Edward Jones Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Edward Jones Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2508 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Edward Jones CEO Penny Pennington
Penny Pennington
162 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are given an enormous amount of support from our home office(in 153 reviews)

  • "Great training for resume building(in 150 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to build a business from scratch door knocking(in 190 reviews)

  • "Get used to Door-to-door prospecting(in 148 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very well-run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Support in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work part-time as an admin support. Every time I work an assignment I am impressed by how well this organization is run.

    Cons

    On-call admins don't make a lot of money.

    Advice to Management

    Financial Advisors should be required to coach and mentor on-call BOAs so that we can grow our skill sets.

    Edward Jones2019-08-08
  2. "Good training and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning opportunities, Outstanding training provided

    Cons

    Door to door relationship building

    Advice to Management

    Focus new ways to generate leads

    Edward Jones2019-09-16
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive in your success

    Cons

    Some offerings are not very competitive i the market

    Edward Jones2019-08-14
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Be careful what you wish for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training and base salary (albeit declining) during the first five years, good benefits package, some colleagues offered support and mentoring.

    Cons

    It's a horribly outdated business model: cold door knocking. No one, much less in a professional career, attracts clients this way. You don't get any leads or accounts to work with, but no one tells you this during the recruiting and onboarding process - I only found out at KYC training. IF you are assigned an office (there is no guarantee - you might be working out of your home), it's a one-person shop, so no... colleagues to work with. Some senior FAs are very condescending.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Refocus your business model (many other comparably successful financial services firms are) to reflect what is happening in the industry today. Start new FAs off with leads and/or clients to let them build their business. Be upfront with new recruits about expectations and targets.

    Edward Jones2019-08-14
  5. "Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth Good commission structure No limits Your own business

    Cons

    Alone Need a network Need fast results No time to build your business

    Advice to Management

    When hired give your employé a full year on the feel to show results

    Edward Jones2019-06-06
  6. "Good place to work but can get slow n boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edward Jones part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Good people

    Cons

    No strategy for Canada Step treatment to part time employee

    Edward Jones2019-06-15
  7. "The best brokerage for both clients and Advisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Independent IIROC regulated firm means that Financial Advisors can buy the whole universe of Stocks/Bonds/ETF’s/Mutual Funds for clients.

    Cons

    Edward Jones doesn’t have a banking division that can feed prospective clients to Financials Advisors. FA’s must build the business themselves

    Advice to Management

    Stay a private partnership and keep the focus on clients rather than maximizing profits at all costs.

    Edward Jones2019-05-30
  8. "Not bad if you can commit 24/7 to this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good training, decent technology, some very helpful people, ability to really help clients

    Cons

    Low pay, pressure, expected to work 24/7, vacations frowned upon in the first few years, leaders make up rules and don't stick to them, people are not all treated equally.

    Advice to Management

    Paymore, expect less, treat everybody equal,

    Edward Jones2019-04-21
  9. "opportunity review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    unlimited income potential,great supprt and help from home office and experienced FA,excellent traning and development program

    Cons

    have to build up your own business ,challenge at the beginning stage

    Advice to Management

    improve online account system

    Edward Jones2019-03-23
  10. "Very fulfilling career with the Best Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rewarding work, with great training, support, mentoring/coaching, great suite of tools and solutions.... really able to offer clients the best

    Cons

    Very difficult career to get started, but the rewards are worth it!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to the field.

    Edward Jones2019-03-11
Found 2508 reviews