CIBC World Markets Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CIBC World Markets Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
CIBC World Markets CEO Richard W. Nesbitt
Richard W. Nesbitt
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Mediocre salary, work sometimes involves long hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance has decreased as the bank tries to grow in the US without hiring additional people(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Equity Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large bank with many (Canadian) opportunities

    Cons

    Less of a global presence compared to American Banks

    CIBC World Markets2019-04-15
  2. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Investment Banking Analyst 

    I worked at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Good experience with lots of deal flow

    Cons

    Culture could be improved as it can affect work

    CIBC World Markets2019-12-10
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equity Trader 

    I worked at CIBC World Markets part-time

    Pros

    Lots of good teamwork and mentorship

    Cons

    Mornings are really early, start at 6:15am

    CIBC World Markets2019-09-18
  4. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Comp, Exit Opps, Great exposure

    Cons

    Politics are intense, non-collaborative environment

    CIBC World Markets2019-09-07
  5. "Great people good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Regulator Supervision in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Great people, looking to take care of their clients

    Cons

    Culture has weakened over the last few years, however, focus of strong leadership is steering it in the right direction

    CIBC World Markets2019-08-19
  6. "Great experience. For an IB role, the company takes seriously employees work life balance (still IB though)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Banking Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good level of exposure to Canadian deals Good support from bank resources

    Cons

    Little exposure to US deals Hierarchical; could do a better job at developing talent

    CIBC World Markets2019-04-08
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    EA Pool is great to work with. My job description is clear. The people I work with are very professional. Lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Technology is outdated. Lots of red tape and tight corporate policies.

    Advice to Management

    Stress levels are apparent.

    CIBC World Markets2019-03-29
  8. "OK Career for long term, typical big company though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Midtown Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary and people are pretty nice. Stable job

    Cons

    Long hours Don't learn much A lot of older higher ranking employees that seem to be promoted based on just time with firm A lot of young people seem to be leaving for other banks which is problematic and makes me wonder what others offer. No real career growth, just title inflation as time progresses and salary raise over time.

    Advice to Management

    Improve work life balance Create more opportunities for young people Base salary and title more on contribution and work effort instead of time at the bank Promote more new ideas and innovation

    CIBC World Markets2019-01-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Client Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers and social perks

    Cons

    Lack in training and management

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    CIBC World Markets2019-01-14
  10. "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CIBC World Markets full-time

    Pros

    Big five Canadian bank platform.

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility and recognition. Poor work life balance.

    CIBC World Markets2018-12-16
Found 138 reviews