ADP Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ADP Reviews

Updated 25 May, 2018
6,172 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ADP CEO Carlos A. Rodriguez
Carlos A. Rodriguez
2,956 Ratings

6,172 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • high stress; work life balance can be a challenge (in 210 reviews)

  • Way too many meetings during the day that the evenings is the only time to actually do your work so no work/life balance (in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "CSR Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Career Growth, Great Benefits, The work is engaging - not the same task every day which is important to me.

    Cons

    The work can become overwhelming. You need to make sure you communicate well with others and your boss and help each other out.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to utilize everyone skills and do not keep using the same few people for help.

    ADP Response

    2 Apr, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for this insightful review and rating.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Has potential to be good but needs better vision (Montreal - Canada)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC

    I worked at ADP full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Diversity, great benefits, structured - great potential for growth, great people and culture

    Cons

    To much structure slows down process, training of employees needs a lot of improvement - as a current customer of ADP I see the lack of knowledge and consistency, my immediate supervisor lacked knowledge and people skills (other managers seemed better)

    Advice to Management

    My manager was "best pals" with HR so he was untouchable. Please treat everyone fairly. The amount of damage he caused, he should have been fired. Also reassess training methods for employees (they make too many mistakes)

    ADP Response

    14 May, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience within the Montreal location. We will share your feedback with our Talent leaders.

  3. "Need to look train your manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Dartmouth, NS
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Dartmouth, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Good learning experience
    - Benefit

    Cons

    - Very stressful
    - No chance to move
    - No coaching provided
    - Managers are not responsive
    - Lack of transpiration

    Advice to Management

    Please, please & please sr management. Make sure you visit and talk to the employees.
    - The work environment is biased
    - Preference given to those who knows manager
    - Terrible management. Guess how it feels if a manager is silently standing behind you while you're working?
    - None of the questions are answered by the manager, not even allow us to talk to others
    - We can't attend any session, when ask the manager. S/he don't even bother to reply
    - Don't push people to do 3 jobs with same salary

    Please do come, talk to your employees about this. Your employees are really not motivated. Specially WFN service team.

    ADP Response

    7 May, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for this review. We will share with our HR leadership.


  4. "Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at ADP full-time

    Pros

    work is not monotonous, different things learned all the time

    Cons

    could be overwhelming sometimes which could be exhausting and frustrating

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the staff more through better incentives

    ADP Response

    27 Apr, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Glassdoor.


  5. "Culture is in Direct Conflict with the Need to Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance is great for many. Bonus structure can be amazing. Plenty of smart and talented people. Diversity is culture is great.

    Cons

    Leadership is often stuck fighting with staff, morale can be low with so much uncertainty, and hiring practices continue to grow analytical types of people without bringing true differences of opinions and styles.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that will be honest, stop political games, value others opinions regardless if is is contrary to your own, and act and be humble.

    ADP Response

    16 Apr, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review of ADP with us on Glassdoor. Your insights are valued.


  6. "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast Paced, great partners, very social

    Cons

    Deal approvals hard, micro management, old tech not competitive with new companies

    Advice to Management

    Help more than dictate

    ADP Response

    16 Apr, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for the review of ADP Toronto.


  7. "Demoralizing upper management- best thing I did was leave this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    * Location
    * Benefit package is ok
    * Celebrate wins
    * Strong onbaording

    Cons

    * SBS leader in Burnaby - toxic - walking HR violation and no one does anything about it because x has been there for 20 years.
    * High school environment
    * Pay is below industry standard
    * HR turns a blind eye to how upper management treats employees
    * Worst Micromanagement I've ever experienced
    * Multiple one on ones - waste of time, takes away from selling
    * Outdated technology
    * Extremely high turnover
    * Heavy favoritism - Employees who are parents/get pregnant are a burden
    * Success isn't based on numbers and aptitude, but who you can kiss up to

    Advice to Management

    Replace "dinosaurs" with people who truly care about the business, colleagues, customers more than just sales targets and themselves.

  8. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Possibility to work some days from home

    Cons

    It is becoming more and more call center environment. Bad managers (hiring managers with no technical skills. Micro managers. Boss type instead of inspiring leaders)

    ADP Response

    9 Apr, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for the review.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and they offer great perks while employed

    Cons

    Overworked and Underpaid, they will give you workloads for 2+ people and expect you to do it all.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people, there is a reason people leave and walk out.

    ADP Response

    2 Apr, 2018 – Manager

    We appreciate the review and rating.


  10. "Payroll Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly work environment and staffs.

    Cons

    Too much account to one specialist

    ADP Response

    2 Apr, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for sharing your insights.


Showing 6,172 of 6,417 reviews
Reset Filters