BNOTIONS Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
BNOTIONS Managing Partner Paul Crowe
Paul Crowe
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fast paced environment with great learning opportunities

    Jun 28, 2016 - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great organization focused on products. - The team here is comprised of talented people who care about building great experiences. - The culture here is exceptional, it's fast paced and transparent. - The clients bring a wide variety of problems to the table, you don't get bored. - Casual atmosphere, with great office space and benefits. - Freedom for anyone to suggest changes and improvements to process and delivery. - Leadership is honest and demanding.

    Cons

    - The fast paced environment means you have to burn the midnight oil from time to time. - Client problems are complex and requires a lot of dedication to solve them. - A fast growing company learning how to scale as a team.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rewarding environment, coworker/friend line very blurry

    Jun 15, 2014 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - An environment where everyone is playful and chill while also working really hard and trying to excel at their jobs - A place where people find common interests and very easily might choose to spend their Friday evenings bonding over them. - Very willing to provide lunch&learns, classes, etc... on engineering topics, new languages (like Mandarin), or other life improvement skills. - HR/Exec always has its year to the ground re: employee life. Company is always adjusting to make life easier, or to give employees things like more quiet space, standup desks, other perks. - Exec team is approachable, charming, and tries to set the tone of how hard-working and how casual we should be. - A group of diverse people! Older people, younger people, outgoing people, quieter people, not afraid of sticking out or people being cliquey/hostile.

    Cons

    - Office is open and gets noisy very easily. - Exec team encourages job flexibility and is not afraid to make mini-pivots when they feel it would best help the company, so don't feel too comfortable in your org structure and be interested in occasional changes to the kinds of things you work on. - Internal policies aren't always formalized and change somewhat often; keep checking the Intranet, but also don't be afraid to ask HR about how something internal should be done. - Dev Ops team is a bit overloaded at the moment, and the nature of the business involves juggling many projects.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to work, tough to advance

    May 12, 2015 - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you manage to get hired, you'll be working with smart people who have high standards. It's a really fun workplace with dedicated people and you'll likely learn a lot. As an engineer I got my fair share of cool projects, and certainly would recommend working here if you think you have what it takes. The culture is top notch and among the best in Toronto, you'll enjoy working here without a doubt. Management is competent and doesn't get in your way. I haven't had a bad encounter with anybody and overall they do a good job. In short, I believe this is an ideal workplace for intermediate to early senior level engineers.

    Cons

    Like most other places I've worked, most of the perceived problems lie in management, though in this case it's not your usual problems. Management has it's fair share of nepotism, and due to this it can be very difficult to move up in the company. There also seems to be a fair bit of instability in terms of employment, though if you prove yourself to be useful you probably don't need to worry. However if you stop being useful you can and will be removed. The founders seem to be preoccupied with their second start-up, Gallop Labs, so I don't know how much they truly care about BNOTIONS at this point. Despite these things BNOTIONS is still a great place to work. Unless you're looking for very long term employment, this company is still a strong contender.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    What a workplace should feel like, what co workers should be like.

    Oct 1, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This job never sits at a stand still. Constant motion towards improvement and progress makes for a great place of work. In the last year I've seen some great initiatives for employee health and happiness implemented. Things such as an open vacation policy, hot lunches, stand up desks, extended health benefits have all increased job satisfaction and work life balance. Its an enjoyable place to work, not only for the day to day functions, but also for the company culture events and outings like baseball games, summer patio parties, halloween celebrations, dragon boating, and company workation. There are so many great things about this job that make working here seem like the opposite of work. However we do work hard to make it all happen and to keep the wheels turning. The work is exciting and the team of people working together on projects works with great drive, communication and camaraderie. It's an environment that is fast paced, motivated and innovative in its approach. Opportunities for growth are also highly encouraged and supported. It's a team invested in their work, reciprocating the energy back into the business that takes care of them so well. This team is a family, that anyone would be lucky to be a part of.

    Cons

    If I would choose something to improve on, I'd suggest the benefits package to be entirely covered by the employer.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An inspiring, collaborative, and educational environment!

    Sep 10, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is the first time in my career (since my first job in the industry) that I've woken up every morning excited to come into work. My creativity is challenged every day as I strive to create the best products I can. I often get to explore new & emerging technologies as we seem to get our hands on them first in this office! My coworkers care about one another and I not only consider them colleagues, but friends. We all want each other to do the best and be the best we can be. Beer-o-clock on Friday is usually a party where friends and family are always welcome. There are always classes at the YMC to help me up my game. I always have a couple things on the go, so I can change things up when I need a break from a project.

    Cons

    You have to listen to Rebecca Black for a couple minutes when Beer-o-clock hits, and you begin to like it. It takes a couple days to get comfortable joining in on the company-wide clapping. Work hours may be a little longer than the typical 9-5, but in my case I don't care as I simply love being here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Raised bar for yourself.

    Oct 11, 2013 - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Being constantly challenged by leadership and team members to deliver with speed and quality you never thought possible of yourself - A fun, supportive family of diverse co-workers - An open, safe space to explore your creative thoughts and ideas, possibly leading to new products or features - Every voice is heard. Every voice matters. - General willingness to accept comments and criticisms with each others work with the hopes of improving the end products - Mutual respect throughout the office - Laugh every day.

    Cons

    - Work can come at any time of the day/night. If you are a dedicated 9-5 person, this isn't your place! - Structure is semi-undefined. If you are looking to climb a career ladder role-wise, this probably isn't for you. That being said, there are plenty of different roles and responsibilities to grow into. - Health benefits seem more like an after-thought than a necessary function of compensation

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Always Growing

    Mar 29, 2016 - Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Extremely talented & fun people all around - Very interesting projects - Kickass process and efficient workflows - Full and well managed pipeline (didn't use to be the case, but a lot has changed for the better) - Strong leadership team (another change for the better from the past) - Vast growth opportunity for skills (just need to speak up to be heard) - Great perks with free Wed lunch, bfast etc. - Fun environment with video games, ping pong etc. - Work life balance is good (another significant change from the past). Obviously if you slack during the day, you might need to finish stuff at night... so don't slack!

    Cons

    - Unique culture where individuals who are self starts / motivators seem to be a better fit. No one here will map out a path for you, you need to map it out yourself and the company will help guide you get there. Maybe this is also a pro for the company? - Role title / 'promotions' are not given out frequently due to flat structure. Personally, this doesn't really matter to me because the skills growth potential greatly outweighs title changes for me. - No pension

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    For those who are driven succeed

    Jun 11, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    An amazing environment where you get to work with the best in their field. Very friendly people who will bend over backwards to help you get what you need done. It's also an unstructured environment that lets people work how they work. The largest pro is upward mobility. If you are driven and focused you can ascend here faster than any other place in the industry and work on some of the most challenging projects.

    Cons

    It's not for everyone. The culture is very results driven and the focus is on creating the best work you can. If this isn't your focus then the associated stress will kill you. If you're looking for a place where you can show up do good work and leave then this is not it. The entire focus is on being great and doing amazing things which, at times, can be incredibly stressful. However, this is the price you pay to be the best.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hanging out everyday with the smartest, coolest people in the city.

    Sep 10, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Besides the title, BNOTIONS is an incredibly energetic place that is never short of inspiring opportunities to build the most interesting and innovative products. Company vacations, hackathons, after work classes, prerelease technologies, toys, beer o'clock, a daily 3PM company wide stretch break, I could go on..

    Cons

    The place is pretty much what you make of it. Cons will be a function of you personally. This is possible because the place is really dynamic, which may be a con for some. They have all the video game consoles and an arcade machine running MAME. This is dangerous for gamers. I get so much practice clapping all the time that I by far out-clap all my friends by at least one order of magnitude.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Can't believe we are always working to invent the next big thing, it's as exciting as it sounds

    Sep 10, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Always working on forward thinking projects 2. Lots of ancillary things going on; meetups, sports (basketball, dragon boating), teaching opportunities and hackathons. 3. Everyone on can hold there own -- you have faith that each member of the team is producing quality. 4. Full breakfast available every morning 4. Lots of toys such as the Oculus Rift, Leap Motion etc...

    Cons

    1. Kinda hard to get work done after 4pm on Friday (drinking starts) 2. When building innovative stuff sometimes experiments don't work out -- that's the nature of the lean method, and you have to have thick skin.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

Popular Careers with BNOTIONS Job Seekers

Software Engineer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BNOTIONS? Share Your Experiences

BNOTIONS logo
or