing pains that the organization is working through.

    General Mills2018-10-18
  8. "Account Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Has a good work environment with passionate co-workers Lots of opportunity to work in different roles

    Cons

    There has been a lot of re-structuring going on

    General Mills2018-08-15
  9. "Associate Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Good culture and work environment

    Cons

    Tedious tasks and lack of innovation

    Advice to Management

    More autonomy

    General Mills2018-08-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "General Mills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture. Competitive salaries. Opportunity to work with cross-functional functions.

    Cons

    Tougher advancements. Work/life balance dependent on team you are placed in. Limited training.

    Advice to Management

    Have more efforts to retain employees.

    General Mills2018-03-27
Found 2072 reviews