Edward Jones Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Edward Jones Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Edward Jones Managing Partner  Penny Pennington
Penny Pennington
199 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are given an enormous amount of support from our home office(in 159 reviews)

  • "Great Training, Back Office Support was wonderful, the FA I worked with was easy to get along with and good communication(in 155 reviews)

Cons
  • "You will build your book from scratch (see door knocking)(in 172 reviews)

  • "Get used to Door-to-door prospecting(in 158 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Branch Office Administrator 

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment. Easy to build client relationships.

    Cons

    Limited options to move up in company.

    Edward Jones2019-11-13
  2. "Tough place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support, very client driven

    Cons

    High expectations, door to door cold calling is tough

    Edward Jones2020-01-07
  3. "Do not recommend becoming a FA at EJ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, a lot of nice, capable and helping people. Luxurious regional meetings. Once a year, you can bring the family to enjoy a nice,free trip. If your sales number is good, you may enjoy the free trips even more If your parents work as FA at EJ, you can easily "inherit" clients from your parents. So it is kind of building a family business.

    Cons

    1. Their style of getting clients is out-dated. Way more people fail than succeed. It's becoming harder and harder for new hires to succeed. The pay is extremely low for the first few years with crazy work load. 2. Their fees are ridiculously high. That's how the company's luxurious meetings, free fancy trips are paid. Why do all the successful FAs mostly have elders as clients? One is that elders have money. But more importantly, young people would notice the ridiculously high charges. Once wealth is transferred from elders to young people, I doubt EJ can keep up their clients. There is no competitive advantage for it in the new era. 3. The whole IT system, wealth management system in EJ is outdated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall, this company does not stand for the future unless it has made serious innovative changes. I don't see the future in this company.

    Edward Jones2020-01-06
  4. "Better than canadian banks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training and network. Work structure is very entrepreneurial.

    Cons

    Out-dated company culture and very 'square'.

    Edward Jones2019-11-07
  5. "Working @ Edward Jones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Branch Office Administrator in Kelowna, BC
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Safe place to invest you hard warned money

    Cons

    As a BOA you must motivate the Financial Advisor. They also have control of your wage and bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Hourly pay should be an industry standard. Its so random.

    Edward Jones2019-11-03
  6. "Fantastic Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Brandon, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tremendous support from both head office and colleagues.

    Cons

    Door Knocking is a must and is tough.

    Advice to Management

    Hats off to Management and the company being owned by the employees is unheard of.

    Edward Jones2019-09-29
  7. "Good training and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning opportunities, Outstanding training provided

    Cons

    Door to door relationship building

    Advice to Management

    Focus new ways to generate leads

    Edward Jones2019-09-16
  8. "drinking from the fire hose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BOA Branch Office Administrator in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice environment with clients, desk job,

    Cons

    very busy with little support

    Advice to Management

    more support when people start.

    Edward Jones2019-09-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive in your success

    Cons

    Some offerings are not very competitive i the market

    Edward Jones2019-08-14
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Be careful what you wish for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training and base salary (albeit declining) during the first five years, good benefits package, some colleagues offered support and mentoring.

    Cons

    It's a horribly outdated business model: cold door knocking. No one, much less in a professional career, attracts clients this way. You don't get any leads or accounts to work with, but no one tells you this during the recruiting and onboarding process - I only found out at KYC training. IF you are assigned an office (there is no guarantee - you might be working out of your home), it's a one-person shop, so no colleagues to work with. Some senior FAs are very condescending.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Refocus your business model (many other comparably successful financial services firms are) to reflect what is happening in the industry today. Start new FAs off with leads and/or clients to let them build their business. Be upfront with new recruits about expectations and targets.

    Edward Jones2019-08-14
Found 2583 reviews