Appen Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Appen Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 724 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Appen CEO Mark Brayan
Mark Brayan
218 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, not a full time income(in 33 reviews)

  • "No benefits or insurance included(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Helpful staff. Free coffee. Benefits. Dogs allowed.

    Cons

    Bad location. Crowded washroom. Always warm. Management is out of touch. Sticky floor. No beer.

    Advice to Management

    Let people wear what they want

    Appen2018-02-28
  2. "Unless you are very desparate yet patient for income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Easy tasks, usually takes less time than said for me.

    Cons

    To complicate simple things further, they now use this payment company called "Payoneer". Google it, it is definitely something. Their finance team would tell you a whole life story to your issues but never actually solve what your problems, and wait until some given deadlines so that your problems can no longer be solved. I suspect there might be some type of scam involved. In short - to solve a simple problem with complications.

    Advice to Management

    It is simply hard to work with incompetent staff who does not take the time to read your issue and just pick out words from it and reply. Take concerns a little more serious please.

    Appen2019-04-15

    Appen Response

    May 3, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to write this. I have taken the time to read through your review and I"d like to learn about the issue you referenced with Payoneer. If you have a moment to send us a note with more detail, please email appenhelpdesk@appen.com..

  3. Helpful (6)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Appen part-time

      Pros

      Work from home is a benefit.

      Cons

      Not a very good job.

      Appen2017-07-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Part-time, easy enough, work from home"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Web Search Evauator in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Work from home - Easy work

      Cons

      - Not enough work - Contract basis - Monotonous

      Appen2016-10-28
    • Helpful (20)

      "Web Search Evaluator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Appen part-time

      Pros

      Very Interesting and easy work to at free time working from home

      Cons

      Difficult to pass Search Exam of 34 questions

      Advice to Management

      Put answers to 34 questions on Search

      Appen2014-12-14
    • Helpful (5)

      "Great part time work that has steadily contributed to my freelance career."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      No nonsense, clear expectations and tasks. The pros that come along with freelancing - hours and environment is up to you, and so on. Although I communicate with my team only over email I do feel connected, and over the year and a half that I've worked with my team I can see our progress.

      Cons

      I would like more hours. No benefits. If you have a hard time focusing yourself on the computer and managing your time you may face difficulty.

      Advice to Management

      Perhaps make it more clear where an individual fits in to the business as a whole.

      Appen2014-10-17

      Appen Response

      June 24, 2016Sr. Vice President, Human Resources and Crowdsourcing

      Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the hours and flexibility. Your feedback is helpful as we are constantly working to improve our processes.

    • Helpful (9)

      "Hard but satisfying"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Appen

        Pros

        Work at home, flexible hours, short period of work a day, good pay, excellent training material, great communication with the staff.

        Cons

        No job security, training on your own time (without pay), low tolerance for mistakes. Hard training and qualification process. Isolating work from home.

        Advice to Management

        Don't be to hard on newbies. The learning curve is longer than you think.

        Appen2014-09-06

        Appen Response

        June 24, 2016Sr. Vice President, Human Resources and Crowdsourcing

        Thank you for providing feedback on your experience with Appen. We are constantly working to improve our processes, and information like this is a big help to us.

      • Helpful (16)

        "Terrible Rating System"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Independent Consultant 
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        -You work from home. Nothing else.

        Cons

        After hearing my friend talk about how good this kind of job is(he works for a competitor) I decided I wanted to try it out... I soon learned that this company will exploit you at any chance they can get. Their rating system doesn't even make sense and the rules change at the whims of a supervisor... yes that means you will constantly get the "wrong" answer even if the supervisor is clearly wrong. The appealing process...

        Show More
        Appen2014-03-14
      • Helpful (7)

        "Do not Apply"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        - a lot of resources - there is help if you need it

        Cons

        - i am hoping to get paid 1.5 months AFTER my work, never seen the my paycheck yet - constant monitoring and auditing of your work - very subjective metrics they use to evaluate your work - you get a stipend for doing the tests on the conditions of you passing and starting production, you probably make less than minimum wage for this - realistically have to spend 6 hours to get 4 hours of paid work, since the hours...

        Show More
        Appen2013-06-01
      • Helpful (2)

        "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Data Transcriber in Colo, KY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Work from home no time schedule

        Cons

        Low pay. No work for months, payment provider payoneer cut down 3$ which we earns so no money on account

        Advice to Management

        Please change payment provider very unfair when earns very low prom project payoneer cut down $3per payment received

        Appen2019-06-17
      Found 724 reviews