ADP Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ADP Reviews

Updated 16 December, 2018
6,965 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ADP CEO Carlos A. Rodriguez
Carlos A. Rodriguez
3,449 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Hard to sometimes have a work life balance" (in 232 reviews)

  • "Way too many meetings during the day that the evenings is the only time to actually do your work so no work/life balance" (in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "ADP Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, competitive wage, fair work-life balance, good leadership and commitment to customer success

    Cons

    Always a little challenging introducing new technology at an older technology company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    ADP Response

    19 Feb, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for the great review of ADP in Vancouver. We appreciate your insights.


  2. "CSR Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Career Growth, Great Benefits, The work is engaging - not the same task every day which is important to me.

    Cons

    The work can become overwhelming. You need to make sure you communicate well with others and your boss and help each other out.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to utilize everyone skills and do not keep using the same few people for help.

    ADP Response

    2 Apr, 2018 – Manager

    Thank you for this insightful review and rating.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Implementation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Specialist in Burnaby, BC
    Current Employee - Implementation Specialist in Burnaby, BC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible work hours
    Independence
    Ability to learn
    Lots of good and knowledgeable employees
    Transparency of info

    Cons

    No real work life balance, too many projects at once
    Management doesn’t trust employees, was told able to work from home but 6 months into work it was stopped yet manager’s favourites are allow to do so
    Double standards by managers
    Managers don’t listen to employees concerns
    Shouldn’t be allow to hire friends and treat differently from other employees this kills morale

    Advice to Management

    Treat all fairly and the same and you’ll have less turn over
    Provide properly support when employees struggling not gently push them out the door so you don’t have to fire them
    Learn the difference between being a manager and someone’s friend
    Act like a manager and learn to keep confidential information of one report and not disclosing it to other

    ADP Response

    10 Dec, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your viewpoint of the ADP Burnaby location Your experience is valuable to us and helps us to improve our processes. We appreciate your feedback and advice and would welcome the... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "implementation specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time

    Pros

    work from home. flexible hours.

    Cons

    training is not sufficient, you basically have to be very independent and get your stuff together. you have no choice by learning on your own. very little support.

    ADP Response

    7 Dec, 2018

    We appreciate the review and rating. Thank you for sharing your ADP experience with us on Glassdoor.


  5. "District Manager, Outside Sales - CPA Centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time

    Pros

    Company benefits, sales training, salesforce experience, upward mobility. Great stepping stone position and with a lot of recognition in the sales world. Easy job, just have to work 20 hours a week max to be successful. Work life balance is at a premium.

    Cons

    Really in a bad spot in Canada right now, extremely high turnover, a lot of work perks were hacked because of budget cuts. Poor sales tracking systems and a lot of archaic structures in place that leave it difficult to focus on your day to day sales activities. Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    I would leave some advice but they turnover so much it would be hard for them to see it.

    ADP Response

    15 Nov, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your insights with us on Glassdoor. Your experience and review help us to improve our overall processes and we appreciate your assessment.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of work and lots of red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation in Montreal, QC
    Former Employee - Implementation in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    ADP looks great on a resumé
    The people on my team were great..while they were still there
    A lot of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Locked in to roles for 18 months - people are doing their time
    Too much red tape to make a difference
    Workload not reasonable - you can't make it unless you put in a whole lot of hours
    Salaries offered are too low to get staff with the right experience level
    To work for a payroll service provider it would make sense that your level of knowledge is higher than the average payroll practitioner..but it doesn't make sense that when you work at ADP you make a lot less than you would working for a client company. You do the math and you leave.

    Advice to Management

    You will only get talented employees and keep them if you pay them right. You would do well to take a look at what the going rate is for talented payroll professionals. It seems like not enough of the profits are directed to wages for the employees that actually implement and process payroll. The right people will provide better service to your clients who will be more likely to stay.

    ADP Response

    11 Nov, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Glassdoor. We appreciate the time you spent with ADP and the insights you shared about your time with us.


  7. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time

    Pros

    Team was always collaborative
    Many had a good work ethic

    Cons

    Job when hired and job when in the role were not the same
    Disagree with leadership and heavily penalized
    Lacked vision

    ADP Response

    2 Nov, 2018

    Sorry to hear about your negative experience with ADP. Thank you for the review. Your insight is important to us.

  8. "ADP good moving to great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time

    Pros

    Solid industry leader with lots of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Lots of exciting things going on , but sometimes work life balance can be a challenge

    Advice to Management

    Continue our journey towards NextGen platforms

    ADP Response

    14 Oct, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your positive insights with us on Glassdoor. Your feedback is valued.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ADP full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Horrible leadership
    Understaffed and overworked
    Outdated systems
    Constant errors and system outages

    Advice to Management

    Good luck!

    ADP Response

    24 Oct, 2018

    Thank you for the review and rating. Your insights are valuable to us as we strive to have the best working experience in the industry.


  10. "Average IT Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ADP full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good salary, flexible hours/location

    Cons

    No focus on external training/certification.

    ADP Response

    15 Oct, 2018

    Thank you for your review and sharing with us on Glassdoor.