VarageSale Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
68%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
VarageSale CEO  Andrew Sider (no image)
Andrew Sider
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A great company to work with!

    Apr 6, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great culture -Flexible hours -Friendly and smart people to work with -Good collaboration -Autonomous team structure -Supportive management team -Dog friendly office

    Cons

    Not really any cons. Just feel team has many good ideas for the product, but have to work against time and limitations.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Passionate team - startup life

    Jun 12, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    VarageSale is a rollercoaster - but most worthwhile startups are! I spent almost 2 years working for this company from when they were a totally unknown Montreal-based small team to one of Canada's high-profile startups with 2 of Silicon Valley's top venture capital investors (Sequoia and Lightspeed). Startups are chaotic - they move fast, change direction equally as quickly but they are amazing places to do interesting work and accelerate your career.

    Cons

    The future is uncertain - but then again it is for most startups - we join startups not for what the company has accomplished but rather for the prospect of what the company has the potential to accomplish! VarageSale is a growth focused pre-revenue startup with a great team of smart people going up against some big competitors in a super hot domain... if that excites you then you belong in a startup, if it doesnt then you don't. The last 2 years have taken this company from tiny to big with some amazing highs and some lows - the team has grown by 300% and then contracted to a more suitable size - thats part of being at a startup. I'm grateful for the time I had here - I was given a huge opportunity I made an equally huge impact and my time at VS accelerated my career and I'm now in an amazing job that I never could have landed before VarageSale. I will always look at my time at VarageSale and the people I worked with with great fondness and undoubtedly it will be a highlight of my career regardless of where I go from here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Startup with a Heart

    Apr 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm so thankful that I have a job that I enjoy everyday. VarageSale has an awesome startup culture, without the usual startup craziness and long hours. The executive team has done a great job at creating a culture that is fun, yet at the same time values peoples personal lives. I am able to come to work refreshed everyday and get started on the challenges ahead. In my past roles with other startups, I worked 12 hour days and found it hard to keep my passion. I was warmly welcomed into the VarageSale family and I have already built some great relationships. I feel respected. I have a ton of autonomy in my daily work. I also have a life outside of work which is so imperative to me.

    Cons

    Earlier this year, due to a change in strategy, some extremely talented members of the team were laid off. Most of those laid off have landed on their feet and found other great opportunities. Layoffs are scary, but par for the course for a startup of this size.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A place to believe in

    Jun 6, 2016 - Product Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great group of passionate people, who enjoy the work they do, and the impact that VarageSale has on communities. Not often you get to work somewhere that can profoundly impact the lives of the people using it. I've been both a front-end developer and Product Manager and loved both roles. Talented dev (and ops) team that keep things humming. I love being able to do multiple deployments each day! The product team is rock solid too. Hyper focused on delivering value, MVP'ing when it makes sense, and using user tests and member feedback to verify UX prior to shipping. Andrew the new CEO brought a product lead growth focus to the team, increased transparency, and is creating a data driven culture with clear goals for everything we do. He started his tenure by chatting individually with everyone in the team to get feedback and ideas which was awesome. Lastly, great culture. Had our work offsite last week. Was brilliant to hang as company, workshop ideas/needs/opportunities and see those getting funneled into our next quarter roadmap. Also nice to have patio drinks afterwards :)

    Cons

    Can't get amazing new people in the door fast enough. Common issue.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing place to work!

    Jun 29, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Founders really do care about the Company and love the employees and users. They truly live the product each and every day and that resonates through VarageSale. Employees are smart, passionate, genuine and real - no egos. Fabulous office with great perks and culture. The people make the culture and there are frequent events and activities to provide fun ways to hang out with your colleagues. Management very open and approachable. Work-life balance fully respected and everyone is really empowered to do their best and are rewarded.

    Cons

    Must be willing to adapt to change. As with any start-up situations change and employees need to be able to roll with change.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Proud to work here

    Nov 17, 2015 -  in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work at in Toronto. People are smart, nice, genuine and generally great to be around everyday. Management treats people well without feeling like they're trying to buy our love and appreciation. The pace is fast and little red tape on doing things and they are eager to do new things or something never done before in our industry. It's growing quickly so lots of career development opportunities, but know you'll be facing change so be prepared for that. Family friendly environment with events that involve partners & children so people can get to know people on a non-work level. Plus, probably the nicest office design/space in Toronto.

    Cons

    One day per week we run out of our fancy free snacks. Madness ;)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing place to work!

    Mar 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing owners and employees! You feel like you are working with your closest friends, all with the same common goal. The communication is amazing between staff, departments and management. The platform is incredible. I have the opportunity to work with internal employees as well as end users. I wish there were more companies that ran this way - truly one of the best places I've ever worked. A perfect balance of fun and hard work.

    Cons

    The product is too addicting.... when you're not working, you want to be on it all the time for personal reasons. I

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Dynamic, focused, yet family-friendly

    Jul 9, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good compensation (and interesting stock options), great office, lots of perks, management and owners really care for employees and strive to preserve work/life balance. Target audience is unlike anywhere else, and love the product to the core. Interesting technology stack.

    Cons

    Occasional ball dropped by excess of entitlement; onboarding could be improved.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome Place to work!

    Oct 5, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone is very passionate about the work they do and it is very evident working in a very collaborative environment. Ideas are valued from everyone within the company, not just one particular dept or person - Family friendly atmosphere, we even have had a "meet the family night" - New office, beer fridge, pool table, ping-pong, scooters, goodlife mambership lots of fun! - This company is going to go far!

    Cons

    - Sometimes have to work long hours because of the start-up life, things are changing rapidly - have to be ok with that, not for the slow-paced!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work - didn't feel like "work"

    Jun 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Surrounded by really smart, passionate coworkers who genuinely care about the company's vision. Really strong emphasis on culture and work/life balance. Huge opportunity to grow and learn - company is willing to invest in their employees for personal and professional growth. Ability to create your own career path within the company. Competitive salary and benefits. Management Team genuinely cares about the employees - After the lay offs at the start of the 2016 year (con), the entire Management Team went out of their way to help those let go find and land new (great) jobs.

    Cons

    Cross-department communication wasn't as strong as it could have been while I was working there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Work at VarageSale? Share Your Experiences

VarageSale logo
or