Wawanesa Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wawanesa Insurance Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Wawanesa Insurance President and Chief Executive Officer Jeff Goy (no image)
Jeff Goy
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and work/life balance unlike another carrier I worked for (GEICO)(in 18 reviews)

  • "Forward thinking company rethinking the work environment to appeal to a wave of new creative talent(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most supervisors in customer service refuse to take supervisor calls and customers get more frustrated(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management has unrealistic expectations, as they don't have a technical background(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Wawanesa: a job and company I look forward to going to each day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Transparent, competitive and fair wages - Great company culture - Great leadership - Flexible work schedules - Generous vacation allotment - Excellent benefits - Giving back to the community - Taking employee development and goal setting seriously - Keeping up with technological advances

    Cons

    - A few different office buildings in Winnipeg, so employees are dispersed. makes meetings a little challenging at times.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-02-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible working environment. The leaders are there for you and your development. Very positive place to work. I enjoy going into work everyday.

    Cons

    I honestly don't have much to complain about.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-10
  3. "Re"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good com0any thank you it

    Cons

    Salary is not great but it's okay

    Advice to Management

    Goodjob

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-12-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Excellence in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great collaborative team Excellent benefits Interesting work

    Cons

    High stress environment Very little management support at times Poor work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Truly listen to what your employees are telling you. HIRE MORE RESOURCES.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-12-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, but can be stressful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment, great coworkers, benefits, pension, pay

    Cons

    Stressful at times, training is lacking, some departments are under staffed

    Advice to Management

    Training needs to be worked on. A lot of new staff are just thrown in and it causes stress and confusion.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's alright, really need to work on the culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Assistant 

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time

    Pros

    It's an office job. Benefits, Salary great co-workers.

    Cons

    pretty depression place to go to work. The building is pretty dated, no wifi, and everyone doesn't wanna be there. Really need to work on their culture and engagement

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your biggest asset. YOUR PEOPLE. No one is happy to be in the environment.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-15
  7. "I love coming to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Claim Representative in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always something new to keep me thinking Great People to work with Team supports each other Good pay Good Benefits Promotes learning Chance for advancement Sense of Satisfaction when claims are settled and insured happy with outcome Work life balance - work from home options Personal days and sick time

    Cons

    Grumpy Insureds - sometimes have unreasonable expectations Storm Season

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-30
  8. "A great place to work indeed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Risk Analyst in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a fairly new hire, one thing that strikes me is the way employees treat each other with respect, care and love. Employees are friendly and ready to assist you settle in especially as a new hire. Team members are not micro-managed by their bosses and are encouraged to have a work-life balance by having flexible work hours, working from home, taking personal days and involvement in team bonding exercises. Wawanesa is indeed a great place to work!

    Show More

    Cons

    I really cannot think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work of putting employees and the community first!

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-30
  9. "Commercial Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Teamwork Environment. Company has a great working and family like culture. Staffs are friendly, Good mixture of older and young people. Company is taking an innovative approach. Lots of opportunities. Fair pay. best benefits

    Cons

    not to up to date technology system - is in the process,.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-29
  10. "Wawa world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Canadian insurance company, locally grown, community minded, where staff genuinely care about their work

    Cons

    Growth encompasses plenty of change and lots of new people

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-29
Found 200 reviews