American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Express Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6277 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Stephen J Squeri
413 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is very nice here(in 1432 reviews)

  • "They are very understand when you have emergencies and depending on your position, they can allow you to work from home when needed(in 267 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance and extensive office hours(in 240 reviews)

  • "Decentralised processes lead to non availability of complete picture of decision making(in 131 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (64)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have fantastic pay for the position you're in, and they teach you interesting and engaging utility of modern technology mixed with legacy fundamentals. I've learned quite a bit while AmEx while getting paid more than fairly - I'd recommend a stretch here to whomever may be reading this!

    Cons

    The Company is huge, and at times it may take more than a little time to get recognized for your abilities and the growth you've had. There's a reason there is a "only way up is out" reputation exists for some enterprise companies...

    Advice to Management

    Do 6-month evaluations with serious consideration for interior promotions before out-side-in hiring. Then hire only at the bottom level (entry). Let tech. decide when/who to promote for tech. because business holds the wallet, but doesn't necessarily know what's best.

    American Express2018-11-26
  2. "Account Manager - Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at American Express full-time

      Pros

      Great place to work where everybody is quite helpful

      Cons

      Tough targets to achieve, but high payout

      American Express2019-03-18
    • "Senior Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at American Express full-time

      Pros

      Flexibility, work-life balance, benefits, people

      Cons

      Politics, some old-school leaders. Preference of fresh young recruits, vs. experience.

      American Express2019-04-12
    • "Pleasure working with AE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I believe i can showcase my skills in such a reputed organisation

      Cons

      I wont be able to drink water .i will be busy working

      Advice to Management

      Promote me and get huge boost for the sale because i am not going to stop working

      American Express2019-03-18
    • "Travel consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at American Express full-time

      Pros

      Amazing benefits Great company

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      American Express2019-03-11
    • "Manager of Business Development"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      good base and commision, well balance, work life

      Cons

      pressure to always deliver more, commission changes from year to year, goals are increasingly harder to get

      American Express2019-02-08
    • "BSA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at American Express full-time

      Pros

      Good work life balance and good executive team.

      Cons

      Some of the technology is behind the industry.

      American Express2018-12-11
    • "Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at American Express full-time

      Pros

      great work life balance

      Cons

      Despite of transparent system, Management is sometimes biased

      Advice to Management

      Less favoritism

      American Express2018-12-15
    • "An amazing company that will shine in your resume."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at American Express full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Definitely, a company that helps make future forward movements in your careers path

      Cons

      If you´re looking to grow, it takes years and years just even to be considered, and once there, you have to commit to a Leadership program for a year, and then if they like you, you get the official promotion along with all the benefits.

      Advice to Management

      to be more open on the ideas for personal development, as well as the ones proposed to improve your working area and less red tape.

      American Express2018-12-01
    • "Credit Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at American Express full-time

        Pros

        Great Benefits, Good Structure, & Good Rewards

        Cons

        Credit calling is soul crushing

        American Express2018-10-29
      Found 6277 reviews