Wawanesa Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wawanesa Insurance Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Wawanesa Insurance President and Chief Executive Officer Jeff Goy (no image)
Jeff Goy
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and work/life balance unlike another carrier I worked for (GEICO)(in 18 reviews)

  • "Forward thinking company rethinking the work environment to appeal to a wave of new creative talent(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most supervisors in customer service refuse to take supervisor calls and customers get more frustrated(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management has unrealistic expectations, as they don't have a technical background(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Employer - Not Just Another Number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Representative Il in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - My direct supervisor & her supervisor are very approachable & knowledgeable - I feel like my thoughts and ideas are taken seriously; I don't feel like just another number - My HR rep is approachable & always willing to listen and assist - Upper management & VPS share the company successes and goals with everyone - Upper management & VPS take our yearly employee engagement survey seriously. They show this by taking about & implementing changes within the company to ensure the happiness of their employees - I feel our team isn't just a group of colleagues, we are a family - I feel my mental and physical health is important to the company as we are given 5 personal days on top of vacation days (My prior employer only have 1 personal day) - I look forward to coming to coming to work - The company is a supporter of equality - I feel as thou I am fairly compensated for the work I do

    Cons

    - The training program needs improvement. If you are coming in "green" with no claims background, buddy up with someone who can mentor you and be your go to when you need help - Benefits are in need of an update but I know this is in the works. I am looking forward to the outcome!

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2019-10-21
  2. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance

    Pros

    Respectful, challenging, growing and complex workplace

    Cons

    Some aging technology and sometimes slow to change.

    Wawanesa Insurance2020-02-24
  3. "Not as great as you think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent pay

    Cons

    Leadership treats employees differently based on personal relationships. Some staff get away with everything because they are friends with supervisors and Managers. Others are held to the letter of the law and punished for taking 1 sick day.

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2020-03-13
  4. "Property adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Property Claims Adjuster in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wawanesa Insurance

    Pros

    Good and supportive team members Decent pay Good benefits

    Cons

    No clear path for career advancement

    Wawanesa Insurance2020-01-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Truth Be Told"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation Benefits (medical and dental- for now) DCPP Location

    Cons

    I was approached by my leader several months prior that the recruitment team (HR) at head office was ‘looking to improve Glassdoor ratings’ for the last little while. Therefore, leaders from all regions were asked to speak to employees who would be willing to write a positive review. Please be aware that I have been with the organization for over a year. Prior to this ‘ask’ , the ratings were hovering around 2.5 stars. Left the organization due to many issues with management, lack of transparency and confusing changes. Many new initiatives were launched without proper planning and communication. Management: Older leadership team in terms of experience. Many have worked at the company since high school or university. Not as open to new ideas or how competitors stay relevant in the market. This relates to the VPs to Directors to Managers and Supervisors.

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2020-02-07
  6. "Management needs revamp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accident Benefits Claims Adjuster in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wawanesa Insurance

    Pros

    Benefits, no premium paid into benefits, DC pension plan

    Cons

    Pay (very low compared to industry standard), management (micromanages), employees over worked

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2020-02-13
  7. "Re"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good com0any thank you it

    Cons

    Salary is not great but it's okay

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2019-12-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Excellence in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great collaborative team Excellent benefits Interesting work

    Cons

    High stress environment Very little management support at times Poor work-life balance

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2019-12-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, but can be stressful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment, great coworkers, benefits, pension, pay

    Cons

    Stressful at times, training is lacking, some departments are under staffed

    Continue reading
    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wawanesa Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible working environment. The leaders are there for you and your development. Very positive place to work. I enjoy going into work everyday.

    Cons

    I honestly don't have much to complain about.

    Wawanesa Insurance2019-11-10
Found 197 reviews