CIBC World Markets Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CIBC World Markets Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 133 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
CIBC World Markets CEO Richard W. Nesbitt
Richard W. Nesbitt
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Mediocre salary, work sometimes involves long hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Lack of Global Platform on anything, Work Life Balance lacking, Poor Culture in some departments(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Equity Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large bank with many (Canadian) opportunities

    Cons

    Less of a global presence compared to American Banks

    CIBC World Markets2019-04-15
  2. "Great experience. For an IB role, the company takes seriously employees work life balance (still IB though)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Banking Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good level of exposure to Canadian deals Good support from bank resources

    Cons

    Little exposure to US deals Hierarchical; could do a better job at developing talent

    CIBC World Markets2019-04-08
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    EA Pool is great to work with. My job description is clear. The people I work with are very professional. Lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Technology is outdated. Lots of red tape and tight corporate policies.

    Advice to Management

    Stress levels are apparent.

    CIBC World Markets2019-03-29
  4. "OK Career for long term, typical big company though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Midtown Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary and people are pretty nice. Stable job

    Cons

    Long hours Don't learn much A lot of older higher ranking employees that seem to be promoted based on just time with firm A lot of young people seem to be leaving for other banks which is problematic and makes me wonder what others offer. No real career growth, just title inflation as time progresses and salary raise over time.

    Advice to Management

    Improve work life balance Create more opportunities for young people Base salary and title more on contribution and work effort instead of time at the bank Promote more new ideas and innovation

    CIBC World Markets2019-01-26
  5. "Client Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers and social perks

    Cons

    Lack in training and management

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    CIBC World Markets2019-01-14
  6. "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Big five Canadian bank platform.

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility and recognition. Poor work life balance.

    CIBC World Markets2018-12-16
  7. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    depends on location-typically working as team

    Cons

    sell sell sell----even to the detriment of clients

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees

    CIBC World Markets2018-11-15
  8. "Business Systems Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Good location, opportunities, and co-workers

    Cons

    Micro-management was one of the negatives

    CIBC World Markets2018-10-26
  9. "20 Years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CIBC World Markets full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good office environment. Pay, benefits and stock options are excellent.

    Cons

    Lots of corporate BS such as red tape.

    CIBC World Markets2018-09-06
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Benefits Stock plan Work hrs

    Cons

    Very difficult to move up

    CIBC World Markets2018-08-12
Found 133 reviews