Swinton Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Swinton Insurance Reviews

Updated 6 June, 2018
295 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Swinton Insurance CEO Gilles Normand
Gilles Normand
158 Ratings

295 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "They are very flexible in work/life balance" (in 10 reviews)

  • "great people to work with, we all worked as a team" (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "policies is that calls overflow to them when the call centre is busy" (in 16 reviews)

  • "Head office location not the easiest to get to" (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best companies I have ever worked for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Fantastic new building with great facilities such as tea and coffee (its the little things that count)
    -Head of Contact Centre is always visiable and really does have an open door policy!
    -You know what is expected of you!
    -Lots of training.....
    -Lots of development acitvity
    -Real focus on the customer!

    Cons

    -Nothing that you dont have at any company! I recenlty moved from another business....I can honestly say the grass is greener here!!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!


  2. "Customer Service Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time

    Pros

    - Okay pay
    - Good training
    - Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    - Occasional lack of communication within the business

    Swinton Insurance Response

    24 May, 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We would suggest your raise the issue about communication with your line manager, or alternatively if you would prefer not to, you can call us directly 0161 233 3850 and... More

  3. "Digital Focus?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very good work life balance
    Supportive managers
    Friendly staff
    Knowledgeable people in most areas

    Cons

    Wide pay disparity among same team members
    Under resourced yet expected to deliver unattainable targets within Marketing
    Losing good, knowledgeable team members
    Too many layers of Management
    No Wi-Fi available for staff/visitors
    Very few career opportunities available for the ambitious

    Advice to Management

    Restructure at Senior level.
    Realistic targets and transparency on delivery
    Clarity on digital strategy

    Swinton Insurance Response

    22 May, 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy that you find your team and the working environment at Swinton supportive.

    Your feedback is really important to us and we will take on board your... More


  4. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible... Just terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Sales in Manchester, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast paced and busy. New contact centre manager is lovely and engaging. Great office with floor to ceiling windows.

    Cons

    Treated like kids. Treated like cattle. YOU ARE JUST A NUMBER. It doesn't matter how old you are, you will be made to feel like a little child. There is a team of people whose job it is to make sure you go on your breaks on time, get back of your breaks on time, log in on time, log out on time, don't spend too much time off the phone. Now, I understand the need for this but this team of people (Minus two lads who have been promoted from within Swinton) speak to you like rubbish. They are petty towards everyone and do not show any empathy to anyone but themselves... And these are the people that you need to ring if you're sick... they WILL ask you questions that you do NOT want to answer that is very personal. They WILL ask you to come into work anyway and they WILL get you to explain why you are not healthy enough to come into work.

    Next subject, changes. Over the time I have worked at swinton, there has been changes on a monthly basis. I have always rolled with it. However, they're now introducing a new 'one method suits all' approach to how we deal with customers. It is cheesey. It doesn't work for evey employee. It doesn't work for every customer. It doesn't work for every situation. BUT that DOESN'T matter. You will have to do it or you will be IP'd out of the business. Truth is, I get fantastic feedback from customers, but that doesn't matter... it is now 'my way or the high way'.

    Another subject, HOLIDAYS! We all like to take holidays, don't we? Well, good luck with that. Yes, they do say that there is plenty of availability for EVERYBODY to take their holidays over the year. That may be true, but don't expect to be going on a 2 week holiday... or even a WEEK holiday for that matter. You're looking to get two or three days off in a row, and they will not approve any holidays if they get denied, it DOESN'T MATTER if you've already booked your holiday, you can just disapoint your whole family and unbook it.

    Pay. Pay is not great. Pay is not terrible. Expect around a 1% payrise every six years. Also, your 'bonus' is based on 'how well' swinton group does. It is rarely above 60% of what you expect.

    ROTA - You are supposed to have your shifts 12 weeks in advance. Good luck with that. Expect to know only 4 weeks in advance and that is subject to change.

    Yes I have been here for a while. Yes it hasn't always been THIS bad. Yes I have had to remain very positive to stay in this job. But enough is enough, this is affecting my mental wellbeing.

    There are a few opportunities to progress, but you should be prepared to brown nose yourself to further heights.

    Advice to Management

    Beyond repair as far as I can see. Too much to do. Can you turn all my cons into pros? I doubt it.

    Swinton Insurance Response

    6 Jun, 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Hi, thank you for your feedback.

    We are sorry that you are unhappy at Swinton, we can see that you have a number of issues that you would like to address. If you feel uncomfortable talking to... More


  5. Helpful (5)

    "At the end worst place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Bournemouth, England (UK)
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Bournemouth, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Wages always paid on time and the correct amount...

    Cons

    Threats for disciplinary if you get a call that is monitored and has either a fair or not great outcome but the next week it’s fine. Absolutely NO consistency. Treated as a number not a person. Still given target to achieve and weekly talkings to about “where your going wrong” time away from the phone on “break” monitored inspected and questioned. Given 1 hour for lunch and then through out a 8.5 hour day another 10 minutes only. God forbid you go over that!!! Complaints monitored, rubish and conflicting feedback given.

    Advice to Management

    Trying to be transparent with customers.... how about look after your staff treat them fairly and be honest! All branches will be closing and only able to purchase insurance on the internet. So why don’t you let staff know!!!

    Swinton Insurance Response

    6 Jun, 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Hi, thank you for your feedback.

    We are sorry that you were unhappy at Swinton. It is very important to us that our colleagues feel valued and are treated fairly.

    If you wish to discuss the... More


  6. "Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. And Good facilities.

    Cons

    Unstable systems, changing work patterns. Never sure what scripts you should follw, some on the system some on piecies of paper,. Monitors for quality change frequently and with an unstable system how and why should you be marked down.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the system is stable, before threating development plans and disciplinary.

    Swinton Insurance Response

    3 May, 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy. Have you discussed the issues you have raised with your line manager? If you would prefer not to, you can call us directly... More


  7. "Love the Swinton team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance part-time

    Pros

    Management team, colleagues, outook and office! We have arcade machines in the building

    Cons

    Very few! The canteen isn't great

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. More face to face contact please

    Swinton Insurance Response

    3 May, 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you are happy to be working with us. We're sure that if you share your feedback on the canteen services they would be happy to hear it.

    Thank... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sadly went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA
    Former Employee - CSA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good team , made long-standing friendships

    Cons

    Poor it systems, new management purely money focussed no regard to employees or customers. Used to be a company I was proud to work for and honestly put customers first.. unfortunately not anymore


  9. Helpful (11)

    "Honesty At Last. Hopefully final branch closures will happen sooner rather than later"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Worked with some lovely people over the years.

    Cons

    So many changes over the last few years. Been obvious to branch staff for a long time that all branches would eventually close. At least now a bit of honesty and transparency having been finally told that all branches will close over the next few years. Hoping it's sooner rather than later, can be paid our redundancy and we can all move on to better things.

    Advice to Management

    None. They wouldn't listen to it .

    Swinton Insurance Response

    16 May, 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we understand that this has been a difficult time. The changes at Swinton are part of a review of how we operate. This has meant we needed to make some difficult... More


  10. "Your nothing but a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager
    Former Employee - Team Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Worked her 5 years until I was made redundant and earned some great bonuses and worked up the ladder to becoming a team manager. Good opportunity while it lasted

    Cons

    Management is a joke, as per the title I was just another number and was made redundant and paid a measly 5k and sent on my way. There was no clear direction and the company and culture had become all about reading scripts and a lot of them. Expectation of employees was unbelievable from this firm. Real shame as once upon a time it was a pleasure working for Swinton

    Advice to Management

    Resign and get some proper management in rather than down sizing the business as much as you have.

    Swinton Insurance Response

    3 May, 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we understand that this has been a difficult time. The changes at Swinton are part of a review of how we operate. This has meant we needed to make some difficult... More


Showing 295 of 303 reviews
Reset Filters