Family Video Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Family Video President Keith Hoogland  (no image)
Keith Hoogland
203 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low wage, dying industry, no breaks(in 131 reviews)

  • "Upper management is stretched so thin you have little support(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "pleasant experience, fun place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Family Video part-time

    Pros

    fun atmosphere decent co workers had a great boss she was very understanding and kind

    Cons

    not a huge fan of the way of organizing the videos but wasn't horrible

    Continue reading
    Family Video2019-10-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Fun environment but they expect too much"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Family Video part-time

    Pros

    - fun co-workers - discounts on movies - understanding of needing time off - good school/ work balance

    Cons

    - Management was very poor for a long time - only offer part time unless they want to promote you to assistant manager - the pay is awful for what they expect of you - Not offered enough hours - faulty policies - on call shifts - not enough training - open on all holidays

    Continue reading
    Family Video2016-07-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Family Video for less than a year

    Pros

    -Free prestreet rentals -Free regular rentals if you meet their sales targets (which are pretty easy)

    Cons

    -If you work at an American store, you will not get breaks at all. If you work at a Canadian store, you will only get breaks if you are a part-time staff member (and that's only because they were taken to the Labour Board). -If you are full-time, you will be expected to be on your feet for 8-12 hours and you will be chided if you do decide to sit down -The top-heavy management do not understand how the company appears to a part-time staff member -- and how it could look like they don't care about them -- when store hours get cut and people are forced to work on their own, but then all of the DMs and RMs get to go to Mexico for a "retreat" and at this same time, employee commission earnings get cut. "The DMs work really hard." Oh, and the part-time staff don't? -DMs and RMs say that they have an open-door policy and you can speak to them about anything, but this is untrue. They will make your work life intolerable and you will be left with no choice but to be treated badly or simply quit. -Mileage is only paid out at 22 cents/km. Most companies pay at least 38 cents/km. 22 cents/km doesn't even pay for gas, let alone wear-and-tear on your personal vehicle. -You are expected to use your own vehicle to take deposits to the bank during working hours, and you are not reimbursed for any mileage at all. -Store Managers have to work a minimum of 44 "open hours" per week, but RMs expect that you will work 50 hours per week. Time spent at the store before it opens or after it closes does not count toward the "open hours." -They expect that your spouse will help you to maintain the store for free (doing repairs, etc.). Actually paying someone to come and do something is a big no-no.

    Continue reading
    Family Video2015-11-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "It was okay at times, but I wish I hadn't applied"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Family Video part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If your sales are good, you get free rentals (as everyone else mentioned). I liked a couple of my coworkers, and if you ask for time off, you're likely to get it. Earning a bit of commission was nice, too.

    Cons

    They expect a LOT from you right from the beginning (even the application process is ridiculously long and tedious for what the job actually is). There is not enough training provided. They talk down to you if you ask for help doing something you've never been shown how to do. There is no consistency in the schedule, especially because of on-call shifts. I hated not knowing when I was going to be working. There are no breaks. The store is open every day of the year, so you have to work on Christmas Eve, Christmas, Boxing Day, New Year's Eve, New Years, Thanksgiving, etc. Customers can also be extremely frustrating, and they treat you like the slave that your managers expect you to be. Way too much emphasis is placed on up-selling and bothering customers about promotions until they get super frustrated with you, which made me feel like a horrible person. There just is not enough time to get everything done that they want you to do, and even if you're super busy, you get in trouble for not completing their tedious tasks. This one is location-dependent, of course, but the manager and the majority of the employees were intimidating and rude at times. The manager was constantly in a bad mood because of all the tasks upper management had her doing day in and day out without proper time allotted Once you get used to the job, most of this stuff isn't quite as bad, but it can still be pretty rough and discouraging.

    Continue reading
    Family Video2015-01-23
  5. "Be Careful"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Family Video full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great things at family video include free rentals, friendly co workers, fun environment and competitive pay. When you work on a weekend or busy night, it can be very fun and satisfying. You can make commission on sales and add a dollar an hour onto your paycheck. The day goes by fast because there is so much to do. If you have a good manager and district manager, you will feel appreciated. Also, FV works around college schedules and is very flexible. Customers can be very nice and you will want to talk to them.

    Cons

    As every other review mentions, there are no breaks or sitting down, no matter how long the shift is. I have worked 11 hours and not been able to each lunch or dinner. You have to eat at the counter which can be embarrassing, and assist the customers at the same time. After 3+ years I am used to this, but it is still annoying. You have to take money to the bank every few hours, and you are not compensated. You use your own gas and have to make trips to the post office, grocery store, hardware store, etc, when the store needs something. Customers. According to FV, the customers are treated like Gods and we must worship them. This includes being yelled at, taking ridiculous late fees off, being sexually harassed, running around and picking out movies for them, and giving them free movies. If a customer complains about you to corporate, the manager will always take their side even if it is completely false. You will get written up if a customer complains about you, or even fired. Employees are overworked, especially managers. If someone calls in sick, it is the managers responsibility to cover, even if they have worked 50+ hours. Or, you, the part time employee, may be stranded covering the shift, with no one coming to relieve you. No matter how much work you do, you will never be acknowledged. There is always something else to do, or you did not do it right. Sign changing is done every week, no matter the weather. Inhumane at times, especially in the winter. Upper management can be cliquey, so be careful if they do not like you. They will make jokes, talk in corporate terms, and basically ignore you if you are working. I have had cold and impersonal district managers, who will make you feel unimportant.

    Continue reading
    Family Video2014-01-08
  6. "Easy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Rantoul, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Family Video full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, smart co-workers due to tests required at application

    Cons

    Treated like children by upper management

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-05-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Part Time, Resist Promotions"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Family Video full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -I loved the freedom of being a manager. I literally did whatever I wanted with my store (moving sections, pricing older movies, having sales, in store discounts like trivia contests) and the only time I had pushback was when a customer sent a complaint to my superiors. -Full Time managers are able to get a hefty bonus based on sales, but the parameters are so high in a low volume store it was incredibly difficult to receive. -Half priced and /or free rentals -Regular customers were fantastic, and they were wonderful to me and my staff. That is what I miss the most. - I really did love the job, it was simply not financially worth it in the long run

    Cons

    Money. They do not pay adequately for the amount of work you do. Refuse to pay overtime, you are on your own 100% as management. I loved it as a part time job, but moving up in the company is not worth it. Too much stress (all maintenance inside and out, ordering parts and replacements, interviewing and training 100% of your staff and even another store's hire, scheduling, 3 types of sales calls, all the accounting & payroll, sales coaching, covering all call offs and holidays for when staff cannot work, maintaining next to impossible labor standards and selling CBD to company quotas) and no home/work balance. If you are single with no children then it could work out, but there is no going a day without phone calls or questions from both upper management or your employees. Upper management is spread as thinly as you are, so getting answers can be difficult. I had several different district and regional managers in only the course of a year, and they varied on levels of involvement. Some would help you as much as they could, and others would shrug over the phone and tell you to just figure it out. They posted a group chat for managers so that they could reach out to one another, but it was such a waste I barely used it. I loved the day to day of the customers and the empowerment of the company, but it is a double edged sword - that empowerment expectation also leads to the feeling that no one cares what you do. There is virtually no follow up. You are entirely on your own, for good or bad. That was the straw that broke the camel's back for me. Also no breaks.

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-05-05
  8. "Pretty solid retail management position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Wisconsin Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Family Video full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper leadership does seem to make decisions that are based in care for their staff Clientele tend to be pleasant due to the low-pressure retail goods Entertainment environment can be fun

    Cons

    The open hours/open days. Retail sometimes means a conflict negotiation, being a manager means you need to be prepared to handle any number of situations.

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-04-18
  9. "Better than the fast food industry, but still not great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Family Video part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours; not always fast-paced

    Cons

    Poor scheduling / on call hours

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-04-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Brief. Waste of time, eye opener."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Clerk in Joplin, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Family Video part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are movies all around, it's out of the elements.... good enough for a high school student.

    Cons

    Are there enough words in the English language? Slave wage. No other way to say. Garbage, useless wage. No one could live on this pathetic wage. High school kids, maybe, if they are undemanding. Management is clueless

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-05-17
Found 769 reviews