American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Express Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
677 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can do more with work/life balance(in 261 reviews)

  • "Decentralised processes lead to non availability of complete picture of decision making(in 137 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (146)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have fantastic pay for the position you're in, and they teach you interesting and engaging utility of modern technology mixed with legacy fundamentals. I've learned quite a bit while AmEx while getting paid more than fairly - I'd recommend a stretch here to whomever may be reading this!

    Cons

    The Company is huge, and at times it may take more than a little time to get recognized for your abilities and the growth you've had. There's a reason there is a "only way up is out" reputation exists for some enterprise companies...

    Continue reading
    American Express2018-11-26
  2. "Terrific company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Onsite gym Professionalism Management

    Cons

    Out of date tools Nothing else

    American Express2019-05-06
  3. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Analyst 

    I have been working at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Good training for new grads

    Cons

    Slow moving, nine to five culture with less than ambitious and excited employees

    American Express2019-10-08
  4. "amazing work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    employee friendly working culture at office

    Cons

    sales targets work load

    American Express2019-10-01
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Highly process oriented, organised, mature organisation

    Cons

    Conservative at times in approach

    Continue reading
    American Express2019-09-17
  6. "Great learning and growth experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Business Consultant 

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, good opportunities for growth, constant learning

    Cons

    Very demanding kpi's and other metrics

    American Express2019-08-23
  7. "Good learning experience, too much seniority."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premium Travel Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job security as a well established company, and great colleagues for the most part. Thorough training with lots of support for learning.

    Cons

    Those with seniority who work day shifts get priority over everyone. The office culture is set up for engagement during 9-5 hours but the majority of the Travel team works late evenings and weekends. I miss out on a lot of events and do not even have a place to buy food as the cafeteria closes after lunchtime. If you aren't performing well enough you'll hear about it, but get little recognition for performing well.

    American Express2019-08-28
  8. "very unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Collections Representative in Toronto, ON

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reliable Hours/ Good Trainers/ Nice staff room/clean

    Cons

    Terrible floor managers quick turn around rate

    Continue reading
    American Express2019-08-26
  9. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Looks great on a resume. Great colleagues

    Cons

    Low pay. Sometimes success is luck

    American Express2019-08-12
  10. "Senior manager - Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice work environment- diversity and equality is very valuable

    Cons

    Base salary could be better

    American Express2019-07-12
Found 6956 reviews