WildBrain Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 161 of over 232 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "amazing work environment and people(in 15 reviews)

  • "Nice facilities, Some great people(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management doesn't seem to understand animation pipeline and terms(in 8 reviews)

  • "It feels as though upper management thinks it can get more out of you the longer you stay but it's the complete opposite(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Jun 5, 2021 - Production Assistant in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Medical benefits, Great People, Reliable Schedule, Flexibility

      Cons

      Lots of turnover (only a con because you don't get to form lasting connections)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      recommend

      Sep 9, 2021 - 3D Modeler %26 Texture Artist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good people with good benefits

      Cons

      tight deadlines and poor timelines

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not supported

      Aug 7, 2021 - Art Director in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - lots of talent on the team - cool projects - great facility - legacy studio

      Cons

      - poor communication from Producer - lack of support from corporate management - allowed project management to undermine established approval process - not a level playing field for all staff - did not help with career progression within company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WildBrain Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At our Studio, we are committed to creating an artist-centric environment with transparent communication where our employees feel heard and valued. Please connect with us by emailing communications@wildbrain.com if you’d like to share more feedback to help us continue in our mandate to foster an artist-centric culture.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hard workers and very good colleauges

      Jul 29, 2021 - Accounting Assistant in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good company culture, everybody works hard. Lots of things to learn

      Cons

      Long working hours. Less flexible than artists

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Nice team, amazing projects. You're just a cog in the machine.

      Jul 14, 2021 - 2D Harmony Animator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent studio space Good location Wonderful list of projects Fun community events

      Cons

      (back in 2017) No paid overtime. HR tends to ghost easily Almost impossible to change between departments, despite what they promise. The huge open floor plan makes it very hard for people to focus if there's noise or have some privacy. Air conditioning was freezing cold and right above the animators heads. We had to purchase attachments to protect our work stations from the strong air currents. This is an industry-wide problem, but aggressive, problematic male workers would be given a pass more often than not, even if they engaged in loud sexual conversations in the middle of the office during work hours.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      WildBrain Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide an environment where team members feel they’re valued, respected and heard, and we take reviews like yours as an opportunity to grow and learn. Our business has evolved dramatically since 2017. In recent years, the Studio has brought in new leadership and has continued to focus our HR efforts on effectively supporting our team members. We’ve built out our HR team with more members and new roles to reinforce this approach, and created new platforms and processes to address the behaviour you described. We do not tolerate such actions and encourage employees to speak up in these types of situations. Please connect with us by emailing communications@wildbrain.com if you wish to provide us with more details to help us continue to improve as a company.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Dhx media

      Jul 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice team and great office environment

      Cons

      Pay is not competitive for Vancouver Pressurizing artists

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great studio if working as a shot finaler.

      Jun 2, 2021 - Shot Finaler in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very reasonable work load. Great leadership.

      Cons

      I cant speak for other job roles at the studio. Wasn't able to continue working thereafter my contract expired, so would be nice if they had better ways of retaining artists, but such is the industry, so I wouldn't really dock any points for this.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good studio with excellent benefits

      Jun 15, 2021 - 3D Animator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good projects and cares a lot about their employees

      Cons

      Haven't experienced any cons yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Work/Life Balance

      Apr 27, 2021 - Production Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Policies that promote work/life balance, generally positive atmosphere, pretty decent job stability despite being project based, growth mindset

      Cons

      Somewhat inconsistent social culture, a lot of people keep to themselves despite generally being friendly when addressed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      May 10, 2021 - Dubbing Supervisor in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great, casual place to work

      Cons

      some of the departments can be clique-y

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 161 Reviews

    Popular Careers with WildBrain Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at WildBrain? Share Your Experiences

    WildBrain logo
    or