Wawanesa Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wawanesa Insurance Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Wawanesa Insurance CEO Jeff Goy (no image)
Jeff Goy
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and work/life balance unlike another carrier I worked for (GEICO)(in 18 reviews)

  • "Forward thinking company rethinking the work environment to appeal to a wave of new creative talent(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most supervisors in customer service refuse to take supervisor calls and customers get more frustrated(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management has unrealistic expectations, as they don't have a technical background(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Wawanesa: a job and company I look forward to going to each day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Transparent, competitive and fair wages - Great company culture - Great leadership - Flexible work schedules - Generous vacation allotment - Excellent benefits - Giving back to the community - Taking employee development and goal setting seriously - Keeping up with technological advances

    Cons

    - A few different office buildings in Winnipeg, so employees are dispersed. makes meetings a little challenging at times.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-02-24
  2. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible working environment. The leaders are there for you and your development. Very positive place to work. I enjoy going into work everyday.

    Cons

    I honestly don't have much to complain about.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It's alright, really need to work on the culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Assistant 

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time

    Pros

    It's an office job. Benefits, Salary great co-workers.

    Cons

    pretty depression place to go to work. The building is pretty dated, no wifi, and everyone doesn't wanna be there. Really need to work on their culture and engagement

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your biggest asset. YOUR PEOPLE. No one is happy to be in the environment.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-15
  4. "I love coming to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Claim Representative in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always something new to keep me thinking Great People to work with Team supports each other Good pay Good Benefits Promotes learning Chance for advancement Sense of Satisfaction when claims are settled and insured happy with outcome Work life balance - work from home options Personal days and sick time

    Cons

    Grumpy Insureds - sometimes have unreasonable expectations Storm Season

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-30
  5. "A great place to work indeed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Risk Analyst in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a fairly new hire, one thing that strikes me is the way employees treat each other with respect, care and love. Employees are friendly and ready to assist you settle in especially as a new hire. Team members are not micro-managed by their bosses and are encouraged to have a work-life balance by having flexible work hours, working from home, taking personal days and involvement in team bonding exercises.... Wawanesa is indeed a great place to work!

    Show More

    Cons

    I really cannot think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work of putting employees and the community first!

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-30
  6. "Commercial Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Teamwork Environment. Company has a great working and family like culture. Staffs are friendly, Good mixture of older and young people. Company is taking an innovative approach. Lots of opportunities. Fair pay. best benefits

    Cons

    not to up to date technology system - is in the process,.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-29
  7. "A great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wawanesa, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive wage Team Culture Down to Earth/Accessible Management Employee and Family Assistance Program Learning/Education Opportunities Remote Worker Opportunities Pension Goal achievement plan Milestone Anniversary Program Dental Benefits Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefits Extended Health Benefits Long and Short Term Disability Life Insurance Gym, Car Rental, Hotel Discounts No Dress Code

    Cons

    Lack of Space Building is not accessible for those with disabilities

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-29
  8. "Welcoming and Development Focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wawanesa pushes their best performers to develop themselves and values hiring from within. Wawanesa recognizes successes and constantly strives to have their employees develop into contributing players in the company.

    Cons

    Noticeable lack of communication between supervisors between different teams, and though Wawanesa is now change oriented, there is a stark feeling of "just getting caught up"

    Advice to Management

    Ramp up changes to reach the technological offerings that other Insurance Companies have available to their employees.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-26
  9. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Risk Analyst in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and welcoming environment. Flexible working hours and in full support of work life balance

    Cons

    There are no cons i can think of at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep engaging staff. It is encouraging.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-24
  10. "New Hire Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solution Analyst in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent workplace providing ample opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Not Applicable as of now.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-21
Found 195 reviews