Edward Jones Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Edward Jones Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Edward Jones CEO Penny Pennington
Penny Pennington
187 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are given an enormous amount of support from our home office(in 158 reviews)

  • "Great training for resume building(in 153 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to build a business from scratch door knocking(in 170 reviews)

  • "Get used to Door-to-door prospecting(in 155 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Complete focus on the client with respect to goals, risk tolerance and clarity around both performance and costs. The long term investment philosophy with a focus on investor education and engagement makes a big difference in client attraction and retention. The company manages well over $1T dollars and it doesn’t happen by acquiring competitors, but an organic growth structure and training infrastucture that... attracts intelligent, hard working people.

    Show More

    Cons

    The role of a Financial Advisor at any firm is extremely hard work. This is no exception. Even with industry leading training at EJ this career isn’t for everyone. It’s easy to say you want to be a Financial Advisor, but the rubber hits the road when you need to demonstrate value to a potential client, work long hours (especially early on) and develop a resolve to never quite when it gets tough. We need more... Canadian’s to investigate just how good we are vs the competition as both a great employer and as a client.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Maintain the strong focus on both leadership development and attracting the best Financial Advisors. Fortune Magazine and JD Power awards year after year are a sign that the efforts to help both our associates and our clients are paying off. Thank you for building and maintaining an organization for clients, not public shareholders.

    Edward Jones2019-01-14
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Branch Office Administrator 

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment. Easy to build client relationships.

    Cons

    Limited options to move up in company.

    Edward Jones2019-11-13
  3. "Better than canadian banks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training and network. Work structure is very entrepreneurial.

    Cons

    Out-dated company culture and very 'square'.

    Edward Jones2019-11-07
  4. "Working @ Edward Jones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Branch Office Administrator in Kelowna, BC
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Safe place to invest you hard warned money

    Cons

    As a BOA you must motivate the Financial Advisor. They also have control of your wage and bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Hourly pay should be an industry standard. Its so random.

    Edward Jones2019-11-03
  5. "Fantastic Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Brandon, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tremendous support from both head office and colleagues.

    Cons

    Door Knocking is a must and is tough.

    Advice to Management

    Hats off to Management and the company being owned by the employees is unheard of.

    Edward Jones2019-09-29
  6. "Good training and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning opportunities, Outstanding training provided

    Cons

    Door to door relationship building

    Advice to Management

    Focus new ways to generate leads

    Edward Jones2019-09-16
  7. "drinking from the fire hose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BOA Branch Office Administrator in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice environment with clients, desk job,

    Cons

    very busy with little support

    Advice to Management

    more support when people start.

    Edward Jones2019-09-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive in your success

    Cons

    Some offerings are not very competitive i the market

    Edward Jones2019-08-14
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Be careful what you wish for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training and base salary (albeit declining) during the first five years, good benefits package, some colleagues offered support and mentoring.

    Cons

    It's a horribly outdated business model: cold door knocking. No one, much less in a professional career, attracts clients this way. You don't get any leads or accounts to work with, but no one tells you this during the recruiting and onboarding process - I only found out at KYC training. IF you are assigned an office (there is no guarantee - you might be working out of your home), it's a one-person shop, so no... colleagues to work with. Some senior FAs are very condescending.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Refocus your business model (many other comparably successful financial services firms are) to reflect what is happening in the industry today. Start new FAs off with leads and/or clients to let them build their business. Be upfront with new recruits about expectations and targets.

    Edward Jones2019-08-14
  10. "Very well-run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Support in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work part-time as an admin support. Every time I work an assignment I am impressed by how well this organization is run.

    Cons

    On-call admins don't make a lot of money.

    Advice to Management

    Financial Advisors should be required to coach and mentor on-call BOAs so that we can grow our skill sets.

    Edward Jones2019-08-08
Found 2549 reviews