Cover image for Basis Technologies
Logo
See All Photos

Basis Technologies

Engaged Employer

Basis Technologies

Add a Review

Basis Technologies Reviews

Updated Jan. 31, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 357 of over 374 reviews
4.2
89% Recommend to a Friend
Basis Technologies Founder & CEO Shawn Riegsecker
98% Approve of CEO

Found 352 of over 374 reviews

4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Basis Technologies Founder & CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
260 Ratings
Pros
  • "I never thought I would ever find a place where I could work on cool problems AND have a great work life balance until I came to Centro(in 31 reviews)

  • "Centro has a great benefits package(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No overtime if you work long hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance is non-existent for ad-ops(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    560

    77 Comments

    Tech

    629.1K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Basis Technologies~301536
    Join the conversation on

    Got a burning question about Basis Technologies? Just ask!

    On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Basis Technologies employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

    What's Fishbowl
    Ask a Question

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Basis Technologies and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent culture!!

      Nov. 30, 2022 - Senior Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are nice! Very collaborative and helpful! Leadership is great in terms of supporting teams and success of people within each org!

      Cons

      Slow process.we can do better at shipping faster!'

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Caveat Emptor

      Jan. 8, 2023 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Like most places, there are some good intentions to promote a meaningful company culture and earnestly serve customer needs. There are some good groups and individuals that take Basis values personally and make working here pleasant. It varies across groups, but work hours and expectations are generally pretty flexible...maybe too flexible.

      Cons

      Too much emphasis focused on optics and image. In the end, the culture is somewhat like a high school popularity contest while the Basis Platform is antiquated and sloooooooow to improve. Verifiably, Basis Platform has been marketing itself as this unique omnichannel solution for years, but it's never been effectively able to do that. And it won't be able to for years to come if ever. Employees and clients know that Basis Platform is used mainly for the DSP programmatic channel and not much else. All Digital? One Platform? Not really. This is a reflection of what it's like to work here. They have this "great place to work" award, but as some of you may know, that award doesn't always paint an accurate picture. All that shows is that company has successful been able to get enough people to subjectively check the right boxes on surveys. Perhaps by offering so much flexibility and catering to certain interests, while neglecting more difficult organizational problems. All the drawbacks of working at most companies are here as well. I've seen good people get treated unfairly and undeserving people advance. People will throw you under the bus for personal gain or to hide their mistakes. Frail egos looking for yes-men, sycophants, favoritism, toxic personalities, gas lighting, coasting, etc, it's all here. Self improvement? Often enough, it's play the game and get friendly with the right people and you can do no wrong. Work ethic wins? Maybe sometimes, but not as a general rule. It's not that Basis is particularly bad, it's just that it's not that much better than other places as they claim. There's a lot of emphasis on getting employees to say that they like working here. Meanwhile, the persistent problems related to getting things done for improving the Basis Platform are left unaddressed. You can only get away with that for so long before the business, revenue and employee retention starts to suffer. Basis a great place to work? Overall, not really. It's kind of like Basis Platform. An effective omnichannel solution? No. Not really. It never has been.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. Join the Basis Technologies team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing place to work

      Oct. 11, 2022 - Platform Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life baLance Decent compensation. Positive attitude of management towards employees

      Cons

      Not enough fast paced None i ca0n remember about

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company!!

      Sep. 22, 2022 - IT Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working at Basis, its a great company

      Cons

      None at all. Just great

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for.

      Sep. 12, 2022 - Platform Operations Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility and culture. A lot of opportunities to grow and learn.

      Cons

      None that I've encountered so far. The company is definitely working hard on keeping its employees happy.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great People and Great Company

      Sep. 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly co-workers, reasonable hours, above average compensation, growth possibilities.

      Cons

      Sales and Product receive favorable treatment over other departments.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This organization is a hidden gem.

      Sep. 5, 2022 -  in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything has been great. Basis is actually a great place to work. Everyone is smart and really helpful, I see future growth opportunities here. +1 Flex Fridays!

      Cons

      None so far. Hope this outlook stays.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Basis.net - A great place to work

      Aug. 9, 2022 - Technical Product Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Company is really focused on employee retention and "boomerangs" (people who leave and come back to the company. Working here will make you feel valued. - The company does not pay lip service to diversity and inclusion, it is integral to everything we do. For example, groups like BasisOUT are run by grassroots LGBTQ+ members who define our own initiatives on a responsive basis, with the support, but not the oversight of HR or management. - The company fully supports hybrid office/remote work. We have an absolutely gorgeous office which I do make use of, but there is no pressure to work from the office, or even from a specific geographical location. This is worth more than gold to me.

      Cons

      I wasted time working for other companies. I should have applied here sooner.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Basis Technologies Response

      Thank you for your kind and meaningful review! It means so much to me and the leadership team to read about the value you feel as an employee working here, the dedication you see to our DEI efforts in the space, and the flexibility provided that gives you the autonomy you are looking for. If you do ever have any additional feedback, please know that my door is always open! Hiten (Chief Product Officer)

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work at

      Mar. 31, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work at

      Cons

      sometimes a bit slow paced

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Basis Technologies Response

      I love reading that you have enjoyed working at Basis Technologies for over 8 years! Thank you for your time and tenure with us and for sharing how the pace can fluctuate a bit. If you have any more feedback, I encourage you to reach out to tellusmore@basis.net. Michael (Chief Technology Officer)

    11. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      May 19, 2021 - Director in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      big org, progressive, cares about employees, strong culture and values,

      Cons

      big org, gotta shine to get noticed,... is that really a con!?

      3 people found this review helpful

      Basis Technologies Response

      Basis

      I appreciate your review! We know that we are one of the fastest-growing Ad Tech platforms for a reason – our people. Our strong culture is something we continue to evolve so that we can meet our people where they are. If you would like to share anything else, please email us at tellusmore@basis.net. Shawn Riegsecker (CEO and Founder)

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 352 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Basis Technologies Reviews FAQs

    Basis Technologies has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 374 reviews left anonymously by employees. 89% of employees would recommend working at Basis Technologies to a friend and 77% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Basis Technologies employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Basis Technologies. This rating has improved by 12% over the last 12 months.

    89% of Basis Technologies employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Basis Technologies 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Basis Technologies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Basis Technologies? Share Your Experiences

    Basis Technologies logo
    or

    Basis Technologies Careers

    Cover image for Basis Technologies

    We are good people who do great work and, every day, we aspire to be better people and do better work. We are a culture grounded by...More

    • Who We Are
    • What We Offer
    • Supportive Team
    • What We Built
    This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

    Reviews by Job Title

    Company Updates

    Logo

    Basis Technologies

    7 days ago

    Culture
    “Ad tech firm is No. 3 on Ad Age’s 2023 Best Places to Work list among companies with more than 200 employees. Basis is adjusting to changing workforce dynamics by holding in-person onboarding sessions to acclimate new hires to the corporate culture. During the pandemic’s peak, new employees all joined virtually—but that is changing, Barron said. The company expects to keep hiring in the coming year despite the foreboding economic winds that have rattled the ad industry. Basis is looking at expanding its product and engineering teams, Barron said. Basis has partnerships with Ginger for mental health services. It offers access to Headspace for mindfulness and Maven for new parents.” Read more in AdAge (subscription).
    Shared image - https://adage.com/article/best-places-work/best-places-work-2023-basis-technologies/2462781
    https://adage.com/article/best-places-work/best-places-work-2023-basis-technologies/2462781
    adage.com
    Logo

    Basis Technologies

    14 days ago

    Culture
    “Discussions on quiet quitting have been circulating around the internet for the past several months. The origins being sourced from TikTok over the summer, the popularized term refers to the philosophy of not quitting a job but instead committing to the minimum workload required.  Now business leaders including those in the advertising world are left to reflect on how much the trend is permeating their individual workforces. If the great resignation of the past year was any indication, it can be expected that the answer is, possibly a lot.” Read more from Basis Technologies’ Noor Naseer in SmartBrief.
    Shared image - How ad agencies can prevent quiet quitting - SmartBrief
    How ad agencies can prevent quiet quitting - SmartBrief
    corp.smartbrief.com
    See all

    Basis Technologies Photos

    + Add Photo
    Basis Technologies photo of: Escape room outing
    Basis Technologies photo of: Doing Habitat for Humanity
    Basis Technologies photo of: In-office meditation
    Basis Technologies photo of: Chicago teams work with Habitat for Humanity
    Basis Technologies photo of: Launching 'Basis,' our technology platform
    Basis Technologies photo of: 'Dress up like your CEO' day
    Basis Technologies photo of: HQ lounge
    See All Photos

    Basis Technologies Job Seekers Also Viewed

    NFL Logo
    NFL

    3.6

    583 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 374 Basis Technologies reviews submitted anonymously by Basis Technologies employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Basis Technologies is right for you.