Audible Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 366 of over 482 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Audible Chairman and CEO Donald R. Katz
Donald R. Katz
259 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing coworkers, free lunch on Fridays, wonderful office to work in(in 77 reviews)

  • "benefits, free food, company culture(in 51 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior Management has no idea how to effectively run an organization or manage employees(in 17 reviews)

  • "oncall, holidays, work life balance sometimes(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great people and great product

      Aug 4, 2020 - Senior Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and team I work on are a huge plus - a combination of thoughtful, energetic, and wanting to make a difference/have an impact. There is a wonderful sense of camaraderie and care that comes up in the small day to day interactions as well as in larger moments. That the company has an aspiration to be more than what it does - there is a missionary aspect that is expected of everyone. There is also an aspiration to be a progressive and inclusive workplace that is not just lip service. While there is work to be done, work is happening.

      Cons

      There have been a lot of changes during my short tenure - whether that be small organizational ones or larger ones. It can be fatiguing to keep up with the changes and to see the bigger picture. That said, recent leadership changes at the top coupled with the implementation of focused goals for the organization show great promise to addressing the amount of change that has been commonplace for quite awhile. A meeting heavy culture without meeting management rigor, but this is true of many organizations.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Audible Response

      HR Director

      Thank you for your feedback! We’re proud of the passionate, driven professionals who embody our People Principles and we are so glad to know you’re inspired by our mission! We want to make sure that all the great work you contribute every day isn’t interrupted by the exciting growth/changes taking place. Our aim is to innovate for the future on behalf of our customers. Thank you for helping make that happen.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Cared for during Covid

      Jun 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Audible has done a magnificent job managing its employees during Covid. The thoughtful and regular communications helped all employees manage through an unprecedented period. My colleagues and i appreciated the attention to our physical and mental health - resources were regularly provided. As a manager, i attended Together Tuesdays to get tips on how to best manage our team. As we get ready to begin to reengage with the workplace, today Audible announced its Hub+Home strategy which gives great flexibility to employees to determine how many days they will return a week. in 2020, we were given an additional 5 days vacation and were able to roll-over more and this year, I like the Wellness days that force you to take them in the month they are given. Hats off to the People and Places team that managed through this crisis.

      Cons

      We missed our free food while home- would would have appreciated not having to make lunch during a workday.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Going downhill

      Jul 6, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazon RSU Have a medium sized company feel

      Cons

      Chaotic big room planning meetings achieves nothing but confirmation bias Mid-higher management has no coherent strategy of growth The audiobook industry and audio industry at large has low barrier of entry. The golden days of fueling the growth via Amazon traffic is gone Very high staff overhead. The HR has no idea how to retain talent. Most people just get the stocks and leave. Career growth opportunity is very limited. And the tech is roughly 2-3 years behind. 1.5 years into the job you will find out you have nothing to learn , no interesting problem to solve and no way to go except Amazon Managed to lose lots of user as a digital content company during covid Chaotic management with large Corp bureaucracy Product owner and product manager kiss each other more than negotiate. Most of the managers are so new (3 year older managers mostly left) they can’t really own the product, leaving product manager to ask for half-baked features without taking part in the scrum or owning anything of the delivery pipeline. Then there is technical product manager whose responsibilities are very lofty. The whole system is quite unique and strange at least People don’t like to stay more than 3 years, including the HR

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pros

      Your direct co-workers will help you grow professionally as you work together on challenging projects Despite the heavy weight of RSUs into compensation, base salary is still close to market rate. Company makes a great effort to check in on the status of your work/life balance.

      Cons

      Senior management is disorganized. New hires seem to be completely untrained and thrown into projects with a “learn as you go” mindset. Frequently there’s little time to work on creative projects while balancing your day-to-day role. Downstream teams are constantly putting out fires because operation processes are extremely outdated. There’s no urgent initiatives to build operational excellence. There is a greater emphasis by leadership to build the customer facing product than there is to get your hands dirty under the hood.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No complaints

      Jul 16, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Lots of vacation, PTO, sick time Supportive team & leads

      Cons

      None specific just wish new hires could experience the culture that everyone talks about at HQ

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome company

      Jul 14, 2021 - User Experience Researcher in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great leadership, teammates, and mission!

      Cons

      Can’t think of any cons at audible!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company with Opportunities just like any other

      Jul 15, 2021 - Customer Service in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Atmosphere, Learning opportunities, Education

      Cons

      Depending on your position; it can be challenging to express yourself.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to grow

      Jun 8, 2021 - Product Manager in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Audible has been incredibly supportive of my desire to learn and grow from day 1. Over the years, I've been encouraged to develop skills and expertise-- both at work and through courses outside of work-- beyond my immediate role and I've really appreciated that about my time at Audible.

      Cons

      Honestly, I've had a really positive experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great team, interesting industry

      Jul 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Transparent and candid communication from local leaders, broad scopes for most roles with accountability for ones own area, GREAT team spirtit, even when working from home.

      Cons

      Some decisions and developments are taking too long.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome job

      Jun 28, 2021 - Freelance Voice Actor in Bicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours Something I love Lots of diversity

      Cons

      You have to become a producer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 366 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Audible Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Audible? Share Your Experiences

    Audible logo
    or