Broadcom Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Broadcom President & CEO Hock E. Tan
Hock E. Tan
309 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Engineer in Test (Coop)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broadcom full-time

    Pros

    Good learning experience and opportunity

    Cons

    high workload for coop student

    Broadcom2019-03-08
  2. "overall above average"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Systems Design Engineer in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good pat, decent projects quality work

    Cons

    more like a financial holdings company than a technology company

    Broadcom2020-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The worst company I ever worked for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time

    Pros

    The pay is not bad. Stock bonus is fine. If all you care about is salary and are a workaholic (not judging), then this might be a good place for you.

    Cons

    Zero culture, work-life balance. The only thing they understand is money, they like to dangle the carrot of high salary as if that's all you need to have happy and effective employees. Going to the office is mandatory though we are in lockdown and we are just as productive (or more so) working at home. The alternative is to take unpaid leave. It cannot be clearer that the company does not care about you.

    Continue reading
    Broadcom2020-05-04
  4. "Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer Co-Op in Richmond, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broadcom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and Good pay

    Cons

    No supervision, too challenging, no company social life

    Broadcom2020-03-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Look forward to compensation and nothing else"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Richmond, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The compensation (especially with bonus and RSUs) was better than most companies in the region. Also due to the office movie to Richmond (which most people hated) they offered 1 to 2 days working from home and a few snacks around the office. Due to lack of morale, some good team events were organized.

    Cons

    After CA technologies acquisition into Broadcom, things were just a nightmare. Higher management had no clue and kept changing their positions. Local Management was slowly cut down with no transition or sense. Teams shrunk naturally and were never back-filled but the same outcome was expected. The morale in the company was extremely low and nearly everyone was staying there for one and only one reason .. the compensation. It was very rare to find anyone who looked forward to working there for any other reason except working with their co-workers. The business only cares about numbers i.e. meeting a certain revenue to employee strength .. the rest does not matter .. employees are just a number in the planning spreadsheets. Processes were a mess and never cleaned up. The company claims to be agile but really it has a lot of waterfall like thinking and mentality.

    Continue reading
    Broadcom2019-12-06
  6. "Don’t do it! Read on..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros are gone since Broadcom acquired CA Technologies and moved them from down town Vancouver to Richmond. The high performing talent has left, for very good reasons.

    Cons

    The Vancouver office was previously an API Management product awaited by CA technologies, which was subsequently acquired by Broadcom. Valued benefits were eliminated and talented staff were let go or quit. The office was moved to the suburbs.

    Continue reading
    Broadcom2019-12-20
  7. "from acquisition"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you will learn a lot of new technologies and during meetings the food choices are awesome

    Cons

    priorities keep on changing

    Broadcom2019-04-10
  8. "Maintenance of old code that was good at one time."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in West Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was good in terms of compensation but boring work.

    Cons

    Nothing new going on other than maintenance.

    Continue reading
    Broadcom2019-03-26
  9. "Work and life"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcom full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great job growth opportunities and great compensation

    Cons

    Cost Cut to the bone, very few team building activities

    Broadcom2019-02-07
  10. "Support Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - B C in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good product, good working conditions

    Cons

    Recently came over from CA and future is uncertain

    Broadcom2019-01-10
Found 2307 reviews