Box Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 690 of over 731 reviews

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Box Co-founder and CEO Aaron Levie
Aaron Levie
523 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, really good work-life balance(in 51 reviews)

  • "Excellent work/life balance (most teams)(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No 401k match (which has been a pain point for many years, and leadership continues to glaze over this despite massive demand from employees)(in 40 reviews)

  • "There is no 401k match and honestly Box can do better with making an initiative to do that(in 30 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      I feel old at this company, yet can't seem to leave.

      Apr 22, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's all about the people, people, people. Every team I've been on at Box for the past 7 years has been filled with supportive, intelligent, humorous, down-to-earth folks, and I can't stress how big of a positive impact that has made for me in my day-to-day. The work is constantly challenging -- with the support system from my colleagues and manager I'm able to grow and take on harder assignments knowing they'll have my back if I run into roadblocks. I also feel like my manager does a great job advocating for me and creating a safe space for me to voice my concerns if anything comes up. Lastly, the cafeteria fries (pre-covid obviously) is some of the best I've ever had.

      Cons

      Transitioning to a more mature company, Box is still battling through EOL'ing some legacy tools and products. Migrating off of these old systems takes time and we don't always have the resources to do it while continuing to successfully run the business. There certainly have been moments of frustration in asking for these resources and seeing our tech debt only growing - it wasn't until recently that this has changed for the better and we've been able to get some new hires to help us through it.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Feb 24, 2021 - Systems Administrator in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and team work

      Cons

      Could have a lot of workload

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      An Organization that Needs to Grow Up

      Aug 18, 2021 - Sales, Account Executive in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and friendly environment. HQ in Redwood City seems to have a good atmosphere

      Cons

      Organization needs to get more mature. The product line is very narrow. The company should know its target market, SMB, not Enterprise. If you don't work at HQ, depending on which country, it can be a very small office. Because of that, it can be very high-school like. If you don't like drama, please stay away.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company - Navigating Competitive Headwinds

      May 4, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Culture, Brand and Technology

      Cons

      The strategy seems to change frequently

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Very welcoming company. Great dynamics and plenty of room for growth with endless possibilities.

      Nov 27, 2020 - Senior Billing Specialist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Flexible Hours -Ability to work remotely -Awesome perks (3,000 RSU stocks), full health coverage, ESPP program, phone/gym allowances. If you are in the office, free lunches and endless snacks/drinks. -Friendly people, very welcoming and makes you feel like part of the team -Encourages growth to move up the ladder in your role (or other roles)

      Cons

      Cant think of any cons, Box is great

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great technology, management and leadership a mess

      Jul 24, 2019 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun environment, great technology, competitive salaries.

      Cons

      Clearly senior management cares only about showing a growth number to the street. Very millennial environment where insides sales staff and IT support are scared to have a phone conversation. Company sales strategy is to throw reps at markets that haven't been hitting their number and just hope to win some deals.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Startup for Quantum Technology

      Apr 11, 2019 - Lead Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inspiring team, flexibility In terms of location and schedule, working with cutting-edge technology

      Cons

      Research period is too long

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Beware of the Hype

      Nov 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good product CEO and CFO are nice guys

      Cons

      Poor leadership culture Lack of high quality/mature sales professionals Lack of strategic direction and cross-geo support

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Box

      Apr 4, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture , Great product - visionary leadership , and a great customer base. Passionate about people and being the best. A lot of fun to work there.

      Cons

      Some growing pains as they transition to a larger publicly traded company , lack of processes and sales support. Understanding of international markets and constraints of participating in them - is a challenge

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place I've ever worked

      Sep 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product, great leadership team, great vision, great culture

      Cons

      five words needed for this space

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 690 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Box Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Box? Share Your Experiences

    Box logo
    or