Sutherland Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sutherland Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2798 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Sutherland CEO Dilip R. Vellodi
Dilip R. Vellodi
1279 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Night shifts can be bit tough for new comers(in 79 reviews)

  • "This is horribly low pay compared to any other call center job(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sutherland full-time

    Pros

    good training-3 weeks, great coworkers

    Cons

    stressful environment, short breakssssss, strict rules

    Advice to Management

    good job

    Sutherland2018-12-20
  2. "If I didn’t need the job...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a job. It has health coverage

    Cons

    Lies False hope Misinformation Secrecy Lack appreciation

    Advice to Management

    Stop thinking misinformation and secrecy is proper business ethics.

    Sutherland2019-06-06
  3. "Okay job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Relations 

      I have been working at Sutherland full-time

      Pros

      Good for customer service experience and quick pay.

      Cons

      not for everyone that does not like customer service.

      Sutherland2019-06-03

      Sutherland Response

      June 7, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

      Hello, and thanks for your review. We appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you again for taking the time to rate us. Have a great day.

    • "Experience fully depends on your direct manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director of Client Services in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Sutherland full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Some very smart people with great opportunity to learn

      Cons

      Very poor mgmt skills. Some verticals do not function well in matrix structure

      Sutherland2019-06-02

      Sutherland Response

      June 7, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

      Hello. Thank you for sharing your thoughts this us. Your input is valued and we will share your concerns with the relevant team. Best wishes!

    • "Ok for a short term job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - AT&T Mobility Customer Service Advisor in Windsor, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Sutherland full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Training was thorough and extensive Gradually phased in to workforce Prizes to keep you motivated

      Cons

      Nature of the job is horrible You have to deal with over entitled customers all day that will shout at you Every call must have a sales offer made at the end even if they go horribly. This contributes a lot to the shouting. Your mental health will suffer if you stay too long

      Advice to Management

      Seperate sales and customer service. Everybody involved ends up unhappy when everything is turned into a sales pitch.

      Sutherland2019-05-31

      Sutherland Response

      June 7, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

      Hello, and thank you for your feedback. Your concerns let us know what is working and what does not, and we value your candid review. It is through input such as yours that we can make the necessary changes. Thank you again for sharing! Best wishes!

    • "discrimination"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Account Management 

      I worked at Sutherland full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Commissions kn time although no clarity on the amount you will get

      Cons

      Slow systems, mismanagement, no proper training

      Sutherland2019-05-22
    • "Bad idea"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Sutherland full-time

      Pros

      None come to mind for future reference

      Cons

      No second chance when you have a disability

      Sutherland2019-06-10
    • "Breaks are heavily monitored"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tech Support Representative in Sault Ste. Marie, ON

      I worked at Sutherland full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good was to get into tech support, customer service and sale experience, intensive training

      Cons

      Training is way too rushed. which makes it hard to get at first

      Advice to Management

      Customers should not be allowed to swear at agents

      Sutherland2019-05-17

      Sutherland Response

      May 22, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

      Hello, and thanks for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate your candid review and take your concerns seriously. Thank you again, and have a fantastic day!

    • "System engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Sutherland full-time

      Pros

      Good to work and great experience

      Cons

      Less salary and more expectation on duty

      Sutherland2019-04-22

      Sutherland Response

      April 29, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

      Thanks for your feedback. As an employee-first company, we strive to provide competitive total rewards and recognition. We take your concerns seriously and appreciate you sharing them. Thanks again, and have a fantastic day!

    • "Excellent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical Consultant in Cochin, SK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sutherland full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Professional, Hardworking, Team oriented bunch of people

      Cons

      Mediocre Canteen average transportation bad logistics

      Sutherland2019-04-02

      Sutherland Response

      May 1, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

      Hi there, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We will share your thoughts on how we can improve with the relevant team. Again, thank you for your review!

    Found 2798 reviews