Synchrony Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Synchrony Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Synchrony CEO Margaret M. Keane (no image)
Margaret M. Keane
443 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Mental health is a huge part of working in a call center(in 21 reviews)

  • "No cons so far except the timings for work and leaves methods(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Synchrony financials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Specialist in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cabs, Flexible the shift timing with manager permission, Swap week offs with peers, Food coupons, Functions and social and community engagement.

    Cons

    Only night shifts for operation teams as they work for US markets.

    Synchrony2019-10-15
  2. "This would definatley be a dream company to work in FinTech industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Programmer/I T Consultant in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Technology and innovation driven company very streamlined way of working at least in technology departments get to interact with other businesses and customers

    Cons

    I wish I could be full time employee of SYF

    Synchrony2019-10-14
  3. "I love working & helping others I feel this job fits me perfectly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator 
    Recommends

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have very great customer service experience & I love helping others. I’m a very patient person & easy with understanding people who gets frustrated easily

    Cons

    Sometimes I do get frustrated but I always take three deep breaths & calm down the customers is always right.

    Synchrony2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "UNBElLIEVEABLE!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Merriam, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A unique culture of care! From day one this company goes out of its way to make sure that you know what they want you to succeed, in whatever you choose. Work forward is what I hear, and it is literal! Our site manager and CEO both started in call center positions, and they are both women! If you have the ambition, integrity, and ethics to pursue it, Synchrony will be there for you every step of the way!

    Cons

    Besides your standard breaks,(2-15min and 1-30 min) they allow for 2 sets of 2 -3min breaks for like a bathroom break. 3 minutes is not long enough, period. And if you are over the 3 mins then you out of adherence, and that is never any good!!

    Advice to Management

    Please look at this 3-minute policy, maybe put the 2 sets together and give 1- 6 minute twice a day if needed, and incentive the people who do not use it. Or a once a week, bathroom pass for everyone, that allows us to still walk to the restroom versus running and almost having a heart-attack worried about 3 minutes! It is such a great place to work, this should have been revised a long time ago.

    Synchrony2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bold passion responible honest caring

    Cons

    Salary management facility work pressure

    Advice to Management

    Nothing amazing

    Synchrony2019-10-02
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PdM 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance in office

    Cons

    Not a lot of potential for career growth

    Synchrony2019-10-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to word"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Conformable and a great place to work

    Cons

    growth is slow and Sr. are a little bossy

    Synchrony2019-09-26
  8. "Biased work environment with no chance of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fraud Analyst in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is nothing good over here

    Cons

    The cons are so much that people will get tired to list on

    Synchrony2019-10-10
  9. "Nothing last forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. AMAZING history, caring staff from manager, support roles and floor employees. Nice location. Strong security.

    Cons

    This last year really went down with leadership. So many good employees stand by core values EXCEPT upper leadership (not managers, they are great) Upper leadership are losing their value of the people. Cold lay-offs with zero support from directors (they don’t need to be cold not negligent) nsincere communication, departments shutting down to go across seas, no open communication, employees are isolated and in... the dark.... used to be a really good company to work for. Their ratings are falling and I predict a drastic fall these next few years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have amazing people following the SYF core values, PLEASE hold directors accountable. It’s Imperative to have compassionate business men and women in these roles. We all look up to Margaret Kean (amazing woman/CEO) but I have a strong feeling she does not know how bad on-site report is with hard working employees and directors, so many are afraid to speak up.

    Synchrony2019-10-08
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time

    Pros

    Employee Centric company with focus on career growth

    Cons

    Office politics which is everywhere

    Synchrony2019-09-19
Found 692 reviews