Audible Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Audible Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Audible Chairman and CEO Donald R. Katz
Donald R. Katz
212 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch, limitless growth and development, employees really feel a sense of community and purpose(in 73 reviews)

  • "Well paid, backed by Amazon, great benefits (commuter, free food)(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior Management has no idea how to effectively run an organization or manage employees(in 16 reviews)

  • "oncall, holidays, work life balance sometimes(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDE-II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    tech, work life, salary, food

    Cons

    oncall, holidays, work life balance sometimes

    Continue reading
    Audible2020-02-19
  2. "Good products to work on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 

    I have been working at Audible full-time

    Pros

    Good product to work on

    Cons

    Needs improvement on the leadership level

    Audible2020-02-13
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Audible lives by their People Principles. It's not lip service.

    Cons

    No place is perfect. With that being said, there are people here who truly care about making this a great company to work for.

    Audible2020-02-11
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee Engagement Manager in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Audible full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, limitless growth and development, employees really feel a sense of community and purpose

    Cons

    The manager you have can make or break your experience

    Audible2020-02-04

    Audible Response

    February 7, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write an alumni review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our culture and opportunities for career growth. We’re glad to hear you were inspired by your work and our community inside Audible.

    Continue reading
  5. "SDEI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDE1 in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really wonderful interview experience! They get back to me very quickly.

    Cons

    Do not have a large campus

    Audible2019-12-24

    Audible Response

    February 7, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback! It’s important to us that Audible has a welcoming atmosphere for our candidates and employees. It’s great to hear that you feel it. We wouldn’t be able to have a positive culture without people like you. Thank you for helping make Audible a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ever changing, ever challenging and a chance to work with a product that impacts people’s lives."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazingly “nice” people, embracing culture and a company with a genuine mission. The Cathedral is a special place to “innovate” and collaborate with colleagues.

    Cons

    Often changing priorities, small company has impact on career opportunities but the company is working on a framework to help employees think about careers in new ways (expand, broaden, lead etc).

    Audible2019-12-12

    Audible Response

    February 7, 2020HR Director

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience working at Audible! We’re proud of the passionate, driven professionals who embody our People Principles and we are so glad to know you’re inspired by our mission! We’ve created tools and resources to help employees map out a fulfilling and successful career at Audible with our ‘Your Career Journey’ program. This program empowers and encourages employees to explore internal mobility and career growth opportunities. We invite you to connect with your HRBP or manager for further conversation.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Not a place for career growth ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great product, always looking for ways the company can expand, free lunch

    Cons

    Wow. politics, so much politics. Career advancement is not a thing, unless you are part of the click. There is a clear "unconscious" bias in terms of hiring, promotion and career advancement, and frankly the executive leadership is ok with it, because they are oblivious to the games their own leadership plays. Hard work clearly does not pay, all you have to do is be a "favorite" of your manager.

    Continue reading
    Audible2019-12-19

    Audible Response

    February 7, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. Our team works hard to create a productive and inclusive environment, so we’re disappointed to hear you've had a different experience. We believe that communication is critical to creating real, positive change. We invite you to connect with your HRBP or your manager for further conversation. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Glassdoor.

    Continue reading
  8. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Free food - Amazing culture - Great pay & benefits - Interesting projects - Did I mention amazing culture? - Did I mention pay & benefits?

    Cons

    Can't think of any for now.

    Audible2019-11-12

    Audible Response

    November 15, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It’s great to hear you’ve been enjoying the many benefits that come with working at Audible. You’re part of a team of brilliant innovators and it’s only fair to offer some nice perks to help keep your creative juices flowing. We wouldn’t be able to have a positive culture without people like you. Thank you for helping make Audible a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Almost everyone loves the product. It is great to work for a company with a recognizable name, and where there is positive customer sentiment. The People Principles are very real, and meaningful. Audible's commitment to Activate Caring really sets it apart from other companies. You can be your authentic self at work. Perks and benefits are great, really unusual as compared to other companies. Compensation is good, heavy on Amazon RSU's. They really do a lot to differentiate the employee experience and work environment. Flexible work environment is a big plus. There is new focus on career development, which is great.

    Cons

    Need to be more transparent about decisions and decision-making. Schizophrenic about being part of Amazon or not part of Amazon. The culture is very different, though. Work is not distributed evenly, so some teams are overworked, and others are not.

    Continue reading
    Audible2019-10-28

    Audible Response

    November 1, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We’re proud of the passionate, driven professionals who embody our People Principles and we are so glad to know you’re inspired by our mission! We believe that communication is critical to creating real, positive change. I invite you to reach out to your HRBP or manager to discuss your concerns. We’ll continue to listen and live up to our values. Thank you for your dedication and for helping make Audible a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  10. "Working Student Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Audible part-time

    Pros

    - flat hierarchies - nice and competent colleagues - interesting working environment

    Cons

    Nothing really bad to say

    Audible2019-11-08

    Audible Response

    February 7, 2020HR Director

    Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your experience working at Audible. We value your feedback.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 294 reviews