Unilever Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find your next job here

Unilever Reviews

Updated 24 February, 2018
2,929 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Unilever CEO Paul Polman
Paul Polman
1,427 Ratings

2,929 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is a challenge esp on Operations (in 181 reviews)

  • As you might expect for a company this size, decision making process very slow which can be very frustrating (in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "ABM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good learning, good compensation, fastpaced environment

    Cons

    Heavy work load, lots of travel

    Advice to Management

    better work-life balance

    Unilever Response

    13 Nov, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Exciting, Dyanamic, great brands, great people

    Cons

    Growth potential limited in Canada

    Unilever Response

    12 Feb, 2018 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate the comments and wish you all the best.


  3. "Plant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plant Manager
    Former Employee - Plant Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to have a fulfilling career in terms of personal development and work-life balance

    Cons

    Still bureaucratic in terms of process

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the process further

    Unilever Response

    2 Feb, 2018 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thanks for your feedback on the previous role you held here at Unilever. It’s great to see you’ve highlighted a few positives of your time here, including the level of personal development on... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Awesome experience for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    lots of fun and a nurturing community

    Cons

    not a lot of room to grow

    Unilever Response

    12 Jan, 2018 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate the comments and wish you all the best.


  6. "Packaging technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Great wages and not a lot of stress.

    Cons

    High management turnover and lack of communication with hourly employees

    Advice to Management

    Stabilize management and plan better

    Unilever Response

    5 Dec, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  7. Helpful (5)

    "overrated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Three weeks vacation. Looks great on a resume. There is a small on site store that operates once a week and gives you discounts on a select variety of shampoos and teas

    Cons

    Layoffs too often. No Christmas party, catered lunches, team lunches or snacks in my experience. Hiring freezes means that when a team member moves on, goes on mat leave or is laid off, they are not replaced and the work goes back on you. False promises. The company doesnt pay out full bonus often enough. Recent changes in management means no more working from home or agile workplace compared to before. Payroll department makes payment and tax errors. If you're in supply chain, there is a chance you may be picked for Month End-- working weekends and evenings once a month for one year for no extra pay. Every year it seems there are new cut backs. Morale feels low.

    Advice to Management

    Please remember when you were one of the top employers. Please remember when your goal was employee retention. In just five years I have seen you go from 100 to 0. Employees need more than the company reputation. We need to feel appreciated and valued. We cannot fear for our jobs every day.


  8. "Multi dicipline company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for advancment

    Cons

    Multiple levels of reporting to get jobs completed

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging employees to grow.

    Unilever Response

    20 Nov, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  9. "Greaat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Really great place to learn and grow

    Cons

    Nothing specific comes to mind

    Unilever Response

    18 Oct, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate the comments and wish you all the best.


  10. "Channel Category Development executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Hard working, friendly, Learning environment

    Cons

    Over time work and opinionated

    Unilever Response

    12 Oct, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate the comments and wish you all the best.


  11. "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to have an Entrepreneurial Spirit
    Coaching & Mentoring

    Cons

    Not being able to engage with your colleagues more frequently

    Unilever Response

    22 Sep, 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review and feedback. It's good to see you mention coaching, mentoring and entrepreneurial spirit as particular positives of your time here so far. We will pass on your comments... More


Showing 2,929 of 3,420 reviews
Reset Filters