Vanguard Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vanguard Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Vanguard CEO Tim Buckley
Tim Buckley
304 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "call center, hard to find time for self development(in 204 reviews)

  • "That is all that you will be doing in the entry level role(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The management at Vanguard are truly professional and take a great interest in personal development.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about Vanguard. Positive work environment and great people.

    Vanguard2016-11-14
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, holiday, supports work life balance

    Cons

    Slow to make decisions sometimes

    Vanguard2020-01-10
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Typical Corporate Culture + Some Feel Good Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    -It feels good working there as the company's structure is set up to benefit people instead of just make as much money as possible. -The people that work there are generally pretty friendly and like to joke around -Benefits are real good. Not just healthcare, but onsite things as well, such as: daycare, gyms, sports leagues, oil changes, ect.

    Cons

    -Pay is low compared to similar companies. I've heard of people going to other companies to do the same job and getting paid double. -Every role is different. While I loved my time there with my last role, the one prior to that was average, and the one prior to that was the worst job I've ever had. -Typical Corporate Culture. Managers and leaders drink too much of the kool aid and are blind to what is going on around them. -Too many leadership position and not enough actual leaders. -They are moving away from the idea of doing whats best for investors and more into the "lets get everyone in our advice service regardless of whether or not its best for them" mindset.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2018-11-26
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, invested in your career progression Lots of opportunity in multiple fields and ability to move around different departments Everything is done for the right reasons- the mission means we do everything with the end client's best interest at heart

    Cons

    Rotational culture can mean your boss changes more regularly than other companies

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2018-11-12
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Vanguard Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good people to work with overall and everyone (or at least most people) understands that client comes first.

    Cons

    Internal opportunities are not awarded based on merit, but how long you have been in the company for, if you are a male or female (female preferred) or not, and how well you can play your cards.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2018-10-24
  6. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    Great Place to start a career

    Cons

    Sometimes the corporate culture is different.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2017-07-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    Free gym and nice campus

    Cons

    Old good men working there and lack of opportunities

    Vanguard2017-03-22
  8. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and great atmosphere; great team work and lots of opportunity to grow. It makes this place a great place to work

    Cons

    Too too much management, a lot of red tape and many issues with HR.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2017-01-17
  9. "office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good environment, good team to work with.

    Cons

    less career growth, as such nothing.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2016-03-17
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved my coworkers and everyone else there!

    Cons

    Can be very clicky in certain departments

    Vanguard2020-02-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 2396 reviews