Addella Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Addella Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Addella CEO Luc Hebert (no image)
Luc Hebert
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Being entirely performance-based negates the normal monotony associated with entry level work(in 7 reviews)

  • "Super positive work environment, with tons of energetic and ambitious people who really do want to see you succeed(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and that's about all(in 15 reviews)

  • "There's hard work involved if you want to add more tools into the toolbox(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "If You want to learn something, you have to work for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Addella for more than a year

    Pros

    Some pros of working for Addella are working with awesome and enthusiastic individuals that relish in the success of others more than themselves. I have always felt that the best way to learn is through hands on coaching and boy is this the environment for it. The hands on coaching in developing communication skills, presentation skills, & overall professionalism is exemplary. A management team that... genuinely cares about the team as a whole. A great place to forge your skills and craft!

    Show More

    Cons

    There's hard work involved if you want to add more tools into the toolbox. Working at Addella like anywhere else has it's challenged but the difference in working for Addella is that the hard work is worth it in the end with the skills and experience you obtain.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! More team events!

    Addella2019-02-05
  2. "Fun environment, but taxing door-to-door sales work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Addella full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Addella is definitely a fun office environment where everyone is very motivated, excited, and young. A lot of supportive people and Luc was the most inspiring person I've ever met. If you work here you will pick up some good advice on how to do sales successfully and also become much more outgoing.

    Cons

    You will be doing door-to-door sales (if you do sales and not HR etc). This will never be told to you explicitly or during your first interview. Your pay is commission for what you can sell. You spend the entire day in your territory walking to businesses and giving them an exact sales pitch. You can't deviate from the pitch. You will spend lots of time practising this pitch. There is an almost cult-like vibe there..., such that no one can ever be negative and the firm sells you this idea that if you work yourself to the bone you will get rich. This does happen from a very, very small minority of people, but for most, it won't happen. "First one to the field, first one to get money!" Everyone will say their big dream in life is to own an island or party in Ibiza once Addella gets them rich, but it won't happen. CBC Marketplace did an expose on a place called Mox1 Business Solutions; a similar direct marketing firm. Also search Slave Circle on Youtube; this will give you an exact idea of what this Cydcor operation is. This is very hard work and you will probably quit after a month or two.

    Show More
    Addella2019-08-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Pyramid Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Promotional Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Addella full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None it's a pyramid scheme

    Cons

    12 hour work days, 100% commission. This company and the whole infrastructure of the way this corporation is set up is a huge scam. They should be shut down.

    Advice to Management

    Stop brain washing people

    Addella2019-06-06
  4. "Really great if you are into this sort of thing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Addella full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Their hands-on teaching approach blew me away. I learnt so much in my short time there, skills I could use in the work force as well as outside of it. They are very informative and teach your how to overcome so many obstacles. 2. The people (not all, but a very high percentage) were very welcoming and kind. They built with you, grew with you, wanted you to genuinely succeed and worked so hard to make sure you... did. On top of that, they had road trips and events where you could easily make new friends and develop relationships with people on your team. Really defines the term 'inclusive'!

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Compensation was a big one. If you are living on your own, paying bills/rent/etc., it's really important to have a background in sales at the very least. I came without any experience and really suffered financially as a result. Many reviews on here post that it's a scam designed to rip you off. If you are genuinely good at what you do, the payout is well worth the work! This isn't a job, it's a career. If you... invest your time into this company, you will be compensated for it. 2. I did enjoy the workdays in the field, though it's very long workdays no matter what the temperature is. The first two weeks I spent all of the time I wasn't working in bed. It's very demanding mentally as well. If you're into this kind of thing, once again it's well worth it. 3. Lack of breaks during training. This one is pretty self-explanatory.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I wasn't a good fit myself though felt very welcome nonetheless and really enjoyed the time I was there. My advice would be simply to have a part-time option if you wanted to expand so the younger folks could get a foot in the door while also going to school/working someplace else to pay bills.

    Addella2019-04-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment, Awesome Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addella full-time

    Pros

    I’ve worked at Addella for a couple months now. During my time here I have made some of the best friendships you can ever imagine. I view the company as a second family and I appreciate the investment that my mentors, and management have put into my development. The team receives nothing from helping, but does it out of their want to help you improve in your professional goals. For those who have spoken negatively... about the company online, this job isn’t for people that cant work hard or get constructive criticism, or they just didnt work at the company in general. If you’re reading this, obviously you have some form of interest in the company, so go check it out for yourself, there are a ton of internet trolls that will say anything behind a computer screen, and I know I would of missed out on some of the fastest advancement in my life if I didn’t have the opportunity to work with the team.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is hard work, there is no lie to it. I had a hard time checking my ego when it came to sales and getting rejected. It is not a good fit for everyone thats for sure, but neither is IT or adminstration for another person.

    Advice to Management

    You do a great job of providing direction and coaching. Keep being funny and making the office a great place to work.

    Addella2019-02-05
  6. Helpful (5)

    "It's a SCAM folks. A DS-Max tentacle, worldwide scam. You Tube 'The Slave Circle'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Addella full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, you will earn more working at McDonalds, AND at least you get a company RRSP...

    Cons

    It all starts with a phone call about an 'interview'. You may not even remember applying to the place. They cull phone numbers from job boards like monster, indeed etc. Take your number off these places. The girl offering the interview may butter you up. Questions about what they do, sell, the salary, who their clients are, get vague answers or you are directed that all will be revealed at the interview. Where do... I start? Its a barely legal MLM/Pyramid scheme. Watch for brainwashing words used like J.U.I.C.E. JUICE, 'Ring the bell', 'Negged out'. This scam has been going on for DECADES, their cover is blown by the beauty of the internet, the THOUSANDS of global subsidiaries change their names, scatter like roaches and reform another colony with a different name. You will see these worker bees selling (cheap chinese junk) their butts off in Costco roadshows, Superstore clubstore car parks selling spray wax, etc. Ignore them - it's the top brass you want to hurt, not the little guy. Complain to the store or email, tweet at them that you will not be shopping there again unless they get rid of their DS-Max vendor roadshows.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Managers, you know what you are doing is evil. Quit, show some honour and work for a real company, being a Manager at McDonalds has 100% more honour than this. As for the National Consultants and Executives? I don't know how you can sleep at night. You have no honour or integrity.

    Addella2019-01-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Addella full-time

    Pros

    - Learnt a lot of skills not only around sales, but leadership and time management. - Great environment with ambitious people

    Cons

    - office space is pretty tight

    Advice to Management

    - keep it up!

    Addella2018-11-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Representitve - Great Job for New Grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addella full-time

    Pros

    Working with a fun team

    Cons

    A lot of travel and hours

    Advice to Management

    Don't make people come into office before hitting territory

    Addella2018-10-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Learn and Earn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Addella

    Pros

    The company has thought me lots of self management, communication and leadership abilities.

    Cons

    Just work hard, that’s it

    Advice to Management

    Be open minded and learn

    Addella2018-08-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "You're going to get than you ever imagined from this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addella full-time

    Pros

    There is a lot to be said about Addella, from the management, to the entry level reps, all the way to the Recruitment and Human Resources team you'll find yourself surrounded by supportive and impressive people dedicated to helping you carve the path of your future. Not only do you gain sales experience, which is one of the highest valued experiences you can earn at a young age, you'll also learn to master your... mindset, become more disciplined with your personal life, and create friendships which will last a lifetime. I've been working at Addella for more than two years now, and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the experience. Now, of course, self-development, accountability and learning to be consistent in sales ISN'T for everyone, so for those of you reading the different reviews, keep in mind that those who didn't have something kind to say, probably could not handle the development, accountability or consistency factor. Be your own judge of the experience, because I'm glad I did so as well!

    Show More

    Cons

    Working with so many different personalities can be overwhelming at times, however, it is something you'll have to learn if you ever intend on working in an industry where helping people is the foundation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Such amazing mentors to be surrounded by!

    Addella2018-08-28
Found 88 reviews