Edward Jones Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Edward Jones Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2430 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Edward Jones CEO Penny Pennington
Penny Pennington
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are given an enormous amount of support from our home office(in 151 reviews)

  • "Great training for resume building(in 149 reviews)

Cons
  • "The week of door-knocking in the summer is a great tool to weed out people who aren't cut out for the job(in 188 reviews)

  • "Get used to Door-to-door prospecting(in 146 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The firm is truly focused on putting clients first. Revenue is the result of taking care of clients and their needs. Once the revenue does start coming in, it's Industry leading compensation, with the potential for unlimited income. Flexibility in working hours allows work/life balance. Constant support and resources, and technology that is the best in the industry. The expectations that were placed on me when I was hired...

    Show More

    Cons

    A LOT of work during the first 5-ish years. Be prepared to make personal sacrifices (ie. spending more time on building your business and less with family and friends) early on so that you can live the life most people only dream about. If you're looking for a job where you can just show up and put in the time to earn a pay-cheque, this isn't it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what we're doing. Highest client satisfaction in the industry didn't happen by accident.

    Edward Jones2018-09-04

    Edward Jones Response

    September 28, 2018FACD program

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write Edward Jones a review. At Edward Jones we appreciate everything our employees do to put the Client first. It is understood that the Financial Advisor position requires a lot of hard work but pays off to know that we are making a difference ...

    Show More
  2. "The best brokerage for both clients and Advisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Independent IIROC regulated firm means that Financial Advisors can buy the whole universe of Stocks/Bonds/ETF’s/Mutual Funds for clients.

    Cons

    Edward Jones doesn’t have a banking division that can feed prospective clients to Financials Advisors. FA’s must build the business themselves

    Advice to Management

    Stay a private partnership and keep the focus on clients rather than maximizing profits at all costs.

    Edward Jones2019-05-30
  3. "Good place to work but can get slow n boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edward Jones part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Good people

    Cons

    No strategy for Canada Step treatment to part time employee

    Edward Jones2019-06-15
  4. "Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth Good commission structure No limits Your own business

    Cons

    Alone Need a network Need fast results No time to build your business

    Advice to Management

    When hired give your employé a full year on the feel to show results

    Edward Jones2019-06-06
  5. "Not bad if you can commit 24/7 to this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good training, decent technology, some very helpful people, ability to really help clients

    Cons

    Low pay, pressure, expected to work 24/7, vacations frowned upon in the first few years, leaders make up rules and don't stick to them, people are not all treated equally.

    Advice to Management

    Paymore, expect less, treat everybody equal,

    Edward Jones2019-04-21
  6. "opportunity review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    unlimited income potential,great supprt and help from home office and experienced FA,excellent traning and development program

    Cons

    have to build up your own business ,challenge at the beginning stage

    Advice to Management

    improve online account system

    Edward Jones2019-03-23
  7. "Very fulfilling career with the Best Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rewarding work, with great training, support, mentoring/coaching, great suite of tools and solutions.... really able to offer clients the best

    Cons

    Very difficult career to get started, but the rewards are worth it!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to the field.

    Edward Jones2019-03-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Rigid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time

    Pros

    Bonuses, good training programs available, potential for profit-sharing, many branch offices, established company

    Cons

    Rigid rules, antiquated operating procedures, pricey benefits plan, little work/life balance, some advisors are only looking out for themselves, much incompetence, few opportunities for advancement or salary increase.

    Edward Jones2019-03-22
  9. "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best training in the industry. Friendly work environment, and a competitive salary. Love the company's culture.

    Cons

    Get used to Door-to-door prospecting.

    Edward Jones2019-02-20
  10. "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time

    Pros

    Working Freedom, Training and Support

    Cons

    Door Knocking, Heavy loaded work

    Edward Jones2019-03-05
Found 2430 reviews