TransMarket Group Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
TransMarket Group CEO Doug Adams (no image)
Doug Adams
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team- I knew the team was smart when I joined- but I am in awe of the team TMG has put together(in 11 reviews)

  • "The traders even get taught in a course from the CEO via TMG University(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ideally there would be more communication on firmwide strategy expansion plans so the junior traders can help(in 9 reviews)

  • "Long interview process, sometimes long hours (but not like i-banking)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Garbage"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back dress code and free lunches.

    Cons

    Terrible comp. Firm seems to be filled with very subpar people (many experienced people have a terrible track record, new hires from distinctly average colleges). All the smart people from top colleges seem to be elsewhere. Many managers come in once a week. CEO tries to shove Christianity down your throat at every turn and I'm guessing this will also factor into whether you get made partner or not. Extremely high turnover. Dubious charity work (voluntourism trip to Haiti? seriously? sure let's go over to take pictures of us digging holes at 1/10th the speed of the locals and crash their construction labor market while we're at it). Food not great. I got a job at a (much better) competitor. Avoid like the plague

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2020-05-19
  2. Helpful (16)

    "Political Culture; Sexist; Hierarchical"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training for new hires

    Cons

    The firm's either great or awful, depending on which team you end up on. The lucky people who joined early are now managers of the desks, some are great while others have no clue about management, barely shows up to work, and only promote those with glib tongues. The firm also hires high numbers of internationals in need of EB5 and significantly under pay them knowing they are less likely to leave. Very low base salaries compared to the industry. Bonuses are good for those who joined the firm early, but any later joiners are churned after they burn out on overnight shifts. Also, the firm has catered meals so employees work longer, and "unlimited vacation policy" so everyone feels pressured to take none.

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2018-06-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, collaborative culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time

    Pros

    Good company and great collaborative culture

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    TransMarket Group2018-04-02
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Unprofessional organization"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quiet work environment. They order in decent lunches and breakfast for employees. Nice coffee machine. Location across from Union Station is convenient.

    Cons

    Almost no women are employed here. 90% men. Lots of people drink on the job. They dress very casual for an office environment, like they are at home doing laundry. They are disorganized and gossipy, but that is most likely because most employees are recent graduates with no prior professional experience or immigrants trying to stay in the country on work visas. These people have no sense of urgency, and then when things aren’t completed “on time” they blame others and pass the buck. They have high employee turn-over. I guess if you want to spend your life staring at a computer all day and drinking, this could be the job for you. If you’re a professional and seek a professional work environment, this place is not for you. Very immature, lack of standard employee policy and training. Poor internal communications. They have a very depressing work culture overall. No one seems happy at this company.

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2017-11-30
  5. "Trader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great technology - Market access

    Cons

    - Monthly expenses above market

    TransMarket Group2017-11-07
  6. "Good firm, structure and management could be improved"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Trader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very laid back environment Many perks Lots of brainstorming

    Cons

    The backoffice often is not efficient

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2017-10-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "trader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time

    Pros

    solid company, smart people, mobility

    Cons

    none I can think of

    TransMarket Group2017-04-07
  8. "advice"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group

    Pros

    vacation days, we have a lot

    Cons

    we work a lot but that"s ok

    TransMarket Group2017-01-03
  9. "Software Development Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group

    Pros

    Really intelligent people, cool culture, free breakfast, lunch, and dinner, free cereal and soda,

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons.

    TransMarket Group2016-10-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "First Year as a Junior Trader (Junior Relative Value Arb Trader)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Junior Trader in Chicago
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransMarket Group

    Pros

    When you first start there is an in depth classroom based training program paired up with a few trading desk mentors. From here you get to move up at your own pace- depending on how quickly you pick up concepts\modeling and how well you execute the initial working strategy they give you. This is one of the key things they do right relative to the firms my friends work at. They give you an existing model that is making money and your goal is to fine tune it\come up with new ones. Once you do- you move up. -I have a masters degree from a top institution, and I would look at the initial training program as a PhD on steroids. While it was perhaps too aggressive due to balancing courses and work, everyone learned a lot. - Meritocracy- I was able to gain responsibility quickly and was just rewarded extremely well via bonus and promotion for my work this year -Culture- Everyone shares ideas, hangs out on the weekends, and encourages eachother- it reminds me of undergrad or a varsity team. In addition to this, they really have a no Ahole rule. Most people seem to volunteer and there is a matching charity program (I am told this is the first year for it though) -Team- I knew the team was smart when I joined- but I am in awe of the team TMG has put together. This ranges from the top students from top undergrad\grad\PhD programs, to top experienced software engineers, to senior level employees who have either run their own hedge fund or been a senior level employee at top tier banks\hedge funds. There is a reason they have a collection of some of the top talent from their competitors while no one seems to leave for our competitors. They even have one of the best former PMs at Citadel ever. While he was there he was their largest PM. -There is a lot of room for expansion. They are constantly trying out new products\trades. While there is no set path on when you will become a senior trader- if you succeed you can ultimately run a huge portfolio fairly quickly. You get to explore ideas a lot (although this is mostly unstructured) -Top of the line technology and technologists -Benefits including annual ski trip (amazing bonding opportunity) and a lot of free dinners. Free meals for breakfast and lunch -Amazing growth in PNL and headcount the last 7 years (perhaps the best in the prop industry) -Our future growth plans (expansion into new products, etc)

    Cons

    - While the initial training program was fantastic, and my mentors through out the year have really helped me- I would have liked more TMG coursework through out the year. The CEO personally taught a good portion of the training program, and in a recent company email indicated this would be fixed next year - The flat structure with no set promotion cycle can be tough to stomach initially. Having said this, I am in my first 1.5 years and when I see people that have been there for 3 or more leading their own desks and are partner- I get excited - The firm seems to be understaffed for all of the projects that are in the pipeline. This doesn't make sense considering the total amount of applications they get. On the most recent ski trip I was told we get 15,000+ applications per year -Minor growing pains which can be frustrating in the short term- but it is understandable because the firm has grown by over 100 people in the past several years. -While it doesn't really matter once you are here- the other reviews are correct. The office space is not as nice as a top Hedge Fund\Ibank. Once you get past the aesthetics you should be fine. Most likely waiting for the lease to expire to get a better office -While salaries are comparable to some firms, I believe they are on the low end. All in compensation seems to be the best in the business when I talk to my friends at other firms (at least this year was- this is my first bonus) -As a junior trader about 99% of my time is spent on my trade. I would like to be able to work with other desks to brainstorm\bounce ideas. While there is nothing stopping me on this- I would like to see it enforced. On this note- I often do not have enough time to see big picture what areas the firm is growing\etc. It seems like every day we have a new trade idea getting tested. Ideally there would be more communication on firmwide strategy expansion plans so the junior traders can help. A lot of us would be willing to work more than the standard 10-11 hour work day if this was the case. -There is no formal rotation program -I put work life balance as a 2\5 but I think this is only for the first couple of years (as expected). Some people have to work Asia shift (while standard in the industry, it still sucks). There used to be a Euro shift but that has moved to their Swiss office.

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2016-02-24
Found 43 reviews