Amazon Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Amazon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29297 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
16727 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love that I get to work from home in order to maintain my work life balance(in 635 reviews)

  • "You will learn a lot in this place(in 568 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Solutions Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great on-boarding process for new team members. Great learning opportunities (training, job shadow, certification paths). Everybody is very helpful and friendly. A strong and very capable team. Low administrative overhead with a lot of things being done lean. The Amazon Leadership Principles come up in pretty much everything we do and is something that serves as inspiration.

    Cons

    The drawback of being on a fast-growing team is that almost everybody in the team is new to Amazon. We compensate for this by having mentors elsewhere in the organization and by being resourceful in settling in.

    Amazon2018-12-27
  2. "AMAZON salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Technician in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good environment for learning and improve

    Cons

    I didn't see no cons yet!

    Amazon2019-03-28
  3. "The only thing I regret..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Trainer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I currently work for Amazon Web Services Canada and the only thing I regret is that I have not joined the company earlier in my career.

    Cons

    It could be a bit of a cultural shift for the folks who depend on the micromanagement.

    Amazon2019-04-15
  4. "Great opportunity to improve your leadership skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDE2 in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Impact to millions of people's lives * Working with bright goal-oriented people * Solve hard problems and learn a lot doing them * Learn how to run projects, communicate effectively between teams * Learn time management * Learn priorities and how to communicate them * Ability to change teams if you want * Very competitive compensation

    Cons

    * Not much learnings in terms of bleeding edge technologies. Amazon itself doesn't utilize these being a mature company. This is changing and hopefully soon more teams are interacting with the cloud as they should. * Working at remote site leaves something to be desired. A lot of what's going on like talks and machine learning university have much bigger presence in Seattle. There are many things only available in the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to extend the all aspects of culture to remote sites. I think LPs are great ways of doing that for extending the leadership culture. There is room for improvement for other things like growth opportunities and social events.

    Amazon2019-04-15
  5. "Very good company to work with and awesome benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Onsite Medical Representative in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of teamwork and collaboration

    Cons

    Too many changes too fast. HR needs more people and more training. Raises should be better for support staff like OMRs.

    Advice to Management

    Pay raises for professionals like nurses, not only people on the production floor.

    Amazon2019-04-10
  6. "Great environment to apply your skills and constantly learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of learning resources available, and other employees are always willing to provide guidance and advice.

    Cons

    Getting up to speed can be overwhelming at first.

    Amazon2019-04-10
  7. "Best place I ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Learn from some great leaders - Startup-like culture and focus on customers is unparallelled - Solve interesting problems - A truly agile data-driven work culture that moves fast and delivers results

    Cons

    - The size and scale of problems to be solved and the pace of change can be daunting - It can feel like there's hundreds of things to do, but there isn't time in the day to get them all done - Sometimes we can be blinded by trying to deliver a lot of value to our customers and undervaluing the cost of the technical debt we may be accruing until it's too late

    Advice to Management

    Keep being diligent about preserving the Leadership Principles that make Amazon a great place to work.

    Amazon2019-04-09
  8. "Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    salary, respectable management, benefits, insurance

    Cons

    a lot of efforts, monitoring all the time, needs more break

    Amazon2019-04-09
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Amazon full-time

      Pros

      High overall compensation. 401k is not that great

      Cons

      Perks could be better. Also health insurance.

      Amazon2019-04-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Amazing place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      This is by far the best place I have worked for in my 20+ year career. You get to work with top notch, talented people and solving problems at a mind blowing scale. Things get traction and move along very quickly with little bureaucracy. Decisions are made using data so politics and lobbying are non existent. The company moves at such a fast pace so everyone is pushed to grow and adapt very quickly. You can learn and...

      Show More

      Cons

      The company move at a very fast pace and experiment a lot. Some projects will get canceled and some teams will get moved around. For those who enjoy the stability of working with familiar teams and projects, the work environment will feel chaotic for them. People you will be working with are very smart and talent people. The culture is here is challenge each other to build a product. For those who doesn't like their ideas...

      Show More
      Amazon2019-04-04
    Found 29297 reviews