Amazon Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Amazon Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
19,488 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work environment (the environment is good at Amazon when compared to many other companies)(in 1610 reviews)

  • "Friendly fast paced always help you(in 1386 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance - this is not the place to work if you're expecting a strict 9-to-5 schedule(in 2998 reviews)

  • "Stressful work long hours from time to time(in 1648 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (16)

    "Solutions Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great on-boarding process for new team members. Great learning opportunities (training, job shadow, certification paths). Everybody is very helpful and friendly. A strong and very capable team. Low administrative overhead with a lot of things being done lean. The Amazon Leadership Principles come up in pretty much everything we do and is something that serves as inspiration.

    Cons

    The drawback of being on a fast-growing team is that almost everybody in the team is new to Amazon. We compensate for this by having mentors elsewhere in the organization and by being resourceful in settling in.

    Amazon2018-12-27
  2. "Best Cloud Provider to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, Great culture, Lots to learn

    Cons

    Sometimes it gets too busy

    Amazon2019-10-18
  3. "Growing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Trainer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities to grow

    Cons

    irregular working hours and extended working hours on daily basis

    Amazon2019-10-19
  4. "Positively Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazon is a giant company, but any employee I know shares the company leadership principles. This is the most important thing that makes Amazon peculiar in my opinion, and this is something I find extremely valuable.

    Cons

    Working in AWS can be very challenging for various reasons: it's a very fast moving environment, where very challenging problems are dealt with by very smart people. So you'll have to work very hard to keep the bar high!

    Amazon2019-10-16
  5. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    cool colleagues that make working fun

    Cons

    long hours of standing can be stressful

    Advice to Management

    higher pay will encourage associates to stay longer

    Amazon2019-10-12
  6. "This company is good. I think its going up day by day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think all employers and employees are of good behavior.

    Cons

    I think there is no negative thing in this company.

    Advice to Management

    No advice.

    Amazon2019-10-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Lots of cool things being built, lots of smart people to talk too. If you know what you're doing, it's not hard to excel.

    Cons

    As with any large company, there's it's fair share of bureaucracy

    Amazon2019-10-02
  8. "Hard work but reliable place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Specialist in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a big company with the system working on it and on-time payment.

    Cons

    long hours of working and low wage payment

    Advice to Management

    Bring an experienced area manager to the field.

    Amazon2019-10-07
  9. "Good leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible work place with the schedule

    Cons

    there is no career progression

    Amazon2019-10-07
  10. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation, smart co-workers, solid tech infrastructure.

    Cons

    Complex, intractable legacy systems, very slow career progression, constant on-call stress, high turnover, few opportunities to work on new projects.

    Advice to Management

    You need to stop treating Toronto as an outsourcing location for Seattle otherwise the ridiculous level of staff turnover will continue. The support and maintenance burden is far too high to keep talented engineers in place for the long term.

    Amazon2019-10-19
Found 34295 reviews