American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Express Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6781 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
597 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (109)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have fantastic pay for the position you're in, and they teach you interesting and engaging utility of modern technology mixed with legacy fundamentals. I've learned quite a bit while AmEx while getting paid more than fairly - I'd recommend a stretch here to whomever may be reading this!

    Cons

    The Company is huge, and at times it may take more than a little time to get recognized for your abilities and the growth you've had. There's a reason there is a "only way up is out" reputation exists for some enterprise companies...

    Advice to Management

    Do 6-month evaluations with serious consideration for interior promotions before out-side-in hiring. Then hire only at the bottom level (entry). Let tech. decide when/who to promote for tech. because business holds the wallet, but doesn't necessarily know what's best.

    American Express2018-11-26
  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Company with benefits and professional management

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say

    American Express2019-06-15
  3. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Looks great on a resume. Great colleagues

    Cons

    Low pay. Sometimes success is luck

    American Express2019-08-12
  4. "Senior manager - Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice work environment- diversity and equality is very valuable

    Cons

    Base salary could be better

    American Express2019-07-12
  5. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Travel perks, nice colleagues.

    Cons

    growth is limited within the department, shift work

    American Express2019-06-28
  6. "Amex provide its employees with amazing benefits, especially if you work as a travel agent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Travel Perks. It's a great step stone opportunity for new comers and fresh out of college.

    Cons

    Travel consultants are underpaid. Work life balace is not the best.

    American Express2019-06-09
  7. "Low salary and a lot of pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bilingual Travel & Lifestyle Consultant in Toronto, ON

    I worked at American Express part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits (normal Healthcare, & paid leave)

    Cons

    The shift including weekends was varied every month. We could ask a few day off request per month shift but should request to the managers 2 months before. An emergent shift change was not acceptable. There was no shift premiums for night and weekends. Some senior staff looked down on junior staff. Other than the benefit which was just the normal level, this position is not so attractive at all. That's why many...

    Show More
    American Express2019-06-05
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bilingual Customer Care 

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the culture. Everyone is nice and willing to help.

    Cons

    Nothing big to mention: must improve system (too much shutdowns)

    American Express2019-05-20
  9. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, culture, benefits, development.

    Cons

    Typical US centric challenges and politics

    American Express2019-05-16
  10. "Terrific company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Onsite gym Professionalism Management

    Cons

    Out of date tools Nothing else

    American Express2019-05-06
Found 6781 reviews