Vancity Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vancity Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Vancity CEO Tamara Vrooman (no image)
Tamara Vrooman
177 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management sometimes challenged with balance of innovation and running day-to-day operations(in 9 reviews)

  • "The culture in head office is far too concerned with titles and bureaucracy meaning nothing ever really gets done (or at least finished)(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative 

    I have been working at Vancity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great fantastic awesome sweet experience

    Cons

    None at the moment now

    Vancity2019-08-11

    Vancity Response

    August 13, 2019Community Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad to hear that you have had a great experience in your time with Vancity.

    Continue reading
  2. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    everything is great good company to work for

    Cons

    no cons really company is great

    Vancity2020-01-14

    Vancity Response

    January 15, 2020Community Member Services

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We agree - we're really lucky to work for such a great company. We're so happy to hear that you've been enjoying your time at Vancity and wish you many more years of success and happiness! Thanks again for sharing your review.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time

    Pros

    Community involvement work life balance good co workers

    Cons

    A lot of hypocrisy.... you will not get promoted unless you are friends with management doesn't matter how well you do your job

    Vancity2019-12-07

    Vancity Response

    December 10, 2019Community Member Services

    Thank you for your review. I agree, the work Vancity does in the Community is incredible. Additionally, the work-life balance and working with good people all make our time here valuable. I'm sorry to hear that the career development hasn't been what you've hoped for. Job postings and promotions are offered with equal opportunity to our employees. I'd recommend that you reach out to your manager or an HR consultant to discuss your concerns further.

    Continue reading
  4. "Decent but more can be improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative 

    I have been working at Vancity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good values -Involved with the community -Friendly people working in the branches -Decent benefits

    Cons

    -hard to move up, slowed down with hiring

    Vancity2019-12-05

    Vancity Response

    December 5, 2019Community Member Services

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. I agree - some of the greatest parts about working at Vancity are the people we are so lucky to work with and the benefits! Along with our values and our commitment to bettering our communities, we really value our employees and all the hard work they do. So, thank you again for sharing!

    Continue reading
  5. "Values matter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vancity part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You know that you are helping people Great people to work with

    Cons

    Hard to keep things simple

    Continue reading
    Vancity2019-11-07

    Vancity Response

    November 8, 2019Community Member Services

    Thank you for your review. I agree - it's really nice coming in to work with such a great group of people. We truly take pride in focusing on building a differentiated member experience through our work while helping our membership.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Designer/Developer in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Vancity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, they are talented and friendly.

    Cons

    Upper management has trouble fostering an atmosphere of trust. Very political and toxic environment, its about who you know. No coaching or feedback Poor management Not values aligned with staff

    Vancity2019-11-14

    Vancity Response

    November 19, 2019Community Member Services

    Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. As we have said in other posts, we couldn't agree more and are very proud of our staff. They are indeed a talented and friendly bunch. Truly one of Vancity's biggest assets. We are sorry to hear that you experienced little coaching or feedback and poor management. Vancity does believe in providing coaching and feedback, and staff regularly have one on ones with their managers so they can have open and honest conversations about their workplace and development. If staff feel they are not receiving this, they can always speak to their manager once removed or a Human Resources Consultant. Thanks again for your comments.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (14)

    "It's hard to ignore the hypocrisy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vancity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong reputation and decent individuals.

    Cons

    There are a lot of issues so I will highlight the one fundamental change that needs to take place within this organization. There is absolutely no trust of the senior management and this impacts the entire culture, which is indirect, passive-aggressive, political and toxic. When you go to work for an organization, you expect some of these behaviours. However the difference with Vancity is they preach an aspirational vision of community, values and team work. In truth, the reality is so far from the corporate vision that you are often left confused and bewildered as to how a company can operate with such blatant hypocrisy and is so dysfunctional. During my time at Vancity, I witnessed 50% turnover in some departments, bullying at all levels of the organization and mental health issues throughout the organization. Vancity also boasts as being a top employer for women, yet mothers were often criticized for taking personal time to take care of their sick children. Productivity is another key issue. It's non existent and ultimately I think it's tied to low morale and the political landscape.

    Continue reading
    Vancity2019-11-14

    Vancity Response

    November 19, 2019Community Member Services

    Thank you for your feedback. Vancity is very proud of our reputation, and we agree that we have decent individuals - more than decent! Our staff work hard every day to bring value and trusted advice to our membership. In regards to your comments about taking a hard look at employee surveys and actually implementing changes, we are very proud of the work we have done in this regard. For example, in the 2018 survey, a key take-away was that senior leaders were not very accessible, and we listened. We now have quarterly updates with senior leaders that are open to all staff, where staff can ask frank questions and get answers immediately. We have also implemented many other suggestions from last year's survey and will continue to do so. Thanks again for taking time to provide your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (11)

    "People leave all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Information Technology 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time

    Pros

    Underinvested and poor technology Tech implementation was not done well Easy life, pace is ok

    Cons

    Political atmosphere Executives keep leaving And from what I hear vancity is firing people while the executives get bonuses Systems and data not in a good state

    Continue reading
    Vancity2019-11-02

    Vancity Response

    November 8, 2019Community Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We've undergone a few system upgrades over the last few years and with each upgrade, we have teams of people who share their best advice to assist in a successful implementation. I'm happy to share that we've really taken the advice of our experts and have had smooth technology upgrades. We've also brought out smaller technology enhancements such as Apple Pay, online loan applications, account openings and appointment booking. With regards to being a Credit Union, we are a member-owned cooperative with values-based banking. Further, we follow the 7 cooperative principles. A few of them include Concern for Community, Cooperation among Cooperative and Voluntary and Open Membership.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Runs out the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vancity full-time

    Pros

    The brand seems very positive, I joined for that reason There are great branch staff who care about members

    Cons

    A very divisive, political and incompetent credit union CEO changed out her senior leadership, but not herself - read into that! Fake reviews to boost company image is not professional - read into that

    Continue reading
    Vancity2019-10-26

    Vancity Response

    October 29, 2019Community Member Services

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We agree that Vancity has a positive reputation, and that our branch staff care about each and every Vancity member. For the record, we do not ask staff, past or present, to post Glassdoor reviews.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Vancity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice culture, people, easy to get to transportation

    Cons

    Some long days, not many

    Vancity2019-09-12

    Vancity Response

    September 13, 2019Community Member Services

    Thanks so much for sharing your review. At Vancity, we definitely take pride in the culture that we have in our offices as well as all the lovely colleagues we get to work alongside. All of which make the work day that much better!

    Continue reading
Found 263 reviews