Appen Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Appen Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1546 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Appen CEO Mark Brayan
Mark Brayan
450 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, not a full time income(in 35 reviews)

  • "No benefits or insurance included(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "social media evaluator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours. you make more money with more projects

    Cons

    You can't put all your hope on appen. you need to save. project may end anytime but you can be working on other projects but if you dont have any other project after the end of a project. that means nothing for you again. until there is work again for which you may apply for.

    Appen2019-06-25
  2. "Good Part Time Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Voice Data Collector 

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Hours Flexibility with the different tasks

    Cons

    Inconsistent frequency of assigned projects.

    Appen2019-05-15
  3. "Independent Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Appen

    Pros

    Telecommuting job that provides IT training for search engine evaluation. Pay is worth the work.

    Cons

    Not much growth opportunities, or any increase in pay rate usually over the years I worked with them when it was LeapForce prior to acquisition by Appen.

    Appen2019-05-04
  4. "Unless you are very desparate yet patient for income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Easy tasks, usually takes less time than said for me.

    Cons

    To complicate simple things further, they now use this payment company called "Payoneer". Google it, it is definitely something. Their finance team would tell you a whole life story to your issues but never actually solve what your problems, and wait until some given deadlines so that your problems can no longer be solved. I suspect there might be some type of scam involved. In short - to solve a simple problem with complications.

    Advice to Management

    It is simply hard to work with incompetent staff who does not take the time to read your issue and just pick out words from it and reply. Take concerns a little more serious please.

    Appen2019-04-15

    Appen Response

    May 3, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to write this. I have taken the time to read through your review and I"d like to learn about the issue you referenced with Payoneer. If you have a moment to send us a note with more detail, please email appenhelpdesk@appen.com..

  5. "Smart people won't work for crowdsourcing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appen

    Pros

    Great concept and work from home.

    Cons

    Well. It sounds great initially able to stay at home and work on my own schedule, but it was almost like a scam. I have a Master's degree and was a part-time student. - inflexible and energy demanding tasks: They don't always have work available, so basically you have to sit in front of your PC refreshing their website. Even when there are tasks, usually it requires you to pay full attention like having an exam....

    Show More
    Appen2019-03-31
  6. "Online map analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    work from home and extra cash

    Cons

    low pay. long hours. No good documentation and training. Low tolerance for mistakes. Long hours spent to figure out non sense info due to poor docs and not billed. Always complain about productivity and quality of work. No motivation or real coaching. Desperate for workers and demanding at the same time.

    Advice to Management

    Change your processes so that you can maintain your workforce and fulfill your customers promises and deadlines for the projects. You keep on cutting people that took lots of time to get trained and started to understand the work due to non sense small mistakes blamed on your bad docs and training.

    Appen2018-07-20
  7. "Crowdsourcing/Voice Evaluation Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Work from Home, when you want, as little as you want, or as much as you want assuming there are tasks available. Voice Evaluation pays fairly.

    Cons

    Crowdsourcing pays slave labor wages. Each task pays pennies and you have to evaluate a page on 20+ variables so you're lucky if you can make $3/hour. I've totally lost respect for Appen, I can't believe they would think this is fair compensation. Voice Evaluation work is sparse. I've only worked on two evaluation jobs in the last year.

    Advice to Management

    Read a book on ethics and reevaluate your compensation for crowdsource workers. Or at the least tell them upfront that you'll be paying pennies before they waste their time qualifying and working.

    Appen2018-05-01
  8. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Helpful staff. Free coffee. Benefits. Dogs allowed.

    Cons

    Bad location. Crowded washroom. Always warm. Management is out of touch. Sticky floor. No beer.

    Advice to Management

    Let people wear what they want

    Appen2018-02-28
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Appen part-time

    Pros

    Work from home is a benefit.

    Cons

    Not a very good job.

    Appen2017-07-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Part-time, easy enough, work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evauator in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work from home - Easy work

    Cons

    - Not enough work - Contract basis - Monotonous

    Appen2016-10-28
Found 1546 reviews