VarageSale Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

VarageSale Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
VarageSale CEO Andrew Sider (no image)
Andrew Sider
13 Ratings
  1. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VarageSale

    Pros

    - Great work culture - Dogs are allowed in the office

    Cons

    No cons really, it was a breeze to work at this company.

    VarageSale2018-08-30
  2. "Admin on a Power High"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Community Administrative in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VarageSale for more than a year

    Pros

    None - it's a crappy platform and being an admin doesn't help you get heard by anyone either.

    Cons

    I admin for 2 communities, so I understand rules and the need for them, but.... Admin for 95% of the Southern Ontario community admins bans people from her community if she knows you have a business and post anything in her communites, even if you don't refer to your business. For example, I refinish furniture. I have posted my furniture in the second hand furniture section with ZERO mentions to my business. It's... just second hand furniture for sale. She has taken me and a handful of other furniture artists off the platform because she thinks it's promoting out businesses.... even with no mention of our businesses at all.... so she has either failed the Police Academy and gets her jollies being an admin who can ban people, or she's a really crappy furniture artist and is afraid of the competition. She has NO other internet presence. No FB, no IG, nothing. There are numerous FB posts going around complaining about her and how she is single handedly destroying the platform. I'm surprised she hasn't been sued by VS for being responsible for so many people leaving! Taking my business to Lyst!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps respond when people come to you needing help with rogue admins and don't just ignore us.

    VarageSale2018-10-19
  3. "Management was a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VarageSale full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Great Office Great Environment

    Cons

    Bad high up people (before 2016)

    VarageSale2018-04-22
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VarageSale full-time

    Pros

    I was there a while... went through a few shuffles. In general the team was excellent and the environment fun to be part of. Lots of valley like perks in the great office space

    Cons

    Highly competitive market makes space dicey to be in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward

    VarageSale2017-11-19
  5. "Member Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VarageSale full-time

    Pros

    -open space work environment -work life balance -flexibility

    Cons

    -lack of direction -unorganized team -no telling in the company's future

    VarageSale2017-11-08
  6. "VarageSale could still be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VarageSale full-time

    Pros

    - Smart colleagues - Passionate userbase - Good work/life balance - A more mature "startup" that already has some process but teams are still agile and lean so can adapt to changes quickly

    Cons

    - Business is focused on too many things simultaneously. Could narrow or further refine company KPIs - Just enough staff to cover what needs to be done - nothing more, nothing less

    VarageSale2017-08-23
  7. "A great company to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VarageSale

    Pros

    -Great culture -Flexible hours -Friendly and smart people to work with -Good collaboration -Autonomous team structure -Supportive management team -Dog friendly office

    Cons

    Not really any cons. Just feel team has many good ideas for the product, but have to work against time and limitations.

    VarageSale2017-04-07
  8. "Nice place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Dev in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VarageSale full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    smart Engineering team Interesting tasks reasonable hours

    Cons

    A bit of lack of direction sometimes

    VarageSale2017-02-07
  9. "Great People, Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VarageSale for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing office, one of the best in Toronto - All the people are very talented and great to be around

    Cons

    - Management is poor, out of touch with the employees - Not enough transparency

    Advice to Management

    Be more open with employees, keep everyone informed on things going on at the company.

    VarageSale2016-12-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at VarageSale full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Founders really do care about the Company and love the employees and users. They truly live the product each and every day and that resonates through VarageSale. Employees are smart, passionate, genuine and real - no egos. Fabulous office with great perks and culture. The people make the culture and there are frequent events and activities to provide fun ways to hang out with your colleagues. Management very... open and approachable. Work-life balance fully respected and everyone is really empowered to do their best and are rewarded.

    Show More

    Cons

    Must be willing to adapt to change. As with any start-up situations change and employees need to be able to roll with change.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening and caring for employees as it means a lot and really makes VarageSale stand out from the crowd. Love the transparency and product focus to make a difference and lives better.

    VarageSale2016-06-29
Found 26 reviews