Ciena Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ciena Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Optical leader & opportunity to work on new technologies 2) Good Work life balance(in 126 reviews)

  • "The work environment is nice, spacious, but not too open(in 69 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Senior Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best flexible hours as well as management for improvement and promotions.

    Cons

    People are so great so to get promoted amongst the best is definitely a serious challenge but the quality of the management and colleagues is such that you still want to stick around...

    Advice to Management

    Have more senior management having periodic jobs for opportunities to grow further.

    Ciena2018-12-05
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Kanata, ON

    I have been working at Ciena full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time here

    Cons

    I can not think of any

    Ciena2019-08-29

    Ciena Response

    September 4, 2019Ciena

    Thank you for your feedback on Ciena!

  3. "Good place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI-UX Designer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    life/work balance and compensation package

    Cons

    Sometimes, some management decisions can cause damage to people's life!

    Ciena2019-10-17
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Very mature environment - leadership cares about the people; Gary Smith sets the right tone. Great benefits, including unlimited vacation. Great people; probably the industry's best in Optical technology.

    Cons

    Resources are spread thin in most areas. IT is a hindrance, not an enabler. Pay is average.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to new ideas instead of doing things the same old way.

    Ciena2019-10-01

    Ciena Response

    October 9, 2019Ciena

    Thank you for writing a review, we read every comment and bring these comments forward to the leadership team. We appreciate your feedback.

  5. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Embedded Software Engineer in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you work hard throughout the year they are pretty flexible/generous when it comes to take time off

    Cons

    Project deadlines are super tight and there is alway a push to throw in extra hours

    Ciena2019-09-26

    Ciena Response

    October 9, 2019Ciena

    Thank you for your loyalty and commitment to Ciena!

  6. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am finishing my student internship with Ciena in Ottawa and I am honestly very sad to leave. This organization is full of wonderful people who truly care about the development of students. I am so impressed with the team atmosphere, culture and challenge that I have had. My manager is a great leader and I have had the chance to work closely with other teams including HR. I have felt welcome since the very first... day and have made some great friends along with way. Thank you to my manager and the recruiter for bringing me on board! I will be back!

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Ciena2019-08-14

    Ciena Response

    August 26, 2019Ciena

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Ciena hires hundreds of students every year, we are happy your experience has been fantastic! We hope to have you back!

  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer III in Otter, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary is fair. Work is interesting. Stable employment with few layoffs. Great team. Successful company, successful product and successful team

    Cons

    Outsourcing is increasing every year

    Ciena2019-08-13
  8. "Flexible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good & flexible hours, benefits, positions, facilities. Management cares that what people are doing is meaningful/worthwhile.

    Cons

    Reorganization can cause teams to be headless & without direction

    Advice to Management

    Communicate frequently with your team in order to maintain a consistent vision

    Ciena2019-08-08

    Ciena Response

    August 12, 2019Ciena

    Hi there, we sincerely thank you for a writing a review. We are a large, growing and global company and recognize that having flexible hours and benefits is important to our employees. We are working on our internal recognition system to help support teams and showcase our top team players.

    Show Less
  9. "Good stable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable company with steady growth. Very few layoffs.

    Cons

    Raises are consistent with inflation.

    Ciena2019-08-08

    Ciena Response

    August 12, 2019Ciena

    Hello, we take the time to look at all of our reviews and appreciate you taking the time to write one. Thank you for your commitment and loyalty to Ciena! We plan to have continued growth as we enter 2020.

  10. "Thrilled each day to work with and be surrounded by consummate professionals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Kanata, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very flexible work environment, as long as the work gets done to a level where we wow our customers. Good opportunities to evolve .

    Cons

    Long hours. Limited time for development.

    Ciena2019-07-28

    Ciena Response

    August 7, 2019Ciena

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We agree that depending on the time of year, it can be a very busy environment at Ciena as we always try and wow our customers and put their needs first. We appreciate your hard work and putting in the extra time.

Found 88 reviews