Yelp Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Yelp Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1,351 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer a very good benefits program as well as free food and drink everyday(in 240 reviews)

  • "Fully stocked kitchen (though don't eat it everyday, or else you'll gain the Yelp 15)(in 174 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only downside in my opinion is that we are not able to interact with more business owners face to face(in 221 reviews)

  • "Sales are drive through cold calls, you'll need to have a growth mindset(in 76 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Great company, lots of great people

    Cons

    Not sure what else to say here

    Yelp2017-08-29
  2. "Good place to learn, hard to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of really good sales training, however at times the job gets very repetitive.

    Cons

    Dont pay that well and not much of an org to grow in. Lots of colleagues come and go so its hard to get close with people and see them leave so quickly...bad for team morale.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Their sales training will teach you how to be a hunter

    Cons

    Where to begin.... First off, if I can give any advice, do NOT work for this company as an AE (I can't speak for other departments) for the following reasons: -Incredibly low pay, and no potential to make solid commission. -In comparison to other 'tech' companies, their pay is at the very bottom -Will do anything they can not to pay you for what you worked/deserve - they expect you to work 40+ hours, but will only pay you for the bare minimum -Some individuals of upper management lack social skills and compassion. They are absolutely ruthless and have no rationality. -Your set up for failure - the territories are so over worked, no one wants to hear from you -They say they connect people to great local businesses...well, they completely forget what 'great local businesses are' - they expect every business to use Yelp, even if they do not fit their mission statement -Ultimately, you'll be over worked, stressed, and set up for failure in exchange for a non liveable income.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2017-09-08
  4. "Five Star Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Yelp for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An incredible amount of flexibility and opportunities for growth across all departments

    Cons

    Having to bust brand misconception myths

    Continue reading
    Yelp2017-03-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Hard to get by"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp

    Pros

    Yelp kitchen and barista were the only good things. I was lucky and had a good manager too.

    Cons

    Have to make 75 phone calls per day. Barely make any money. Not enough to get by living in San Francisco. They work you until you burn out.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2017-01-10
  6. "Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp part-time

    Pros

    -I had a lot of freedom regarding what I could write -Amazing team with cool upper management

    Cons

    -I wasnt paid any extra benefits -There werent any offices in Montreal

    Continue reading
    Yelp2015-05-14
  7. "I love Yelp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great opportunity to grow, great learning experience, great manager, great team, I can go on and on.

    Cons

    COVID-19 era, but thats not in out control

    Continue reading
    Yelp2020-04-01

    Yelp Response

    April 3, 2020

    Thank you for your five-star feedback, and for your patience as we all work through COVID-19. We're working hard to make sure our employees feel included and appreciated as they work remotely. Any and all feedback helps us make that experience even better. We're glad you're on team Yelp and look forward to many more years of growth!

    Continue reading
  8. "Good place to learn and grow quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The "play well with others" value is definitely true, easy to get in touch with people from all functions and levels in the company Kind people who genuinely care about local businesses and communities Easy to see the impact of your work Lots of opportunities to take ownership and grow quickly, very little time spent on dealing with the bureaucracy Actually cares about having a real business model

    Cons

    One of the earlier tech companies = non-trivial amount of tech debt Not enough emphasis on structured learning and development, especially IC to people manager transition Could do a lot better in the biz owner sentiment/sales training department

    Continue reading
    Yelp2020-04-01

    Yelp Response

    April 3, 2020

    We believe that our best work is done when we can freely collaborate and count on our peers to be as excited about our projects as we are, and it's great to hear that you are experiencing that at Yelp! We're glad that you've found a fulfilling five-star career and finding plenty of growth opportunities along the way. We appreciate your feedback regarding Yelp's reputation and tech debt from previous years. We'll be sure to pass up your feedback to our leadership team so we can make improvements. We're happy to have you on the team and look forward to many more years of growth!

    Continue reading
  9. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great workplace, benefits, I had the best team and managers! great experience.

    Cons

    If you commute, this can be time consuming

    Yelp2020-03-30

    Yelp Response

    April 1, 2020

    Thank you for taking a moment to leave us some five-star feedback. It's great to hear that you're enjoying your team, we're so lucky to work with some of the best people in the industry! We're happy to have had you on the team and hope that your next career move is even better.

    Continue reading
  10. "Opportunities are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After 1 year being at Yelp, I was going to move to a city where there was no office. Yelp gave me all the right tools to work from home. 2 years later I’m still here and focused as ever working remotely.

    Cons

    After reaching a certain status, raises are slim or non-existent. The people who get to a higher level are those who are persistent and loyal to the company so they should be recognized further on as well.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2020-03-23

    Yelp Response

    March 24, 2020

    It's great that you're finding plenty of opportunities for growth and still making it happen after 2 years at Yelp! Keep up the great work as we all work remotely, we're moving quickly to making sure our employees are feeling supported even remotely, and have all the tools they need to succeed. We appreciate your feedback regarding compensation at a certain level, and ensuring that tenured employees continue to be recognized. We'll share these notes with our leadership team so we can keep making Yelp a great place to work. We're glad you're on the team, cheers to your success!

    Continue reading
Found 2447 reviews
</>Embed