Vancity Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Vancity CEO Tamara Vrooman (no image)
Tamara Vrooman
187 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It can be hard to move up or move to head office(in 10 reviews)

  • "Senior management sometimes challenged with balance of innovation and running day-to-day operations(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "ORGANIZATION CULTURE"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ORGANIZATION CULTURE GREAT MANAGER GREAT TEAM GREAT BENEFITS

    Cons

    the training workshops are quite hard

    Continue reading

    Vancity Response

    June 17, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I certainly agree, Vancity promotes a wonderful working culture that includes our management team and the array of benefits we have. The variety of roles in Vancity can involve a multitude of tasks that require training to be quite deep and thorough. This may add to the difficulty, all while being necessary for the work we all do to serve our members.

  2. "Great company overall"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Vancity full-time

    Pros

    Great leaders, not too much sales oriented

    Cons

    Software needs to be advanced

    Vancity Response

    July 3, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I agree, our leadership team is superb. Over the last few years we have done a number of software and system upgrades. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to continue growing with technological advancements.


  3. "Decent"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Health Benefits, and Core values

    Cons

    Micromanager, Targets, Low budget, Not tech savy

    Vancity Response

    July 10, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for sharing your review. I agree - the benefits we receive as employees are really great. Regarding your experience with micromanagement and targets, I'd recommend you connect with your manager or your manager once removed to have a discussion around what changes can be made. In terms of technology - we've implemented a number of additions such as Apple Pay and system upgrades internally and we intend to continue to grow.

  4. Helpful (9)

    "One Big Dysfunctional Family"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you are connected then sky’s the limit at Vancity

    Cons

    Painful watching this company blatantly promote people based on nepotism. The board needs to look into the hiring of our new VP. They also need to map out all the family/friend relationships from our Senior Vice President down to the frontline workers. The world around us is changing but this organization is going backwards. Staff have zero trust in our leadership especially when they keep allowing this abuse of power.

    Continue reading

    Vancity Response

    July 24, 2020Community Member Services

    It is unfortunate that this is your experience at Vancity – we hope that you have raised these concerns within the organization through formal channels and if not, we encourage you to do so either with your manager, your manager once removed or someone you feel comfortable with. With regards to your comments regarding staffing our leadership team, we have created a fair and open environment for bringing people up in our organization and helping them grow as leaders. A deeper look in how we do this is by use of secondments, assessment tools and personal development plans to prepare our leaders for future opportunities. When a strong candidate isn't available within Vancity, we'll go outside the organization. Over the past 18-months, four new members of our Executive Leadership Team were external hires, as were four Vice Presidents within Vancity and Vancity Community Investment Bank. We’re grateful and honored to have these new members of the Vancity community as they bring diversity of experience, thought, culture, and ability. Our hiring processes are designed to mitigate bias and reflect our values, one of which is to work with integrity, and we hold all employees, especially management, to this standard. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

  5. Helpful (11)

    "Turning point...will they take it or waste it?"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vancity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long-time CEO Tamara Vrooman is leaving, which opens door for positive change. Vancity sometimes takes values based banking to a higher level. A feel-good persona. It attracts a lot of talent.

    Cons

    It loses a lot of talent. Incompetent board that wears its political plumage (straight jacket?) with grim determination. Muddled, grasping senior leadership. HQ vibe is unpleasant. Branches doing the best they can with what they've got. Branch staff deserve better.

    Continue reading

    Vancity Response

    June 10, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for sharing your review and feedback. Our values certainly drive the work we do and we're grateful for the talent that we attract because of why we exist and how we work. Many of our employees have been with Vancity for many years, which speaks to employee loyalty and how our people align their work to our values and purpose. As Vancity is a co-operative, we are owned by our members. While the Board is elected by our membership, our Board is also the voice of our membership. Members can participate in this process by serving as non-director members of the Nominations and Election Committee, run as a candidate and members can also vote for candidates in the election. As a Vancity member, you are encouraged to reach out to the Board if you have any specific questions or concerns that you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review.

  6. "Good Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - FSC 

    I have been working at Vancity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company has some amazing benefits for their employees. They really want to make the company more green with biking initiatives.

    Cons

    It can be hard to move up or move to head office

    Vancity Response

    June 4, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Environmental sustainability is one of our core values and we appreciate you recognizing that in your comments. I understand that it may be difficult to move into other positions, such as head office roles. However, room to grow within Vancity is available, including roles within head office. Therefore, I would recommend you have a conversation with your manager about your career development goals. Thanks again for your review!

  7. Helpful (7)

    "Vancity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Data and Analytics in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vancity full-time

    Pros

    Value Based Company with clear vision to support local community

    Cons

    Too much politics and hierarchy with toxic culture

    Vancity Response

    June 10, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for your review and highlighting how we are supporting our local communities. Our vision is to redefine wealth and build communities that are sustainable for the long term, which contributes to the well-being of our members. I'm sorry to hear that you have found your work environment to be toxic. Vancity does not support or condone these kinds of behaviour and I recommend reaching out to your HR consultant to discuss further.

  8. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vancity part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay and flexible

    Cons

    Management, compelled to work and culture

    Continue reading

    Vancity Response

    June 16, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I agree - Vancity offers great benefits, including pay. With regards to extra shifts, some departments have different staffing requirements which may lead to part-time staff being needed to work extra shifts. This is to ensure we are available to our members when they need us.

  9. Helpful (11)

    "Gaslight Central"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vancity full-time

    Pros

    It looks good on paper - only

    Cons

    It was the worst employment experiences of my life. An organization that claims to be values and ethically driven is supposed to manage to a higher level and vision. Vancity and all of its subsidiaries has some of the most unethical and incompetent management of any Canadian financial services organization. Particularly noteworthy is the behaviour of a few executives who yelled and demeaned their staff while trying to convince clients that Vancity is values driven. One Vice President 's conduct was cringe worthy, writing pull quotes about how amazing she is, wanting to speak to the media all the time to boost her personal brand and at the same time backstabbing and pitting her team against one another, actually demeaning a woman for going through menopause. This team shouldn't be trusted with people's money or with doing anything for the community.

    Continue reading

    Vancity Response

    June 22, 2020

    We are disappointed to learn that your experience at Vancity was not positive and hope that you had raised your specific concerns about conduct with your manager or through formal channels. Vancity does not encourage nor accept the kind of behaviour you described. Your comments about management run counter to data Vancity has collated including employee engagement metrics, member satisfaction metrics and the externally-audited 2019 Annual Report, and we encourage all employees to raise any issues they might have directly with their manager. Vancity takes values-based banking seriously because we know that our members, employees and communities will benefit greatly from a more responsible financial sector. Our organization is recognized globally as a leading financial co-operative that focuses simultaneously on people, planet and prosperity – and the senior leadership team reflects our values, one of which is to work with integrity, and we hold all employees, especially management, to this standard.

  10. "vancity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vancity part-time

    Pros

    chill and relaxing and fun nice environment

    Cons

    none it is great, everyone is nice

    Continue reading

    Vancity Response

    May 19, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and your review. We are happy to hear that your time with us at Vancity was enjoyable. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

Found 283 reviews