Yelp Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Yelp Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2281 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Yelp CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1266 Ratings
Pros
  • "Frequent Offsites - Free food and drinks is always a bonus(in 210 reviews)

  • "Great culture, free beverages and fully stocked kitchen(in 158 reviews)

Cons
  • "Repetitve; you call business owners all day everyday(in 171 reviews)

  • "Sales are drive through cold calls, you'll need to have a growth mindset(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Great company, lots of great people

    Cons

    Not sure what else to say here

    Continue reading
    Yelp2017-08-29
  2. "Just fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Ambassador 

    I worked at Yelp for more than a year

    Pros

    - work remotely - flexible schedule - engage with local community and get to know your city better - plan neat events and have cool experiences - company provided me with a laptop

    Cons

    - no office so I had to work from home - no benefits - low wage

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-08-17
  3. "Good place to learn, hard to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of really good sales training, however at times the job gets very repetitive.

    Cons

    Dont pay that well and not much of an org to grow in. Lots of colleagues come and go so its hard to get close with people and see them leave so quickly...bad for team morale.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Their sales training will teach you how to be a hunter

    Cons

    Where to begin.... First off, if I can give any advice, do NOT work for this company as an AE (I can't speak for other departments) for the following reasons: -Incredibly low pay, and no potential to make solid commission. -In comparison to other 'tech' companies, their pay is at the very bottom -Will do anything they can not to pay you for what you worked/deserve - they expect you to work 40+ hours, but will only pay you for the bare minimum -Some individuals of upper management lack social skills and compassion. They are absolutely ruthless and have no rationality. -Your set up for failure - the territories are so over worked, no one wants to hear from you -They say they connect people to great local businesses...well, they completely forget what 'great local businesses are' - they expect every business to use Yelp, even if they do not fit their mission statement -Ultimately, you'll be over worked, stressed, and set up for failure in exchange for a non liveable income.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2017-09-08
  5. "Five Star Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yelp for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An incredible amount of flexibility and opportunities for growth across all departments

    Cons

    Having to bust brand misconception myths

    Continue reading
    Yelp2017-03-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Hard to get by"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp

    Pros

    Yelp kitchen and barista were the only good things. I was lucky and had a good manager too.

    Cons

    Have to make 75 phone calls per day. Barely make any money. Not enough to get by living in San Francisco. They work you until you burn out.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2017-01-10
  7. "Amazing culture and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is really great, incredible people everywhere. Most people leave by 6, no expectation to work long hours for no reason (work life balance is emphasized)

    Cons

    No particularly cutting-edge engineering is happening. Big portions of the site and technology are fairly behind the times so a lot of the work is just trying to bring things up to a modern standard, not push any boundaries.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2016-01-13
  8. "Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp part-time

    Pros

    -I had a lot of freedom regarding what I could write -Amazing team with cool upper management

    Cons

    -I wasnt paid any extra benefits -There werent any offices in Montreal

    Continue reading
    Yelp2015-05-14
  9. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Environment is awesome, job is stressful.

    Cons

    Once out of training you are put with people who are on the job much longer. Puts more pressure for you to reach your goals.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-08-24
  10. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Executive 

    I worked at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and great people

    Cons

    Pay was too low and overworked.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-08-23
Found 2281 reviews