ADP Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ADP Reviews

Updated 26 March, 2017
4,700 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ADP CEO Carlos A. Rodriguez
Carlos A. Rodriguez
2,048 Ratings

4,700 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work/Life Balance leaves a bit to be desired (in 163 reviews)

  • No work life balance and hectic work schedule (in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good stable company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    My experience with ADP was a good one. Good work environment. Managers cared about the well being of employees. Great team environment

    Cons

    Upper management in my group changed every 2 or so years.This meant every large project one group started then stopped and was rejigged or cancelled outright.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course

    ADP Response

    13 Mar, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Great insights into ADP Toronto and some good takeaways. Thank you.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "District Manager, Major Accounts"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good training program. Good people with good intentions.

    Cons

    Have a hard time getting good and reliable customer references. Industry is undergoing significant change with the new "gig" economy and mobility for millenial workforce. Canadian operations were asleep at the wheel and are now behind the industry and playing catch up to bring the technology to market in Canada.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify, simplify, simplify the customer experience!

    ADP Response

    13 Mar, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for the commentary and review of your time with ADP. We value your analysis.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Constant lack of resources make it difficult to accomplish goals"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of room for personal and professional growth, great training programs, internationally recognized brand

    Cons

    Management is out of touch with the front lines of the organization. Lack of resources can make achieving goals difficult and very frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people and set realistic targets

    ADP Response

    23 Feb, 2017 – Project Specialist

    We appreciate you insights into the management at your ADP location. Thank you for the review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Senior Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits are slightly above average.

    Cons

    The job demands are very structured and regimented, little room for creativity, the fit gap between the solution sold and the client's expectations can be very challenging but if you don't get good/excellent satisfaction scores things won't go well for you.

    ADP Response

    3 Mar, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Thank you for this review and including some intuitive takeaways. We will review with our HR teams.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Leaving was the best choice I ever made"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dartmouth, NS
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dartmouth, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADP part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Their benefits and compensation packages were very competitive. Often offered additional incentives, but be sure to read the fine print.

    Cons

    I worked at this company for 5 years. When I started I was a healthy and happy person. When I left I had numerous stress and anxiety related issues, which for the most part were due to the job. (Per my doctor and the fact that 6 months after leaving I was back to a good place).

    To succeed at ADP it all depends on who you know and who`s butt you`re willing to kiss. My last year there, I never changed positions, yet I had 4 different managers, all of whom expected very different things. They pride themselves on not being a call centre and putting the client first, yet in my last few years the focus made a complete shift from goals rearding service to goals regarding stats and it hurt the entire department.

    I`d say the worst part about ADP though was how they handled employee problems. As I said I developed severe mental illness while working there. I tried working with HR and my doctor, and though my doctor would write exactly what was going on they wouldn`t work with me. Either I was too sick to work and had to take (unpaid) STD or I wasn`t really sick and should have no problems working like everyone else. It came to a head when I had a full blown panic attack at the office and my managers solution was to lock me in a small room until I calmed down.

    If you like high stress, sucking up to managers, and can put up with a lot because of good pay and benefits, sure, work at ADP. If you care about your well being stay far far away.

    Advice to Management

    Be more consistent. Stop with the favoritism. Be more supportive of your employees and try to actively work with them instead of against them.

    ADP Response

    20 Mar, 2017 – Project Specialist

    Hello and thank you for this review of your experience with ADP in Nova Scotia. We apologize that your term at ADP was so tumultuous. We have escalated this review to our HR teams. Thank you again.


  7. "Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADP (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great people. They focus on making sure the employees are happy, by doing lots of activities. Managers are focused on employees development. Lots of opportunities to grow within the company.

    Cons

    Promotions are sometimes dependent on who you know. They sometimes people in a leadership position that don't necessarily have the rights skills and they are often left alone.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you develop the right people. If they don't fit the role, do something about it.


  8. "Work culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst in Halifax, NS
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The company culture is phenomenal. You are welcomed, supported and appreciated for what you do. There are great benefits and flexible hours as well!

    Cons

    I literally can't think of any other than its extremely busy during year end so you can't go on vacation

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Only go there if you're a 'yes man' and like to blindly follow"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Enablement in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Field Enablement in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    salary and benefits are good and are competitive in the market place.

    Cons

    management is focused on self promotion and appearing to shine in the eyes of the President (Canada). They say they have a customer focus, but really the focus is on advancing themselves and their career. If you are aligned with their ideas, it could work well. If you have ideas for real change and innovation, you're not going to realize those.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership says they want change but then do not empower or enable their team members to actually do it and are wholly out of touch with what it takes to change a static and slow moving organization. Ideas are top down, and you do best if you agree with whatever your leader has to say. Recent changes in leadership have promoted the most exemplary 'yes men' to executive leadership positions, and their primary focus is making themselves look good in front of the new president. Big egos, arrogance and scant on new ideas, the leadership in field enablement (and service) are singularly focused on old ideas and get their teams to act on them, piling more and more work on to people that are maxed out. If you disagree, it doesn't bode well for you. But, if you have a great idea, they appropriate it as their own and don't share credit.

    Overall a de-motivating environment. Working late in the office and then resuming the work at home is the norm, and it is never appreciated or acknowledged. The victims of this staid and undynamic environment are the clients and the people that work there. ADP's position in the industry is facing a significant erosion because the organization just can't get the servicing of clients right due to poor leadership lacking ideas, vision, or the confidence to let others bring new ideas to the table. The company is great at celebrating its market leading position, but its competitors are beating them at every turn when it comes to servicing and communicating with clients.

    ADP Response

    23 Feb, 2017 – Project Specialist

    We appreciate your insights into ADP Toronto. We will escalate this review to our HR team.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "CSR"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great Benefits Plan, Competitive salary, most managers strive to help keep a work life balance., some opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Lots of overtime but it's often banked and taken back rather than paid out. Poor overall communication

    Advice to Management

    Improve cross functional communication.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy Job. No real pressure in small business sales (less than 50 employees).

    Cons

    45K base for small business

    Advice to Management

    Pay Employees more and they will stay

    ADP Response

    23 Jan, 2017 – Project Specialist

    We appreciate your insights. Thank you.



Showing 4,700 of 4,868 reviews
Reset Filters