ADP Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ADP Reviews

Updated 20 September, 2017
5,291 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ADP CEO Carlos A. Rodriguez
Carlos A. Rodriguez
2,418 Ratings

5,291 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work/Life Balance leaves a bit to be desired (in 185 reviews)

  • Politics is way too high, There is no work life balance (in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Caring Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Etobicoke, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Leaders take a genuine interest in your well being, support your career development and provide opportunities to grow in roles.

    Cons

    Changing can be slower than needed, seen some positive changes in the last 2 years, especially around technology.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with being so transparent - very refreshing to have the President being very consistent in his messaging and always with such enthusiasm.


  2. "Work experience at ADP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good work environment, good benefits and can work from home

    Cons

    People from different departments sometimes don't collaborate with each other

    ADP Response

    12 Sep, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your ADP experience.


  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good products. Smart people.

    Cons

    Work life balance is not what it should be.

    ADP Response

    18 Sep, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your ADP Toronto experience.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Downsizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time

    Pros

    Nice coworkers and good location

    Cons

    No career growth, company is downsizing

    ADP Response

    12 Sep, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the review of ADP.


  6. "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, career growth, compensation package

    Cons

    None - you are in control of your own destiny

    Advice to Management

    Amazing culture and motivation for the teams

    ADP Response

    21 Aug, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Awesome review! Thank you for taking the time to provide your insights.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Revolving Door for Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Learning Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people I worked with were fantastic and very personable.

    Cons

    My time at ADP was very disappointing. I have never worked for a company with such a high turnover rate for employees. Everyone working in my department seemed unhappy and looking for their next employment opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    It takes a lot of time and money to hire an employee - treat them well so your investment does not go to waste.

    ADP Response

    14 Aug, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for your valuable feedback with ADP Toronto.


  8. "Implementation - Great job if you love long hours and want to end up on stress leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Former Employee - Implementation Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The work is interesting and the people at the company are very nice. At some locations there is work from home opportunity

    Cons

    The workload is unreasonable particularly at year end. 10 hours a day is normal and some managers won't pay you for the extra hours. At year end, (Nov - mid January) working more than 10 hours a day is not unusual. The weeks of training provided when you start sounds very impressive but aren't nearly enough for you to be able to competently do your job and the ongoing support and promised mentoring is seriously lacking, mainly because the assigned mentors are too busy for the people they are supposed to be working with. The average implementation specialist either quits or is terminated by year 3 and each year the company does a "culling". If they are terminated it's because something went seriously wrong during an implementation (whether the client or ADP was responsible has no bearing), or the implementation specialist was too low on their annual quota.

    Advice to Management

    Try hiring more people for this job, provide sufficient training and work/life balance DOES matter

    ADP Response

    5 Sep, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your honest and specific feedback with us. We will share this review with our Canada Implementation teams to help improve our processes.


  9. "General job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    It was good job at place

    Cons

    Ok to learn and grow

    ADP Response

    27 Aug, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the assessment.


  10. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Current Employee - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have worked in numerous Companies since 1975 and this one is the very best. I started working here as a temporary associate and was offered a full-time employment. I have been working here for 6 years and the Company culture is outstanding. Although there is no perfect place that exists, this one is the closest I have seen to being just that.

    Cons

    The only cons I have is seeing associates not appreciating this Company at times, probably due to not having enough work experience else where.

    Advice to Management

    Keep appreciating the value of your teams

    ADP Response

    17 Jul, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the positive and awesome review! We hope you keep rocking with ADP for a long time.


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be great until the U.S. began influencing Canadian culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Server Administrator in Mississauga, ON
    Former Employee - Senior Server Administrator in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fantastic people. This company was my home for almost 16 years and for 10 of those years I was completely happy with the pay, benefits and especially the working environment.

    Cons

    Around 2010 the U.S. decided to exert their influence directly over the Canadian operations. Everything started going downhill then, particularly with the implementation of TOM 1.0 which was moving everything to silos which was ironic because they started it with the intention of removing silos.

    Advice to Management

    Let the Canadian departments handle their own affairs. they have boots on the ground knowledge that you don't. Also try and streamline the CAB meetings. If it is a minor change with no impact like provisioning a new server, just automatically approve it and stop wasting people's time.

    ADP Response

    10 Jul, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the review. We will share this with our HR teams.


Showing 5,291 of 5,492 reviews
Reset Filters