Appen Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Appen Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Appen CEO Mark Brayan
Mark Brayan
249 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other jobs in the same industry- HR don't take this concern seriously(in 45 reviews)

  • "No benefits or insurance included(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Internet Assessor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internet Assessor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work from home - Flexible Hours

    Cons

    - Limitation to tasks available

    Appen2019-10-07
  2. "Unless you are very desparate yet patient for income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Easy tasks, usually takes less time than said for me.

    Cons

    To complicate simple things further, they now use this payment company called "Payoneer". Google it, it is definitely something. Their finance team would tell you a whole life story to your issues but never actually solve what your problems, and wait until some given deadlines so that your problems can no longer be solved. I suspect there might be some type of scam involved. In short - to solve a simple problem with... complications.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It is simply hard to work with incompetent staff who does not take the time to read your issue and just pick out words from it and reply. Take concerns a little more serious please.

    Appen2019-04-15
  3. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. Helpful staff. Free coffee. Benefits. Dogs allowed.

    Cons

    Bad location. Crowded washroom. Always warm. Management is out of touch. Sticky floor. No beer.

    Advice to Management

    Let people wear what they want

    Appen2018-02-28
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Appen part-time

    Pros

    Work from home is a benefit.

    Cons

    Not a very good job.

    Appen2017-07-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Part-time, easy enough, work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evauator in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work from home - Easy work

    Cons

    - Not enough work - Contract basis - Monotonous

    Appen2016-10-28
  6. Helpful (21)

    "Web Search Evaluator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen part-time

    Pros

    Very Interesting and easy work to at free time working from home

    Cons

    Difficult to pass Search Exam of 34 questions

    Advice to Management

    Put answers to 34 questions on Search

    Appen2014-12-14
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great part time work that has steadily contributed to my freelance career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No nonsense, clear expectations and tasks. The pros that come along with freelancing - hours and environment is up to you, and so on. Although I communicate with my team only over email I do feel connected, and over the year and a half that I've worked with my team I can see our progress.

    Cons

    I would like more hours. No benefits. If you have a hard time focusing yourself on the computer and managing your time you may face difficulty.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps make it more clear where an individual fits in to the business as a whole.

    Appen2014-10-17
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Hard but satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Work at home, flexible hours, short period of work a day, good pay, excellent training material, great communication with the staff.

    Cons

    No job security, training on your own time (without pay), low tolerance for mistakes. Hard training and qualification process. Isolating work from home.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be to hard on newbies. The learning curve is longer than you think.

    Appen2014-09-06
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Terrible Rating System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Consultant 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You work from home. Nothing else.

    Cons

    After hearing my friend talk about how good this kind of job is(he works for a competitor) I decided I wanted to try it out... I soon learned that this company will exploit you at any chance they can get. Their rating system doesn't even make sense and the rules change at the whims of a supervisor... yes that means you will constantly get the "wrong" answer even if the supervisor is clearly wrong. The appealing... process is a joke, it's just for show. Everything is monitored, there are over 15 metrics, if you fail any of these you are given a warning..and forced to spend another 10 hours studying and doing exams for free. This is horrible system when you realise that you have so many different metrics that will land you in trouble which is on top of making "good judgements" that cost you because the supervisors rate horribly. Believe me, you will constantly stumble across erroneous ratings(but they don't care, they will simply blame you for it and ask more of your time). I'd stay away, there are companies with better rep out there.

    Show More
    Appen2014-03-14
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Do not Apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - a lot of resources - there is help if you need it

    Cons

    - i am hoping to get paid 1.5 months AFTER my work, never seen the my paycheck yet - constant monitoring and auditing of your work - very subjective metrics they use to evaluate your work - you get a stipend for doing the tests on the conditions of you passing and starting production, you probably make less than minimum wage for this - realistically have to spend 6 hours to get 4 hours of paid work, since the... hours you get paid are while you are in production - it is essentially a internet sweatshop

    Show More
    Appen2013-06-01
Found 793 reviews