Edward Jones Financial Advisor Trainee Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Edward Jones Managing Partner  Penny Pennington
Penny Pennington
5 Ratings

Featured Divisions of Edward Jones

See all divisions
  1. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (2)

    "Great place to build a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Edward Jones in July, so far they have provided a terrific training plan and team spirit. This is the place to be if you are willing to do the work and commit yourself to building a lifelong career.

    Cons

    There is only a base salary and the rest of your earning is based on commission . You need to have another income stream in your family to survive the first year.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2018-09-19
  2. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (1)

    "very supportive of trainees"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Advisor Trainee in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Edward Jones for less than a year

    Pros

    Edward Jones would be a great place for ambitious, sociable people to work

    Cons

    FA salaries are 100% commission based after 5 years. That's typical of the industry but drives out people who are risk averse or less aggressive or sole breadwinners. Too conservative in terms of holiday leave, etc.--people should be allowed to make their own schedules as long as they find clients

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-07-26
  3. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "financial advisor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Advisor Trainee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones

    Pros

    amazing place helps you make a lot of money

    Cons

    door to door knocking and rejection

    Edward Jones2017-06-16
  4. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (2)

    "Financial Advisor Trainee"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Financial Advisor Trainee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Edward Jones for less than a year

    Pros

    They allowed me to fail. I was given the freedom to prospect where ever I wanted despite past challenges. Excellent sales training. The partnership structure is endearing.

    Cons

    More guidance may have been beneficial. I did not meet their initial prospecting quota. The opportunity was ultimately not compatible with my career aspirations.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2016-01-08
  5. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can have a very lucrative career in the long term.

    Cons

    Must work very hard at the beginning, most of your time door knocking all day.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2016-01-03
  6. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Quality breeds quality"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company invests all of their resources into proper training and education.

    Cons

    The company is strict on additional occupational income.

    Edward Jones2020-05-31
  7. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Great Company who cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cares alot about their advisers, so many great opportunities in the firm. Great firm culture

    Cons

    Very difficult to start your business. They give alot of training, but it is still very difficult

    Edward Jones2020-05-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "2 months of interviews only to get blind-sighted"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee in Menifee, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People I interviewed with were nice.. I guess?

    Cons

    Quit or Fired within 3 years - You'll Owe them $75,000 for training!! Total SCAM!It's a profit center for them, given the high turnover. DON'T DO IT! I refused to sign.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2020-03-18
  9. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Outstanding training"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee in Sebring, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Edward Jones’ culture is like non other. With opportunities to grow your business the way you want to and with no limitations. At the same time everyone at EJ is a team player.

    Cons

    Is very challenging at the beginning to get clients and it can feel a little lonely at times.

    Edward Jones2020-01-31
  10. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Good program"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Advisor Trainee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Pay Learned a lot

    Cons

    Gets boring Dependent on financial advisor

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2020-01-06
Found 66 reviews