American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Express Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
901 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their employees, great pay, great benefits and great company values that they uphold.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any cons about the company.

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-02-24
  2. "Terrific company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Onsite gym Professionalism Management

    Cons

    Out of date tools Nothing else

    American Express2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work for, great benefits and work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Development Executive in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of tools and support to get the job done in my department.

    Cons

    Department is turning into a call centre, and creativity and entrepreneurial mindset being stripped from Reps in these roles.

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-03-05
  4. "Good Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Personal development is valued. Culture is friendly and outgoing!

    Cons

    Leadership styles are widely inconsistent

    American Express2020-03-08
  5. "frontline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the company has good environmental and cares about their employees opinions

    Cons

    limited jobs opportunities if you want to move up

    American Express2020-02-17
  6. "Marketing Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance Work from home flexibility Great leaders

    Cons

    Pay lower than industry average usually

    American Express2020-02-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Too number focused for Gen Y employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bilingual Customer Service Representative in North York, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are great - they are always willing to help you. I ended up meeting awesome people there. They have a Tim Hortons coffee machine. Very good pay for a 1st job if you have recently graduated or if you are a newcomer (considering you lend on a bilingual position). Health benefits from day 1. Insurance is good overall...

    Cons

    Work hours are definitely not the usual 9-5. Everyone needs to engage working on a weekends and stat holidays. No work from home flexibility. Too much talk about your numbers. The way they talk about it is not motivating at all - it's just an endless pressure, as if you didn't reach your numbers on the first weeks of job training, "something would happen". They have this certification thingy going on for new hires. People have to worry about their 3 month probation period PLUS about getting "certified". They talk about it as if it was a degree or something like that. Guys, this is not University... People talk about about career opportunities but I'm not sure I've seen this happening to my coworkers that have been working there for many many years. You do get a chance to moving from one department to the other (credit, new accounts, etc.), but at the end of the day you are still over the phone. I'm not sure how that plays out. However, Indo have to say that working at Amex is way better than working at several other places.

    Continue reading
    American Express2020-01-25
  8. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -good culture, cares about employees, great time off and benefits -lots of room for personal /professional development

    Cons

    -can sometimes take very long to execute due to many layers of approval etc

    American Express2019-12-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company values though it trickles down to your manager/leader to make it a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Toronto, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexibility to work from home - Great work life balance though it depends on the manager/leader you get - Friendly people to work with - everyone is super helpful

    Cons

    - Lower pay than other FIs - Very political and hierarchal - High attrition of employees

    Continue reading
    American Express2019-12-11
  10. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Big team and lots of training

    Cons

    You have to differentiate yourself

    American Express2019-11-13
Found 7103 reviews