Basis Technologies Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 297 of over 316 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Basis Technologies Founder & CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
233 Ratings
Pros
  • "I never thought I would ever find a place where I could work on cool problems AND have a great work life balance until I came to Centro(in 30 reviews)

  • "Centro has a great benefits package(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The bonus structure changed almost yearly, never to the benefit of anyone who wasn't upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Ramp-up on the product is a bit steep, but seems to be the nature of ad tech(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    682

    227 Comments

    Tech

    82.6K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Basis Technologies~301536
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      May 19, 2021 - Director in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      big org, progressive, cares about employees, strong culture and values,

      Cons

      big org, gotta shine to get noticed,... is that really a con!?

      2 people found this review helpful

      Basis Technologies Response

      Basis

      I appreciate your review! We know that we are one of the fastest-growing Ad Tech platforms for a reason – our people. Our strong culture is something we continue to evolve so that we can meet our people where they are. If you would like to share anything else, please email us at tellusmore@basis.net. Shawn Riegsecker (CEO and Founder)

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great!

      Oct 11, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and great leadership

      Cons

      Adtech is a very competitive landscape, it is hard to stand out.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Basis Technologies Response

      Centro

      Thanks you for getting in touch and sharing your thoughts. We think our people and leadership are pretty great too 😊 You’re so right about ad tech being a crowded space – it’s one of the many reasons we think Basis will change the industry – people are looking for a platform to simplify the way they work! If you’d like to share more, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not much career growth

      Jul 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People Snacks 4 percent RRSP matching General benefits Challenging work

      Cons

      Not too much room to grow. No clear expectation on how to move up.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Basis Technologies Response

      Centro

      We appreciate you getting in touch and providing your feedback! It’s great to see your list of pros and we’re so happy you’ve chosen to call Centro your professional home for the past 3+ years. We want all employees to have a clear sense of their potential career growth, and feel that reviews around their performance are fair and consistent. It sounds like you’ve experienced this process to be less than optimal, and we’d love to hear more detail so we can address the situation. Please email us at tellusmore@centro.net – we look forward to hearing from you! -EVP, Talent and Development

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 25, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work-hours Remote-work friendly Unlimited vacations WeWork office spaces Friendly & Respectful work environment Extremely talented people

      Cons

      - - - - -

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bad

      May 27, 2019 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No significant pros for this comoany

      Cons

      Everything else sucks big time

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Basis Technologies Response

      Centro

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. - EVP, Talent and Development

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company/culture

      Feb 19, 2019 - Software Development Test Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone at the location I worked in (Toronto), was amazing. Great team, great atmosphere. My manager was also really invested in helping me improve and learn new things.

      Cons

      Nothing particularly jumps to min

      8 people found this review helpful

      Basis Technologies Response

      Centro

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We appreciate your kind words and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience in our Toronto office. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent & Development

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No Egos - Great work environment

      Jan 23, 2019 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People you work with: + People are willing to listen and take in your opinion (regardless of what level you/they are in) + People do not have huge egos (or at least they manageable) + People do good work (most of the time) Office: + New Toronto office is pretty cool, right at Union Station, part of WeWorks - so unlimited beers, and frequent events. Extra Stuff: + Above average pay (for Canada) + Standard benefits ( RRSP matching upto 4% of Salary, health, dental...) + Good work/life balance + Flexible work hours + Unlimited vacation

      Cons

      - Flexible work hours (sometime it gets hard to reach a decision when people are in the office at different times) In the previous years when the company was struggling some of the company goals were unrealistic, which caused us to not hit the bonus.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Frustrating Environment

      Oct 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Unlimited Vacation ... But it's to the discretion of your manager. Some people will get approved over and over again, and others will not. 2. Lots of great work to be done ... But not enough people who are actually capable of getting it done, which causes an imbalance of workload.

      Cons

      Management (including the exec team) plays favorites. This is not a new issue, and I've seen it on multiple teams since I started at Centro. Somehow, it is never addressed and it continues to happen. If you are friends with the boss, you will get ahead - whether it's getting that raise you wanted, getting all your days off approved, or getting away with doing little to no work (and somehow still getting rewarded). There are so many people who are overworked, overwhelmed and under recognized. Management has a poor understanding of what is required of their team, what their team actually works on, and what is needed, both in terms of staffing and resources to get things done without people crying at their desks. I've seen so many people get frustrated and leave the company, or remain and just become miserable. It has become such a toxic environment in so many ways, and if you try to speak up, you are silenced or disregarded, which pushes a lot of people to leave. When people feel like you don't appreciate them, they will look for appreciation elsewhere. So much talent has been lost because of this and of course, the people who stay are friends with the boss. There are large company callouts to say "we are so grateful for the work you do," which is wonderful, but it ends there. It does not change the manager relationships and certainly does not reduce any of the stress people feel. There is little to no attempt to value the people who work hard to help the team succeed.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Customer Success Specialist

      Sep 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great management and colleagues, unlimited vacation, room for groth

      Cons

      Pay is not the highest

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic Place to Work

      Aug 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing company culture Great working environment You feel on the forefront of Ad Tech

      Cons

      There is sometimes a large disconnect between departments

      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 297 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Basis Technologies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Basis Technologies? Share Your Experiences

    or