Appen Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Appen Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Appen CEO Mark Brayan
Mark Brayan
269 Ratings
Pros
  • "Valuable/meaningful work from home, flexible hours, growth opportunities within the company as a contractor for, interesting projects(in 143 reviews)

  • " work from home (in 137 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, to many materials learn for(in 49 reviews)

  • "Too much headache for too little compensation and no benefits(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It was nice working with Appen and I want to give it a try to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Appen

    Pros

    Am working here because I think is the best for everyone

    Cons

    The location and work time

    Appen2020-03-28
  2. "voice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Voice Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Appen part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    convenience and free to work

    Cons

    none of them to complain

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-03-22
  3. "Unless you are very desparate yet patient for income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Easy tasks, usually takes less time than said for me.

    Cons

    To complicate simple things further, they now use this payment company called "Payoneer". Google it, it is definitely something. Their finance team would tell you a whole life story to your issues but never actually solve what your problems, and wait until some given deadlines so that your problems can no longer be solved. I suspect there might be some type of scam involved. In short - to solve a simple problem with complications.

    Continue reading
    Appen2019-04-15

    Appen Response

    May 3, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to write this. I have taken the time to read through your review and I"d like to learn about the issue you referenced with Payoneer. If you have a moment to send us a note with more detail, please email appenhelpdesk@appen.com..

    Continue reading
  4. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Helpful staff. Free coffee. Benefits. Dogs allowed.

    Cons

    Bad location. Crowded washroom. Always warm. Management is out of touch. Sticky floor. No beer.

    Continue reading
    Appen2018-02-28
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Appen part-time

    Pros

    Work from home is a benefit.

    Cons

    Not a very good job.

    Appen2017-07-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Part-time, easy enough, work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evauator in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work from home - Easy work

    Cons

    - Not enough work - Contract basis - Monotonous

    Appen2016-10-28
  7. Helpful (21)

    "Web Search Evaluator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen part-time

    Pros

    Very Interesting and easy work to at free time working from home

    Cons

    Difficult to pass Search Exam of 34 questions

    Continue reading
    Appen2014-12-14
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great part time work that has steadily contributed to my freelance career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No nonsense, clear expectations and tasks. The pros that come along with freelancing - hours and environment is up to you, and so on. Although I communicate with my team only over email I do feel connected, and over the year and a half that I've worked with my team I can see our progress.

    Cons

    I would like more hours. No benefits. If you have a hard time focusing yourself on the computer and managing your time you may face difficulty.

    Continue reading
    Appen2014-10-17

    Appen Response

    June 24, 2016Sr. Vice President, Human Resources and Crowdsourcing

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the hours and flexibility. Your feedback is helpful as we are constantly working to improve our processes.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Hard but satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Work at home, flexible hours, short period of work a day, good pay, excellent training material, great communication with the staff.

    Cons

    No job security, training on your own time (without pay), low tolerance for mistakes. Hard training and qualification process. Isolating work from home.

    Continue reading
    Appen2014-09-06

    Appen Response

    June 24, 2016Sr. Vice President, Human Resources and Crowdsourcing

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience with Appen. We are constantly working to improve our processes, and information like this is a big help to us.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Terrible Rating System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Consultant 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You work from home. Nothing else.

    Cons

    After hearing my friend talk about how good this kind of job is(he works for a competitor) I decided I wanted to try it out... I soon learned that this company will exploit you at any chance they can get. Their rating system doesn't even make sense and the rules change at the whims of a supervisor... yes that means you will constantly get the "wrong" answer even if the supervisor is clearly wrong. The appealing process is a joke, it's just for show. Everything is monitored, there are over 15 metrics, if you fail any of these you are given a warning..and forced to spend another 10 hours studying and doing exams for free. This is horrible system when you realise that you have so many different metrics that will land you in trouble which is on top of making "good judgements" that cost you because the supervisors rate horribly. Believe me, you will constantly stumble across erroneous ratings(but they don't care, they will simply blame you for it and ask more of your time). I'd stay away, there are companies with better rep out there.

    Appen2014-03-14
Found 764 reviews